Wt_know Supersonic July 10, 2012 Share July 10, 2012 (edited) we want more facebook saverin ... not $4k but $4,000,000 ... come come Edited July 10, 2012 by Wt_know ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Supersonic July 10, 2012 Share July 10, 2012 (edited) isn't foreign workers are the bangla and thai working in construction sleeping on the floor during break time and eat giant packet rice with curry gravy? it's foreign talent that bringing their families and probably majority earning $4k and above liao From Sept. 1, foreign workers must earn at least S$4,000 Edited July 10, 2012 by Wt_know Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yewheng Twincharged July 10, 2012 Share July 10, 2012 Make sense... but then, you think those whiners will stop meh.... now they whine too little too late.... Actually nothing is too little too late. I mean every minute, every seconds sure have whiners, complain etc and also can change from time to time. So cannot say too little too late as now maybe this problem, in future maybe another problem. As long as government sees the problem and try to solve it than ok, still not so bad. But some are simply too complicated and not easy to solve like ABC. Just my 2 cents . Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic July 10, 2012 Share July 10, 2012 I don't believe employers can't get locals if they pay realistically. We always hearsay locals very choosy on jobs, that's why employers cannot get locals. But reality wonder it is true that the locals are choosy or the employers are picky too. I believe some employers are quite choosy on the people they want to employ. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blackyv Turbocharged July 10, 2012 Share July 10, 2012 We always hearsay locals very choosy on jobs, that's why employers cannot get locals. But reality wonder it is true that the locals are choosy or the employers are picky too. I believe some employers are quite choosy on the people they want to employ. If in manufacturing or engineering field, it's true..... hard to even get to interview a local don't say hire... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tayspiderx 3rd Gear July 10, 2012 Share July 10, 2012 not entirely close door la ... a. cheapo FT, don't bring families ... no economic contribution b. expensive FT .... bring families ... lai ah lai ah ... buy lambo/ferrari/porsche and million dollar condo and bungalow at sentosa cove c. FT will ask salary no $4k no work ... some jobs will die die go to FT and salary goes up ... huat ah! A company's budget is limited so if FT get 4k mean less fund for local...Local will hav to kio sai Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic July 10, 2012 Author Share July 10, 2012 fyi, i noe of someone came here for 6yrs and only local ITE qualification but he is earning $3.4k/mth as an engineer!!! if tat is the case, can someone sitting up there earning millions of moolar explain y still encourage ppl to study but in the end kana taken over by merely a FT who worked for 6yrs with ITE qualification climbing so fast to engineer???!!! to employers in tis forum, if u wan to hire these types of FTs with same salary as wat singaporeans wif degree are earning dan dun come and BS saying FTs are CHEAPER!!! Who know, he could done his part-time studies & get a diploma during his 6 yrs here.... even if he did not get that qualification, hard working for 6 yrs with good attitude & willing to learn could easily earn $3.4k per month. I know of some companies raise their so called 'status' in the S pass so as they could get PR .... ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic July 11, 2012 Share July 11, 2012 If in manufacturing or engineering field, it's true..... hard to even get to interview a local don't say hire... Maybe manfacturing or engineering industry harder to get local? Maybe also position in engineering field harder to get local? I think non engineering position should not have problem getting local?! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zniper 2nd Gear July 11, 2012 Share July 11, 2012 Who know, he could done his part-time studies & get a diploma during his 6 yrs here.... even if he did not get that qualification, hard working for 6 yrs with good attitude & willing to learn could easily earn $3.4k per month. I know of some companies raise their so called 'status' in the S pass so as they could get PR .... ... juz in case u are not sure on how long to be a full-fletched engineer... even for a diploma holder, it takes about 10yrs to climb up to full-fletched engineer... moreover, he is only ITE and ya he din do any diploma or whatsoever... for the companies raising of status to EP i noe of some cos these companies dun wan to pay the man-head cost to MOM... going to EP can make them save the sum of $$$... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Royho1979 Clutched July 11, 2012 Share July 11, 2012 We always hearsay locals very choosy on jobs, that's why employers cannot get locals. But reality wonder it is true that the locals are choosy or the employers are picky too. I believe some employers are quite choosy on the people they want to employ. I also think we tend to underpay for the standard of living yet expect people to want to take these positions up. The truth is if we allow market force to work and the SMEs have to pay higher wages, to stay afloat, they will either wind-down or cut cost in other areas. The obvious areas are: 1) Rentals (rent seeking people are having it easy in Singapore, forever relying on scarcity as a reason for ever increasing rentals) 2) Pay of management (the wage gap is high for a reason) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
