GPGT - LTA Approved Bicycle??

Poper

I still maintain that bicycle should stay off road in Singapore context.i am saying this because i care for the cylist life. The driving culture here cannot co exist with the cyclist.

I.not elite hor, u ang mor tua ki :p.....hahaha

Your solution to rude, rule breaking, nasty drivers is to get cyclists off the road? So next time solution to too many sexual assaults is to legalize rape?

I hear what you say about danger, the solution though is to make the roads safer, not to banish the cyclist.

What you " noseist" are you? What's wrong with noses. They have every right to be excavated!! *laugh*

Driving with one and holding Hp and driving with one hand digging nose same same or not? [:)]

Your solution to rude, rule breaking, nasty drivers is to get cyclists off the road? So next time solution to too many sexual assaults is to legalize rape?

I hear what you say about danger, the solution though is to make the roads safer, not to banish the cyclist.

Until such time when the driving culture has improve, the cyclist body is till no match to the iron claded car..

Legalise rape? This one must ask mazdaowner nd tianmo. I no no what to say on this leh, i no elite hor [:p][laugh]

Until such time when the driving culture has improve, the cyclist body is till no match to the iron claded car..

Legalise rape? This one must ask mazdaowner nd tianmo. I no no what to say on this leh, i no elite hor [:p][laugh]

You're not going to change culture by getting cyclists off road. To change need MORE visibility and more prominent top level support. You don't improve a problem by marginalizing the victim.

Yes bicycle can use the road. But what I hate most is they dun follow the rules. Most of them beat the red lights. Especially those stylo milo type of racing bike with full battle order. Once coming out of the BKE to Mandai Road towards Zoo direction when I have the right of way green light in my favor after turning halfway there is a group of at least 20-30 such bikes zooming past me from Mandai Hill Camp side towards Zoo side ignoring the red lights and my vehicle. :angry:

KNN we do that straight away 12 points gone + $200 fines. They do that I have to lan lan let them go until my light become red. [mad]

Yep, a cyclist has just as much right to use the road as a car, they must obey the same rules, and other motorists must treat them the same way they would a car

But cyclist dun take basic theory before they ride. How can they be entitled to the same right like drivers/bikers?

To clarify, I am not against them using the left most lane but not any other. I expect them to cross the road using traffic lights as much as possible..

Edited by Poper

Driving with one and holding Hp and driving with one hand digging nose same same or not? [:)]

If he suddenly e brakes while holding a hp, it may drop. If he is digging his nose when he suddenly e brakes, he may end up digging his nose REAL DEEP!!! :o

But cyclist dun take basic theory before they ride. How can they be entitled to the same right like drivers/bikers?

To clarify, I am not against them using the left most lane but not any other. I expect them to cross the road using traffic lights as much as possible..

But there are also cyclist who has driving license. How?

He's looking for his Higg's boson?

Came across this last Sunday near Kaki Bukit Road where lots of construction workers and "foreign talents" dorms are.

This motorized cyclist was riding in lane 2 like he is a tax-paying road user.. Worse, he is an obstruction and safey hazzard to drivers.

While halted at Eunos Link junction, I saw his bike sign "LTA Approved".. WTF!!! :angry: Either he is trying to smoke drivers or he kanna smoked by others.

I've reported this to LTA and TP. [rifle]

But there are also cyclist who has driving license. How?

Simple : Introduce new syllabus with 100 qns exam set at 95% correct for passing rate, maybe term it as Bicycle riding theory (BRT).

Then include it in current driving license registeration.

the only correct way to ride a bicycle on the road is stay on left side of the road, and when approaching a junction, especially traffic light or zebra crossing junction, the cyclist should become a pedestrian, not a motorbike nor car.

Came across this last Sunday near Kaki Bukit Road where lots of construction workers and "foreign talents" dorms are.

This motorized cyclist was riding in lane 2 like he is a tax-paying road user.. Worse, he is an obstruction and safey hazzard to drivers.

While halted at Eunos Link junction, I saw his bike sign "LTA Approved".. WTF!!! :angry: Either he is trying to smoke drivers or he kanna smoked by others.

I've reported this to LTA and TP. [rifle]

Looks like besides wanting to dig his nose, he wanted to turn right. 100% legal.

Wah ...elitist snob [laugh] :angry:

You ever tried to get to anywhere useful using only park connector? Cannot be done.

Cycling is a great and fun way to get around - and under certain circumstances can be faster and more convenient than Public transport.

rather than trying to get bikes off the road - I would like to see more effort being put into more routes for them to get cars off the road....

He's not elitist. This one thinks that for safety's sake, it should be made mandatory for cyclists on the roads to cycle against the flow of traffic :blink:

the only correct way to ride a bicycle on the road is stay on left side of the road, and when approaching a junction, especially traffic light or zebra crossing junction, the cyclist should become a pedestrian, not a motorbike nor car.

Correct way by whose standard?

Turning into another cyclist vs motorist thread.. sigh.. when will this debate ever end?

I welcome cyclists (motorized or otherwise) on the roads as long as they dun behave like king of the road (ie. disregard to traffic rules) or out there as if trying to show-off or prove something. Do take care of yourselves and be fully aware and accept the risks that you are taking. Insisting on your rights on the road or behaving like a menace does not help.

In fact the above statement applies to every motorists on the road.

Edited by Dark

Legally, bicycle = vehicle.

Bicycle is required to ride left of the left most lane. For safety concern, it is always advisable to ride in the middle of the lane. If there is sufficient space, it would be good that cyclist ask driver to overtake.

u sure?

according to road traffic act ; bicycle rules, pt 8 :

Every bicycle shall be ridden close to the left hand edge of the roadway and in such a manner as not to obstruct vehicles moving at a faster speed.

my understanding is unless you are riding 2 abreast. IAW the law, you are not suppose to ride in the middle of the lane.

u sure?

according to road traffic act ; bicycle rules, pt 8 :

Every bicycle shall be ridden close to the left hand edge of the roadway and in such a manner as not to obstruct vehicles moving at a faster speed.

my understanding is unless you are riding 2 abreast. IAW the law, you are not suppose to ride in the middle of the lane.

Road Traffic Act Section 2(1) Chapter 276