So, Can Peacefully Cook Curry Again ....

Maxus-MIFA9

so..... when these parents of FT unable to affort the health care cost when all get citizedships, who to take care of them..... [confused]

I have a Maths problem related to your question.....

Let's say gahmen decides to use taxpayers' money to look after (or subsidise) these elderly folks regardless they were born here or have been living here for many many years, OR just became a citizen recently.

The former group of elderly citizens have already contributed taxes all their life here for many years (not even talking about the NS the males did when they were younger), while the latter group have paid next to nothing taxes due to their short stay here till now. Can the latter be given the same amount of govt aids as the former?

No matter how unhappy you are over foreigners here, and how bad you think the foreigner policy is. Too bad garment until today still didnt admit that their foreigner policy is flawed or wrong, [rolleyes]

For my metaphor, tourniquet the arm and get to the hospital.

For the FT issue. The issue is never about income level but the number we let in. Lets be clear, we have more people who can earn >SD8,000 a month than the country can hold. Solution: Do a study on how many people the country can hold comfortably and then size the number of foreigners coming in according to our needs.

Frankly speaking, we need a lot of nurses and workers in the construction industry. If they are willing they (and their families) are welcome to become Singaporeans despite their lower salaries. I am far more receptive to these people and the family of these.who toil and contributed to the country than scholars (with their entitlement complex) who get scholarship, study here then leave.

Agreed. [thumbsup]

For my metaphor, tourniquet the arm and get to the hospital.

For the FT issue. The issue is never about income level but the number we let in. Lets be clear, we have more people who can earn >SD8,000 a month than the country can hold. Solution: Do a study on how many people the country can hold comfortably and then size the number of foreigners coming in according to our needs.

Frankly speaking, we need a lot of nurses and workers in the construction industry. If they are willing they (and their families) are welcome to become Singaporeans despite their lower salaries. I am far more receptive to these people and the family of these.who toil and contributed to the country than scholars (with their entitlement complex) who get scholarship, study here then leave.

yes....

quite silly for them to raise the cap from $2800/- to $4000/- where most of the FT nurses & construction workers will not meet the target. Those who earn more than $4000/- a month will not work as labourers or sweepers... :ph34r:

No matter how unhappy you are over foreigners here, and how bad you think the foreigner policy is. Too bad garment until today still didnt admit that their foreigner policy is flawed or wrong, [rolleyes]

Dont worry. Come 2016 election and your pm will appear on national TV to say sorry for what he has done. after u vote for him, he has 5 years to scrxx u.

.... MOM increasing local quotas, but employers struggling to get locals to work for them.

I don't believe employers can't get locals if they pay realistically.

Good steps, at least the Gov is changing things bit by bit.

Yup. The Gov have manage it carefully and not to scare the good ones, who really contribute. But they still have a bigger problem to solve. Affordable Housing(HDB). Hope they will do it gradually to restrict the PRs from buying HDB from open market. [:)]

My view is Hdb should be owned bySingaporeans only. Why prop up the prices with PRs being allowed to buy when there is an under supply...

I don't believe employers can't get locals if they pay realistically.

No problem was, the paymaster have been enjoying lower salaries of these FTs for years back. We have to understand the other side of the employers' problem. Especially those in manufacturing. Prices have been regressing. We have interviewed many locals, most want normal working hours. -_-

My view is Hdb should be owned bySingaporeans only. Why prop up the prices with PRs being allowed to buy when there is an under supply...

As a citizen, yes I agreed. It a mistake done, which takes years to clean up. The Gov, cannot just go to HDBs owned by PRs and say, "Please return the flat". I believe the locals will be watching closely, how are they reverse the problem done in the next few years [:)]

This should have been done long ago. Ah tiongs love to bring their family along. If ah tiong bring his/her spouse and their parents, then there will be 6 of them but only 1 working. Where's the productivity?

Got la, pdmm, nightspots, crime, part time work, complain curry, ask to change anthem to chinese.... Joking Har.... Hahahahaha

yalor!!!!! ft should rent from singaporeans!!!!! [mad]

Thats is good to know that Singapore is regarded as the only advanced economy in SEA.

The government is under pressure to placate voters without disrupting the arrival of talent and labor that helped build the only advanced economy in Southeast Asia.

The floodgate has been opened for a long time to the nurses actually. You can see lots of ATB and pinoy nurses around. Fortunately or unfortunately, ladies can't sponsor husband to come. Only the other way round is allowed.

So what exactly is your point? U seemed to go around disagreeing with people and calling people who speaks up whiners? Why dun u share your views?

fyi, i noe of someone came here for 6yrs and only local ITE qualification but he is earning $3.4k/mth as an engineer!!! if tat is the case, can someone sitting up there earning millions of moolar explain y still encourage ppl to study but in the end kana taken over by merely a FT who worked for 6yrs with ITE qualification climbing so fast to engineer???!!!

to employers in tis forum, if u wan to hire these types of FTs with same salary as wat singaporeans wif degree are earning dan dun come and BS saying FTs are CHEAPER!!!