Alfa 159 Part IV (any alfa discussion welcome too)

On 7/26/2012 at 10:52 AM, Saabretooth said:

Depends on which PI you go to.

I use Dave Jr, he brings in stuff for friends, and he usually gets pretty fresh tires. pricing, I believe its very competitive. You can say white GT owner referred. His stocks are usually the more erm.... well received ones, but he doesn't deal in budget tires....

Thx Saabre! Can pm me his contact? ^_^

I'm looking at PS3 or PSS... [:p]

  On 7/26/2012 at 2:38 AM, Redbit_gti said:

i use the nshw once a month. 200kph quite common. so the 159 not so durable at such performance?? i was hoping its 2.2 engine got more hi end that my measly 1.8. at 180kph, the 1.8 feels laggyyyyy.

Not 5k at one go, but i think easily more than $5k in a span of 2-3 months....pui....

This car has some problems and the Agent will not warrant ur car if you are 2nd owner and mileage > 60k....and they are very very slow and expensive.

I had 3 alfas and this gona be my last one....let the brand die....the agent dun give me confident....

[wave] [wave] [wave]

  On 7/24/2012 at 3:27 PM, Sjourn said:

yo bro..

how r u? I was at AS today...

Fuel smell issue, had the pump assembly replaced.. [shakehead]

This damn fuel pump!

Had it replaced for my 156 TS, 156 JTS and now my 159....PUI!!!!

The alfa parts are fragile....they never improve their parts quality....power window fail 1 by 1....

Radiator hose broke....power steering hose gone....radiator fan stops.....fuel pump ejaculate fuel into ur passenger's arse.....and many more!

Wahahaha

On 7/26/2012 at 4:51 AM, Torquemeister said:

Speaking of which - would be cool if we could get CF bonnet, doors, front quarters and boot...............

And has anyone done a leather cladding to dash top, doors, centre console a la Brera S here?

Im keen to do a CF bonnet and bootlid.. wld definitely offload a huge KG off! [laugh]

Done a leatherwrap on my centre console for my 156, looks damn expensive...haha!... wont mind to do it all over again, but to find the right material is a challenge... [rolleyes]

On 7/26/2012 at 12:53 PM, Chrispie said:

do sticker wraps lah.. 300+ only.

something ive been wanting to do for years back!...hahaha.....never got the time to go.... :wacko: think Robin has given up on me by now...haha!

On 7/26/2012 at 2:17 AM, Redbit_gti said:

seems like here is the place for alfa discussion!! aroc don even approve my registration!

anyw, I'm looking at changing my c200 compressor to a 159 (just too chio), but many of my petrol head friends keep advising me against it (sure you guys know why...).

i tried looking through the alfa threadssss, but really too intensive already, the discussion here.

summing my worries-

1. breakdown rate really that high? (once in 2.5yrs of ownership on a 2nd hand 159)

2. anyone who has a 159 that broke down and repairs cost more than S$5k at one go? (regular servicing at 5k i do not mind). (Max 800 so far for me)

3. spare parts for alfa easily available and in stock? go where buy? really very expensive??? (AS or AC or EA or online) I find it reasonable for parts...

thanks for all your helpful inputs, would go a long way to help me get an italian gf!

Go test drive first, some may not like the selespeed..

My mileage >100k but still not a problematic car I find..

Thanks to my wifey intro... Lol

On 7/26/2012 at 12:53 PM, Chrispie said:

do sticker wraps lah.. 300+ only.

Think I saw ur car on the road earlier at tampines ave 10 but not u drivin

On 7/26/2012 at 2:18 PM, Spermface said:

This damn fuel pump!

Had it replaced for my 156 TS, 156 JTS and now my 159....PUI!!!!

The alfa parts are fragile....they never improve their parts quality....power window fail 1 by 1....

Radiator hose broke....power steering hose gone....radiator fan stops.....fuel pump ejaculate fuel into ur passenger's arse.....and many more!

Wahahaha

ehhh....

seems like its only you...

On 7/26/2012 at 2:54 PM, Toeyritztt said:

Im keen to do a CF bonnet and bootlid.. wld definitely offload a huge KG off! [laugh]

Done a leatherwrap on my centre console for my 156, looks damn expensive...haha!... wont mind to do it all over again, but to find the right material is a challenge... [rolleyes]

Well my Bella uses Pelle Frau leather and they now have an outlet in Scotts so getting matching leather shouldnt be an issue (exy though but worth it) But finding a good trimmer?

On 7/26/2012 at 3:01 PM, Crossback said:

Think I saw ur car on the road earlier at tampines ave 10 but not u drivin

hmm... not me... not my car. :D

it is not compulsory, but when they do it, it is because they don't want you to lose your radio settings, ECU settings...clock settings...and whatever other settings that will reset to 0 when there is no battery connected

won't die

won't make car go faster either.

Thanks for this. Ill just have to wait till my next refill to see if it goes back to normal.

quote name='Toeyritztt' date='Jul 26 2012, 12:07 AM' post='4534873']

Stuck floater...nothing to worry abt. Next fill-up, it should float out of the crevices... :D I get it too, whenever i leave the ACC on (engine is off, of coz!) ..

On 7/26/2012 at 4:21 AM, Frenzzsg said:

Thanks to Gary, i finally had the 5 horse-shoe rims on Brera.... :wub: :wub:

If only if it's matt black or gun powder.....it'll be perfect..... [rolleyes]

btw guys, does it matter so much if the tyres are PI or with local warranthy? price diff can be 30%-40%.... :wacko:

Looks nice - but the sticker on the side?

On 7/26/2012 at 5:05 AM, Vinil said:

Hi Redbit welcome to the club ,

If you like the car you buy it no one can predict what is going to happen to the car , in my case i am driving it for the past 1 and 1/2 years, daily i drive around 50-60km city and high way .

Servicing as per EA instructions every 15K , so far i sepnd around $ 20.00 for my number plate bulb change that is all .

Hope it helps to make up your mind and to see you soon in an alfa.

Hi Vinil,

Still hanging around? You not drive the car hard enough to had it break down lar ... [laugh] How caome we never bump to each other since we work so close ...