Ktglfc Hypersonic August 24, 2014 Share August 24, 2014 Been sitting on mostly cash since last year Sometimes I'm tempted to think if I've been wrong with this... Kns.. hearing about crashing like 3 or 4 years ago.. only liquidated most stocks on hand last year.. and still not crash yet... Patience will pay... only time will tell ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
kyith 1st Gear August 24, 2014 Share August 24, 2014 Been sitting on mostly cash since last year Sometimes I'm tempted to think if I've been wrong with this... Kns.. hearing about crashing like 3 or 4 years ago.. only liquidated most stocks on hand last year.. and still not crash yet... always curate the sources you hear from. if you are always hearing from a source bias towards all this money printing hoodoo, you would have been in cash all this while missing out on gains. because this is exactly what 1982 start of a secular trend looks like, everyone still rumbling on about inflation and that gold will prevail too much money printing. when you realize, not many understand this whole web of effects, and these so call experts seem to be able to piece it together like they are some oracle. if the basis of your wealth building requires you to know these stock market crashes to the exact timing, then i would say all the best because it is a difficult game. if you keep talking about the stock market going down 20% for 10 years, you will surely hit it. the question is when. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Duckduck Turbocharged August 25, 2014 Share August 25, 2014 stocks n properties give abt 7x $ returns over 20yrs... in other words if u can invest n hold for at least 2 decades, most of your stocks n properties will do well. trying to catch the best price short term is for pros like george soros. I suggest warren buffet style investment just buy n hold. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chucky2007 Turbocharged August 25, 2014 Share August 25, 2014 (edited) I switch from a speculative nature to a more patient, buy and hold nature.. I don't buy on dips anymore on existing holdings.. instead buy other counters that also corrected. This makes me lose some opportunity but also makes me more relaxed holding the existing shares. Last time high geared, low patience I mostly lose $$.. Now buy, no leveraged, holding from 3months to 1 year+.. Quite decent return of 8-14% pa. Not a fantastic return as compared to all gurus here, but no longer lose $$.. Hehe Edited August 25, 2014 by Chucky2007 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
kyith 1st Gear August 26, 2014 Share August 26, 2014 stocks n properties give abt 7x $ returns over 20yrs... in other words if u can invest n hold for at least 2 decades, most of your stocks n properties will do well. trying to catch the best price short term is for pros like george soros. I suggest warren buffet style investment just buy n hold. it sounds like you did some quantitative research, and your data seem to be right on the 20 years. http://www.investmentmoats.com/passive-investing-2/msci-world-rolling-returns-over-201510-5-years-net-of-dividends-reinvested/ Check the rolling 15 to 20 years reinvested div one. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Supersonic August 26, 2014 Share August 26, 2014 (edited) S&P hits 2,000 pts first timer ever ... huat ah!!! Edited August 26, 2014 by Wt_know 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
kyith 1st Gear August 26, 2014 Share August 26, 2014 I switch from a speculative nature to a more patient, buy and hold nature.. I don't buy on dips anymore on existing holdings.. instead buy other counters that also corrected. This makes me lose some opportunity but also makes me more relaxed holding the existing shares. Last time high geared, low patience I mostly lose $$.. Now buy, no leveraged, holding from 3months to 1 year+.. Quite decent return of 8-14% pa. Not a fantastic return as compared to all gurus here, but no longer lose $$.. Hehe study well and concentrate your money on 10 of your best ideas. you are not a fund manager that works full time so you wont have the attention span to invest in so many companies. and they will go wrong Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ktglfc Hypersonic August 26, 2014 Share August 26, 2014 Fast & Furious :) Try not to chase UP Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KR81 4th Gear August 26, 2014 Share August 26, 2014 But didn't close above 2000, anti-climax. Let's see if it hits this milestone again this week S&P hits 2,000 pts first timer ever ... huat ah!!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freestylers09 5th Gear August 26, 2014 Share August 26, 2014 now do QIQO is the best quick in quick out yday Jasper dip 14, makan up, sold 17 today, 18 clearing..knn my guts paid off..LOL Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KR81 4th Gear August 27, 2014 Share August 27, 2014 S&P >2000 close, HUAT AH!! 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chucky2007 Turbocharged August 31, 2014 Share August 31, 2014 study well and concentrate your money on 10 of your best ideas. you are not a fund manager that works full time so you wont have the attention span to invest in so many companies. and they will go wrong sold all my shares.. Consolidating.. So now I'm 100% cash. Feels so shiok to take profits. . Waiting for better re entry time in weeks or months to come. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KR81 4th Gear August 31, 2014 Share August 31, 2014 Nice, good time to realize some gains sold all my shares.. Consolidating.. So now I'm 100% cash. Feels so shiok to take profits. . Waiting for better re entry time in weeks or months to come. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ktglfc Hypersonic August 31, 2014 Share August 31, 2014 sold all my shares.. Consolidating.. So now I'm 100% cash. Feels so shiok to take profits. . Waiting for better re entry time in weeks or months to come. Glad to hear :) Mr Market will always be there to offer some bargains... just a matter of time on some stocks.. Patience will reap rewards :) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freestylers09 5th Gear August 31, 2014 Share August 31, 2014 (edited) tmr continue my pennies play lol Edited August 31, 2014 by Freestylers09 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Supersonic September 8, 2014 Share September 8, 2014 (edited) 2000 / 365 = coming to 5.5 years this bull is sibei tok kong man ... Edited September 8, 2014 by Wt_know Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
CH_CO 6th Gear September 10, 2014 Share September 10, 2014 Simple thing , everyone is printing money in this world , but we are still seeing deflation. So what is going happen ? Shit is going to happen. Either one currency is going to collapse like argentina and it will seriously affect others. Fact is given that US is going to hike rates , it would mean free and loose money is a thing of the past and likelyhood it will affect singapore. Examples : Properties are trading at 1.3m are trading at 1m now , sentosa cove is just a rotten investment currently and plenty more TOP coming up in the upcoming months . I seriously doubt there are so many millionaires in singapore. So see how many people going to die here in sg. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Little_prince Supersonic September 10, 2014 Share September 10, 2014 Simple thing , everyone is printing money in this world , but we are still seeing deflation. So what is going happen ? Shit is going to happen. Either one currency is going to collapse like argentina and it will seriously affect others. Fact is given that US is going to hike rates , it would mean free and loose money is a thing of the past and likelyhood it will affect singapore. Examples : Properties are trading at 1.3m are trading at 1m now , sentosa cove is just a rotten investment currently and plenty more TOP coming up in the upcoming months . I seriously doubt there are so many millionaires in singapore. So see how many people going to die here in sg. don't be a frog in a well. you chin chye take a stone throw also will hit a millionaire in sg. a million bucks isn't really a lot nowadays ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...