HP_Lee 5th Gear July 11, 2012 Share July 11, 2012 Things are starting to change on immigration act. The move is gradual and steady towards filtering out those who stays and may not contribute to our society. More to come. So potential property buyers have to watch the hidden downside risk. Good Conduct PRs Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maz0608 3rd Gear July 11, 2012 Share July 11, 2012 juz in case u are not sure on how long to be a full-fletched engineer... even for a diploma holder, it takes about 10yrs to climb up to full-fletched engineer... moreover, he is only ITE and ya he din do any diploma or whatsoever... for the companies raising of status to EP i noe of some cos these companies dun wan to pay the man-head cost to MOM... going to EP can make them save the sum of $$$... Nowadays engineer this kind of title very cheap already lah! Whether you have ITC, diploma or degree all can get this title easily. A lot of these so called engineers can't even do what a technician can do in their respective field. Used to be engineers can fit into a job easily with minimal guidance now I even have to spoon feed and teach them from the very basic in order for them to understand their job... somemore can tell me everything they have learned all returned to lecturer liao! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Moredhel 2nd Gear July 12, 2012 Share July 12, 2012 Social & Economical Engineering. As a true-blue Singaporean, I can't really say I'm happy about the FT policy the government is churning out. Thinking along the lines of the cut-throat politics of world economies, I can't help but appluad the government on daring to adopt policies which are unpopular with the local populace but nevertheless required to maintain Singapore as a regional trading hub in the longer term. While most governments are controlled by the people through regular elections and a balanced electorate, Singapore is in the unique position where the incumbent is still firmly anchored in power and possess the ability to implement beneficial long term policies, not the char kway teow unsound populist policies we see in most democratic nations (look at the economic turmoil in US/UK everytime a director of IMF farts). We have witnessed countless nationalities looking down on Singaporeans as weak, sheltered, indecisive and a host of other unflattering terms. Have any of you wondered why this is so? Could it be perhaps because it's true? I believe, gentlemen, that we are in a crucible, and a pioneer of the new socio-economic platform, and we will come through as the stronger steel through not despite our differences, but precisely because of our differences. My apologies for the extended liturgy, here's a potato. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic July 12, 2012 Share July 12, 2012 The floodgate has been opened for a long time to the nurses actually. You can see lots of ATB and pinoy nurses around. Fortunately or unfortunately, ladies can't sponsor husband to come. Only the other way round is allowed. orrrhhhh!!!!!! i know!!!!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Boyboy 1st Gear July 12, 2012 Share July 12, 2012 'Public discontent surged when the strain on the rail system caused its worst breakdown in December ' I understood it was poor maintenance not overcrowding that caused the problems. Yahoo news. Give chance a bit. Even Sh!t Times CMI. Overcrowding did make the problem happen sooner. I guess that's a good thing. They shortened the train intervals which lead to increased wear and tear, without doing anything to the maintenance routine. Without all the FT, I think our MRT would only break down years from now. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Boyboy 1st Gear July 12, 2012 Share July 12, 2012 Your signature says it all. I don't think locals are any different Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
HP_Lee 5th Gear July 12, 2012 Share July 12, 2012 (edited) Thank goodness for that parents and in-laws thingy, damn old men and lao charbor every morning PIAK PIAK PIAK so loud. Do exercise lah, why must clap hands, slap thighs, slap bellies? Wao laoz eeehh! I dun think so. The old man could be pumping one of his gf ...... Edited July 12, 2012 by HP_Lee ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...