Sosaria Twincharged July 10, 2012 Share July 10, 2012 It's not a good article, and I'm surprised some people were willing to be interviewed. In malaysia, better to keep low profile and not attract attention. Even if they stay in well-guarded secure estate... you never know. Robbers are very daring over there. Even ATM in shopping mall also they will cart away, and robbers armed with automatic firearms also have been reported. Furthermore, there have been cases where the security personnel sometimes collaborate with robbers and do "insider" job. This is the danger even though staying in a guarded estate. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear July 10, 2012 Share July 10, 2012 JB girl more frenly LOL, gai siao leh! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zxcvb Turbocharged July 10, 2012 Share July 10, 2012 There are probably like thousands of Singaporeans staying in JB commute daily to work in Singapore. You see the number of SG plate cars coming to Singapore on weekday mornings (5am-9am), you'd be shocked. Alot of red plates between 430am-630am along the causeway. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Solar Turbocharged July 10, 2012 Share July 10, 2012 I didn't read the full details but the title showed they spend ave 2hours on transport daily, thru fro work place/school. No dount, some people just have the time to waste. 2hrs x 365days = 730hrs = 30days/year = 300days/decade, it's almost 1 year gone. Convert 300days into OT @lowest pay rate $15/hr, 300 x 24 x 15 = $108,000/decade gone. compared to some foreign talent hometown, this is considered very good already. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kiadaw 6th Gear July 10, 2012 Share July 10, 2012 It's not a good article, and I'm surprised some people were willing to be interviewed. In malaysia, better to keep low profile and not attract attention. Even if they stay in well-guarded secure estate... you never know. Robbers are very daring over there. Even ATM in shopping mall also they will cart away, and robbers armed with automatic firearms also have been reported. Furthermore, there have been cases where the security personnel sometimes collaborate with robbers and do "insider" job. This is the danger even though staying in a guarded estate. Yap, but without the security issues & inconviences, the property market in Singapore will nose dived. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sosaria Twincharged July 10, 2012 Share July 10, 2012 (edited) I didn't read the full details but the title showed they spend ave 2hours on transport daily, thru fro work place/school. No dount, some people just have the time to waste. 2hrs x 365days = 730hrs = 30days/year = 300days/decade, it's almost 1 year gone. Convert 300days into OT @lowest pay rate $15/hr, 300 x 24 x 15 = $108,000/decade gone. 2 hours for travelling to and fro daily is already not bad IMHO. I take it that you stay close to your school / workplace? Don't have to live in JB to experience long travel time, wasted time... In singapore, staying west, working east, or vice versa, already need more than 1 hour each way!! Worse if taking public transport! I remember my early days of just starting work, transfer feeder bus, MRT, then regular bus... each way takes 1.5 to 2 hours. Daily Luckily in those days, although MRT network was small, it was more reliable. Hardly encounter major breakdown. Edited July 10, 2012 by Sosaria Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
VellfireS 4th Gear July 10, 2012 Share July 10, 2012 ya... then EVEN further up can go thailand liao.. can stretch your 'fun' make sure check before you start your fun.. for any unwanted items... [sly] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Windwaver Turbocharged July 10, 2012 Share July 10, 2012 Then there will be another thread next time titled as - "Many regrets over big move to JB". , this is funny Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
PaiKia-Lee 1st Gear July 10, 2012 Share July 10, 2012 , this is funny Please la. for the past 40 years. Jb is alwaysnthe nicer place to stay. The land is cheaper but much bigger. The only bad thing is that it has weak economy and hard to find jobs. The tide has changed. Its still much poorer than singapore of course but its getting stronger than some third world countries. Look at some of the new estates such as setia eco garden, horizon hills etc and compare them with singapore hdb. Not that i look down on hdb dwellers but paying rm 1000000 for a four room small little flat?? No no for me now as i am very used to waking up to the chriping of birds in jb now rather than the screaming of aunties around my chai chee hdb flat at 7 am daily. Including sunday and ph Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
PaiKia-Lee 1st Gear July 10, 2012 Share July 10, 2012 It's not a good article, and I'm surprised some people were willing to be interviewed. In malaysia, better to keep low profile and not attract attention. Even if they stay in well-guarded secure estate... you never know. Robbers are very daring over there. Even ATM in shopping mall also they will cart away, and robbers armed with automatic firearms also have been reported. Furthermore, there have been cases where the security personnel sometimes collaborate with robbers and do "insider" job. This is the danger even though staying in a guarded estate. Many sinkies would want to be interviewed. Some of my malaysian neighbours are cash rich. They kept low profiles such as driving protons etc but c,e cny, they easily spend rm20k cash to buy firework to shoot outside their house. Within the taman pple know they r rich its ok because everyone staying in east ledang or hh are rich except the sinkies Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ronleech 2nd Gear July 11, 2012 Share July 11, 2012 I slept so soundly in my banglos in East Ledang and Leisure Farm now. Over the weekends I bought and planted a few baby mango and durian trees in Leisure farm. I give myself 2 years for it to grow tall and bear fruit. At least I have a purpose in life now. Life is shiok here. When I was staying in Singapore, the town council sent me warning letters when I tried to plant money plants along the corridor. *shake head* Nearly bought a unit there wit 505K when it launched.... wifey pour cold water and no go ahead....must be feeling good there... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
PaiKia-Lee 1st Gear July 12, 2012 Share July 12, 2012 Nearly bought a unit there wit 505K when it launched.... wifey pour cold water and no go ahead....must be feeling good there... Your wife prefers to wake up in the tiny whinny HDB flat at 7am to the shouts and yells of the aunties above and below your floor Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icedbs Turbocharged July 12, 2012 Share July 12, 2012 Now with the exchange rate at 1SGD = 2.5MYR, buying a flat in Msia becomes much more compelling. Just take note that the housing loan interest in Msia is around the 6% range....not like the 1-2% in Spore. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
PaiKia-Lee 1st Gear July 12, 2012 Share July 12, 2012 Now with the exchange rate at 1SGD = 2.5MYR, buying a flat in Msia becomes much more compelling. Just take note that the housing loan interest in Msia is around the 6% range....not like the 1-2% in Spore. 6%? That is something very new to me. I wonder where you get the figure from. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zniper 2nd Gear July 12, 2012 Share July 12, 2012 Heard there are many many many s'poreans give up their citizenship every year and move to elsewhere. y not? living in own country but being treated as 3rd class citizens? forget it... too bad, i dun hold high post and earn a lot... if not, i may seriously consider of migrating too... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TVT Supercharged July 12, 2012 Share July 12, 2012 y not? living in own country but being treated as 3rd class citizens? forget it... too bad, i dun hold high post and earn a lot... if not, i may seriously consider of migrating too... Where would you go? There is no such thing as a perfect world, you know! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
PaiKia-Lee 1st Gear July 12, 2012 Share July 12, 2012 Where would you go? There is no such thing as a perfect world, you know! In spore i serve army but i am third class citizen In jb i dont serve army n i m second class. I prefer to be second class Look at the sorry state of changi airport or psa.. They are getting from bad to worse Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icedbs Turbocharged July 12, 2012 Share July 12, 2012 6%? That is something very new to me. I wonder where you get the figure from. Bro...just google any Msia bank and check la.... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...