Sweat100 Neutral Newbie March 19, 2013 Share March 19, 2013 I just gotten the DR400G season 2 and it seems like the season 2 is also plagued with the heating problem. May I ask if anyone installed heatsink to their Blackvue DR400? Mind sharing some photos of it? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kazuo Neutral Newbie March 19, 2013 Share March 19, 2013 Heatsink without a fan in an environment where the surrounding will be hotter than the subject to be cooled is totally useless, as it will only transfer more heat from the surrounding to the subject instead of dissipating the heat. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vulcann 6th Gear March 19, 2013 Share March 19, 2013 I just gotten the DR400G season 2 and it seems like the season 2 is also plagued with the heating problem. May I ask if anyone installed heatsink to their Blackvue DR400? Mind sharing some photos of it? There: http://forums.redflagdeals.com/merged-offi...6/#post16037605 NB: It may nullify your warranty if you take it apart. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sweat100 Neutral Newbie March 19, 2013 Share March 19, 2013 There: http://forums.redflagdeals.com/merged-offi...6/#post16037605 NB: It may nullify your warranty if you take it apart. Thanks for the link. This person stuck a heat sink at the NAND flash part while the speaker is where the TI processor is located. I guess still some work has to be done to add addition heatsink to the components in that area. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sweat100 Neutral Newbie March 19, 2013 Share March 19, 2013 Heatsink without a fan in an environment where the surrounding will be hotter than the subject to be cooled is totally useless, as it will only transfer more heat from the surrounding to the subject instead of dissipating the heat. Yeah, an active component like a fan is better. However, I suppose the component should still be hotter than the surroundings (the car ambient temperature). Even with a fan, if it is in a thermal equilibrium state, the fan does not remove the heat effectively because of the lack of temperature gradient? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wesley12 Neutral Newbie March 19, 2013 Share March 19, 2013 Hi guys, anyone here did not link the cam to car batt instead link to ownself bought outside power bank like those used to charge phone. Not talking abt the tpower c. More like those powerbank u can buy frm sim lim. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dscheng 3rd Gear March 19, 2013 Share March 19, 2013 U plan to on 24/7 ? If normal driving, should be OK. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dscheng 3rd Gear March 19, 2013 Share March 19, 2013 Ask adrianli, he is the car dvr guru. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wesley12 Neutral Newbie March 19, 2013 Share March 19, 2013 Thanks bro I'll try to find him. Ya I want parking surveillance but dun want tap car batt. Looking for alternatives to the tpower c. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dscheng 3rd Gear March 19, 2013 Share March 19, 2013 (edited) Aiyo, then you shouldnt get DR400. Confirm will overheat one. You can get the power magic. Edited March 19, 2013 by Dscheng Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wesley12 Neutral Newbie March 19, 2013 Share March 19, 2013 But bro im looking at the dr500gw. Same overheat problems? ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dscheng 3rd Gear March 19, 2013 Share March 19, 2013 Oh Dr500, so far no problem for me. Even in super hot weather. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wesley12 Neutral Newbie March 19, 2013 Share March 19, 2013 Wa bro. At first im hesitant. Now u say lidat I tio poison deep deep already. Lol Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fuelsaver Supercharged March 19, 2013 Share March 19, 2013 (edited) u used for surveillance too? test it for a couple of months first. i tried 400 & 380 for few months with few RMA, ended up with 350 instead. lately, found that even disconnected and exposed to noon sun, front windscreen dvr body still hot to the touch. lucky rear 350 has spoiler to shield it from noon sun that's y i think can "survive" til now. use both until koyak first before deciding wc to install, mayb by then chg car liao.. Edited March 19, 2013 by Fuelsaver Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic March 19, 2013 Share March 19, 2013 Hi guys, anyone here did not link the cam to car batt instead link to ownself bought outside power bank like those used to charge phone. Not talking abt the tpower c. More like those powerbank u can buy frm sim lim. Me. But I using 3cell lithium polymer battery. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wesley12 Neutral Newbie March 20, 2013 Share March 20, 2013 Hi adrian, can advise more like how many volt out frm your batt 8v or 12v? And how much mah is yours? 10000mah or 6000mah? And lastly how is the connection frm the batt to the blackvue, izzit batt straight to cam or in between there is a ciggy socket connector for the cam ciggy plug to go in? Hehe sorry to trouble u. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic March 20, 2013 Share March 20, 2013 Hi adrian, can advise more like how many volt out frm your batt 8v or 12v? 12.6v out when fully charged. And how much mah is yours? 10000mah or 6000mah? 8000mah. And lastly how is the connection frm the batt to the blackvue, izzit batt straight to cam or in between there is a ciggy socket connector for the cam ciggy plug to go in? Direct battery out to car cam. Hehe sorry to trouble u. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wesley12 Neutral Newbie March 20, 2013 Share March 20, 2013 Great info bro! Thanks for sharing. Reason y I ask batt is becos the t-power seems quite expensive. Wanted to have 2 batteries. Might be costly if get 2 tpower. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...