PorkChong Clutched November 2, 2012 Share November 2, 2012 they should run all above 240km.hr to evade the camera. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ben5266 Supercharged November 2, 2012 Author Share November 2, 2012 This camera will take the picture of speeding..... plane. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Topspin 2nd Gear November 2, 2012 Share November 2, 2012 (edited) Looks like people hate it. It looks like people hate the ones in SG as well but I am ok with it as it keeps the roads here safe for me and my family members to drive in with peace of mind, free from Ferraris and Ferraris wannabe driving at 178 kmh. http://forums.sgclub.com/singapore/speed_c...ong_231724.html Edited November 2, 2012 by Topspin Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
5936 1st Gear November 2, 2012 Share November 2, 2012 They still use the older radar based insted of laser speed detectors. I also think it will only last during first few months, doubt years. Knowing their track records of equipment reliability. Better dun over speed this year end holiday seasons. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
HP_Lee 5th Gear November 2, 2012 Share November 2, 2012 M'sia's new enforcement system to catch more speeding motoris http://www.asiaone.com/News/AsiaOne%2BNews...719-359968.html "The AES will use about 800 fixed and 500 portable cameras to monitor traffic in 831 "black spots" located along highways as well as state and federal roads." Can't speed on NSHW soon... Total 1,300 camera. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
HP_Lee 5th Gear November 2, 2012 Share November 2, 2012 (edited) It looks like people hate the ones in SG as well but I am ok with it as it keeps the roads here safe for me and my family members to drive in with peace of mind, free from Ferraris and Ferraris wannabe driving at 178 kmh. http://forums.sgclub.com/singapore/speed_c...ong_231724.html So the moral of the story is, no point buying fast cars in Singapore and Malaysia. Cannot speed here and there [laugh] . Great of drivers like me. Those who like to drive and high speed have a option to migrate to Europe. There min speed is 150KM/h and above in freeway. Edited November 2, 2012 by HP_Lee Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
HP_Lee 5th Gear November 2, 2012 Share November 2, 2012 (edited) they should run all above 240km.hr to evade the camera. Can't run away. Unless you are in excess of speed of sound. These are in the normal camera. They are infra-type with a combination of a powerful flash to produce clear pictures even in total darkness. Edited November 2, 2012 by HP_Lee Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Karoon Turbocharged November 17, 2012 Share November 17, 2012 if you're driving up to KL from Sg, there is one very notorious one about 10km before you reach the Sungei Besi toll gate. speed limit is 90 kmh. Drive above 100kmh and I guarantee you will not miss it the flash is so bright it looks like lightning strikes your windscreen. Take a hint from the Malaysian drivers when approaching this spot. They will drive damn slow (80-90kmh) in the middle lane. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic November 17, 2012 Share November 17, 2012 if you're driving up to KL from Sg, there is one very notorious one about 10km before you reach the Sungei Besi toll gate. speed limit is 90 kmh. Drive above 100kmh and I guarantee you will not miss it the flash is so bright it looks like lightning strikes your windscreen. Take a hint from the Malaysian drivers when approaching this spot. They will drive damn slow (80-90kmh) in the middle lane. yup, saw this flash. Whether it was flashing me or not, i not very sure. btw, the cam is aimed at the oncoming vehicles and not the usual butt type. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
WTF 4th Gear November 17, 2012 Share November 17, 2012 yup, saw this flash. Whether it was flashing me or not, i not very sure. btw, the cam is aimed at the oncoming vehicles and not the usual butt type. So I guess need to pay attention to the speed limit signage liao........GPS only have S'pore speed limit but not M'sia.......... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Voodooman Supersonic November 17, 2012 Share November 17, 2012 So I guess need to pay attention to the speed limit signage liao........GPS only have S'pore speed limit but not M'sia.......... I believe the MSM and MFM maps cover speed limit of Malaysian roads. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
WTF 4th Gear November 17, 2012 Share November 17, 2012 I believe the MSM and MFM maps cover speed limit of Malaysian roads. But my last trip to JB I checked the GPS no display of speed limit though I have both MSM and MFM leh..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic November 17, 2012 Share November 17, 2012 I guess the advantage of capturing front view is... The faster you go, the nearer you are to the camera and the more visible the VRN is.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
WTF 4th Gear November 17, 2012 Share November 17, 2012 I guess the advantage of capturing front view is... The faster you go, the nearer you are to the camera and the more visible the VRN is.. Also can capture the handsome/pretty face mah....... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Voodooman Supersonic November 17, 2012 Share November 17, 2012 Take a hint from the Malaysian drivers when approaching this spot. They will drive damn slow (80-90kmh) in the middle lane. Looks like the best strategy to beat the system for now.... ie. rely on local intelligence. It looks like next trip up north will need to adopt more strictly to the 入乡随俗 or the "Don't be a Hero" rule. I usually don't drive at speed exceeding 140 kmh but to drive at 110kmh from Singapore to Penang would need tons of disclipine and at least 1 carton of redbull. It is highly dangerous for such a monotonous drive, I am going to hate the drive even more than before. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Voodooman Supersonic November 17, 2012 Share November 17, 2012 But my last trip to JB I checked the GPS no display of speed limit though I have both MSM and MFM leh..... I activate the speed camera alert thingy on my Garmin when I travel up north and it sounds an alert when I am driving at above the legal limit, so I think the info is embedded in the map file, but I am not really sure. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
WTF 4th Gear November 17, 2012 Share November 17, 2012 I activate the speed camera alert thingy on my Garmin when I travel up north and it sounds an alert when I am driving at above the legal limit, so I think the info is embedded in the map file, but I am not really sure. Mine is displayed beside my current actual speed on the bottom right corner, need not activate anything. But when driving in JB, the display is blank with only my actual speed displayed.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cba6p 1st Gear November 17, 2012 Share November 17, 2012 go install free AES Detector app.... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...