Kklim Supercharged July 14, 2012 Share July 14, 2012 Build wardrobe and bookcase/display case on either side of the column? Or attached a fold-down bed to it? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
AFV_V200 3rd Gear July 14, 2012 Author Share July 14, 2012 On 7/14/2012 at 2:54 AM, Kklim said: Build wardrobe and bookcase/display case on either side of the column? Or attached a fold-down bed to it? It is small extra bedroom. the column is smack right in the center. cant do wonders. :( Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Donut Supercharged July 14, 2012 Share July 14, 2012 Forget it la Better to revise, innovate yr renovation to go around pillar Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Theobserver 2nd Gear July 14, 2012 Share July 14, 2012 The previous owner may have removed some partition walls, therefore exposing this column. Usually architects would not design such a sore thumb in a residence. 1200mm x 250mm is not a small column and it is supporting beams that in turn support the upper floor. Even if BCA is so daring to let you remove, the removal process itself is tedious, considering that the contractor has to work in a confined location and that they have to first support the beams and slabs before removing. Sure very expensive. Therefore, it is a definite no-no. The best way, as some of the bros here say, is to be creative in your interior design. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Streamstyle Clutched July 14, 2012 Share July 14, 2012 TS...dun waste your time lah...even u get PE or who the result will also be the same. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic July 14, 2012 Share July 14, 2012 Can turn the room into a walk-in closet cum storage room? Save the trouble. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
5936 1st Gear July 14, 2012 Share July 14, 2012 No lah, not like lego. wrong can reassemble again. To a layman it sounds logical to split and transfer loads into 2 or more smaller loads. PE needed to work on the figures. Thank goodness you discussed before acting. Remember the case of illegal structure removal at a HDB flat many years ago that lead to evacuations of several neighbours and emergency repairs. Actually, more than just the 2 units above and below. The modificatiion plans must look at impacts on the entire building. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jj5599 1st Gear July 14, 2012 Share July 14, 2012 Don't remove columns man, how would you feel if someone below you removed a column? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yoongf 4th Gear July 14, 2012 Share July 14, 2012 Firstly, columns are not considered part of your strata unit. It's considered communual property. So.. MCST gets the final say. Columns are not just for vertical loads, there are shear and twisting forces to countereact to. A 120cm column is not a a small one. Probably is carrying a transfer load through a transfer beam on top. To counterpropose a realignment is almost a full recalculation of the building structure. Even if we somehow get PE recalculation /BCA approval, and MCST approval, can u imagine trying to hack RC with power tools? RC hacking is normally those powered by phnematic compressors, which is powered by generators. Think a few floors of tiles and waterproofing will be sacrificed. And.. think is at least 2 months work to make good the whole area.. Not a feasible idea leh. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
I-LOVE-CARS 1st Gear July 14, 2012 Share July 14, 2012 On 7/13/2012 at 3:18 AM, AFV_V200 said: Got my dream home and miss out a huge huge column. (size 120cm x 25cm) I am 2 floors below the highest floor and why still need such huge a big column? I need expert on. 1. can the column be removed since I am almost at the top floor level. if the loading of above 2 floors does not require such. 2. if not. can it be reduce in size? 3. any other method. I do not want to illegally remove any structural member within the house. I need to do something as I just created a new guest room and the column is right in the center!!!!! Thank you for the advice in advance! where you stay? and do you have a blueprint of the building, if u have both things, PM me and i can maybe shed some light on it Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
I-LOVE-CARS 1st Gear July 14, 2012 Share July 14, 2012 On 7/14/2012 at 3:11 PM, Yoongf said: Firstly, columns are not considered part of your strata unit. It's considered communual property. So.. MCST gets the final say. Columns are not just for vertical loads, there are shear and twisting forces to countereact to. A 120cm column is not a a small one. Probably is carrying a transfer load through a transfer beam on top. To counterpropose a realignment is almost a full recalculation of the building structure. Even if we somehow get PE recalculation /BCA approval, and MCST approval, can u imagine trying to hack RC with power tools? RC hacking is normally those powered by phnematic compressors, which is powered by generators. Think a few floors of tiles and waterproofing will be sacrificed. And.. think is at least 2 months work to make good the whole area.. Not a feasible idea leh. Correct Bro Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
AFV_V200 3rd Gear July 15, 2012 Author Share July 15, 2012 On 7/14/2012 at 4:07 PM, I-LOVE-CARS said: where you stay? and do you have a blueprint of the building, if u have both things, PM me and i can maybe shed some light on it Dont have the blue print. but based on Yoongf comment... I think i will have to drop it. the time, the cost. sigh. damn sian now. looks like have to re-design the apartment, and for get about add one extra room to my 1 bed room apartment. Meaning cant entertain my overseas friends and let them stay over. SIGH... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mightymito 1st Gear July 20, 2012 Share July 20, 2012 (edited) On 7/14/2012 at 1:57 AM, AFV_V200 said: Maybe I should clarify a little. I know I can not remove the column without adding some "small" columns. And let the original loading transfer to this 2 new columns? (see drawing attached here). The original condition.... 1. Column was from 1st floor to 18th floor (my floor). then 19th & 20th floor no column (i only knew the top 2 floor is penthouse after I asked the drawing of top 2 floor from management office to verify.) 2. My objective is to remove the main big column 120x25cm. and have 2 new added steel tube or steel I-beam column (see drawing) of so call transfer column (got such term?). if that is workable.. I will get a engineer and get a cost for the modification. Is that expensive? too expensive then i can for get about it. Need to remove that column cost I need 1 extra bedroom (column right in the center of this extra bedroom). Any Structural Engineer care to advice? Thank you very much in advance for all the advice i will get here. Cheers from your desription of the structure, the building is from before "buildability score' requirements were implemented. That is your building is conventional beam and slab rather than the current flat slab design. If the column terminates at your floor and and its a beam and slab design you can just hack it to 250x250mm. Its big because for no other reason than because. With proper approval of course. Edited July 20, 2012 by Mightymito Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SLSAMG88 1st Gear July 20, 2012 Share July 20, 2012 On 7/14/2012 at 5:11 AM, Theobserver said: Usually architects would not design such a sore thumb in a residence. I saw an apartment in Pandan Valley - beautifully renovated (also beautifully priced!) - was spacious, no ridiculous balconies, square shaped rooms - only problem was that it had this huge beam in the middle of the living room! Owner had to reposition tv and couches to circumnavigate the column! It was a definite negative mark for me. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...