The Perfect Storm of the Stock Market II

The number of high net worth individuals, or people with investable assets of at least US$1 million excluding their homes, jumped nearly 5 per cent or 4,600 to 105,100, according to the latest World Wealth Report by consulting firm Capgemini and Royal Bank of Canada (RBC) released today. - See more at: http://www.straitstimes.com/news/business/economy/story/wealthy-ranks-swell-singapore-report-20140619#sthash.dnLla8NJ.dpuf

Total population in 2013 is 5.4 million, making 105,000 millionaires barely 2% of population :ph34r:

http://www.singstat.gov.sg/statistics/latest_data.html#14

post-125624-0-66320900-1410331466.jpg

Anyways, OT already. Back to topic at hand...........

post-125624-0-95454000-1410331845.png

don't be a frog in a well.

you chin chye take a stone throw also will hit a millionaire in sg.

a million bucks isn't really a lot nowadays

The number of high net worth individuals, or people with investable assets of at least US$1 million excluding their homes, jumped nearly 5 per cent or 4,600 to 105,100, according to the latest World Wealth Report by consulting firm Capgemini and Royal Bank of Canada (RBC) released today. - See more at: http://www.straitstimes.com/news/business/economy/story/wealthy-ranks-swell-singapore-report-20140619#sthash.dnLla8NJ.dpuf

Total population in 2013 is 5.4 million, making 105,000 millionaires barely 2% of population :ph34r:

http://www.singstat.gov.sg/statistics/latest_data.html#14

attachicon.gifmillionaires-table-1906.jpg

Anyways, OT already. Back to topic at hand...........

attachicon.gifSTI.png

2% of population still not a lot? that one out of every 50 guy you meet on the street is a millionaire? lol

never mind lah. doesn't matter to me. i'm just a coolie. different social circles.....

The Southeast Asian city-state has retained the honor of having the highest percentage of millionaires in the world, according to a new report from the Boston Consulting Group. Singapore had 188,000 millionaire households in 2011 – or slightly more than 17% of its resident households. Effectively, that equates to more than one in every six Singapore households having disposable private wealth of over US$1 million, excluding property, businesses and luxury goods. If those were included, it would likely push the number of millionaire households even higher, since property in Singapore is among the world’s most expensive.

That was in 2012, dropped down to No. 8 in 2014 [lipsrsealed]

TOP 20 GLOBAL CITIES BY MILLIONAIRE DENSITY - FULL BREAKDOWN:

1. Monaco (29.21%)

2. Zurich (27.34%)

3. Geneva (17.92%)

4. New York (4.63%)

5. Frankfurt (3.88%)

6. London (3.39%)

7. Oslo (2.90%)

8. Singapore (2.80%)

9. Amsterdam (2.63%)

10. Florence (2.59%)

11. Hong Kong (2.58%)

http://www.spearswms.com/news/revealed-cities-with-the-highest-percentage-of-millionaires-4323521#.VBACo3efUlQ

Not part of the millionaires club also, but I find 2% to be a low figure. Double digit percentage would be high IMO.

Regardless, can STI push to finish above yesterday's close????

post-125624-0-34358000-1410335905.png

2% of population still not a lot? that one out of every 50 guy you meet on the street is a millionaire? lol

never mind lah. doesn't matter to me. i'm just a coolie. different social circles.....

The report... does it take into consideration the liabilities.. like, taking loan for that property and is valued at 1 million.

This type also consider into million dollar club ah?

don't be a frog in a well.

you chin chye take a stone throw also will hit a millionaire in sg.

a million bucks isn't really a lot nowadays

Not a frog , having a million dollar house doesn't equate to having a million in assets/cash , i think it is easier to find a person with a million dollar debt than one with a million dollar cash.

This one i can almost confirm. Ask anyone staying in a newly made condo , at least 1mil in debt plus if he owns a car even more. A million bucks isn't alot , but it doesn't mean u have it. Condos worth 1 million plenty but based on the count i give it 2/50 vs 10~20% private property staying(80% of singapore population in hdb if you want you can give and take abit) , isn't it clear?

How about i challenge u , out of the many here , how many can take out 1 mil in cash as compared to how many which owes the 1 mil in loans. Take a stone throw leh.

1 out 50 is alot? out of this 50 , unless you tell me they don't owe banks any money else , for one millionaire i got 49/50 chance to find one which owes more than 1million. which one easier? No offense bro , i just trying to state the obvious.

Edited by CH_CO

Typically, these reports do not include the value of the individual's primary home and net wealth is calculated after subtracting any liabilities

The report... does it take into consideration the liabilities.. like, taking loan for that property and is valued at 1 million.

This type also consider into million dollar club ah?

Not a frog , having a million dollar house doesn't equate to having a million in assets/cash , i think it is easier to find a person with a million dollar debt than one with a million dollar cash.

This one i can almost confirm. Ask anyone staying in a newly made condo , at least 1mil in debt plus if he owns a car even more. A million bucks isn't alot , but it doesn't mean u have it. Condos worth 1 million plenty but based on the count i give it 2/50 vs 10~20% private property staying(80% of singapore population in hdb if you want you can give and take abit) , isn't it clear?

How about i challenge u , out of the many here , how many can take out 1 mil in cash as compared to how many which owes the 1 mil in loans. Take a stone throw leh.

1 out 50 is alot? out of this 50 , unless you tell me they don't owe banks any money else , for one millionaire i got 49/50 chance to find one which owes more than 1million. which one easier? No offense bro , i just trying to state the obvious.

agree it is most likely easier to find a person with million dollar debt but that does not mean there isn't many millionaires in sg....

i feel 1 in 50 is alot.... but wonder how many are imported millionaires

Eh how come this thread become talk about millionaire? So becoming of the property thread.

stocks and property are inter related mah. lol

aiya.

different viewpoint lah.

i'm just a poor coolie. can only envy those ppl stay big house.

just have to be contented with my little pigeonhole.

stocks and property are inter related mah. lol

aiya.

different viewpoint lah.

i'm just a poor coolie. can only envy those ppl stay big house.

just have to be contented with my little pigeonhole.

if yours is pigeon hole... mine is pee hole leh... knn

http://www.cnbc.com/id/102000661#.

U.S. stocks were mixed on Monday, with technology shares slammed ahead of Alibaba's planned debut later in the week, as investors unloaded high-fliers a day before the Federal Reserve starts a two-day policy session. "Today's the day when the Nasdaq is getting its due," said Bruce McCain, chief investment strategist at Key Private Bank, who noted that stocks leading the decline included "some of the names that have really run up the most."

post-125624-0-05422700-1410851482.jpg

post-125624-0-70617200-1410851571.jpg

With the benefit of hindsight, ^this guy looks silly.

Yahoo has cheonged in the last 2 months!

post-125624-0-85904800-1410851729_thumb.png

People who are looking bearish will naturally search for reports that supports bubble.. People who are bullish will naturally search for reports that supports growth.. Just do a search on both.. Plenty of both

history will always repeat.. What's your plan to capitalize them?

Sitting aside and sipping mile :D

Anyway, just save some money for a rainy day, or many rainy days... and see how much your savings can be used :)