t0y0ta Supercharged January 2, 2024 Share January 2, 2024 Current EVs are like Gen1 iPhone or iPhone 3G. You find the tech and specs outdated very very fast. Worse is that some of the companies may drop support for spare parts etc if you try to keep them for long. So best to wait it out lah. ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
therock Supersonic January 2, 2024 Share January 2, 2024 On 1/2/2024 at 9:31 AM, RadX said: considering ur mileage, yes, agree....then again, there is the constant scuffle for 'cheapest petrol' that transcends amongst the folks... As we spoke, once you have your SOLAR setup settled, that shd be the way to go My next thread 😆 I'm getting some quotes then get my boss to check.. she’s into finance @Rickster was also keen ? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic January 2, 2024 Share January 2, 2024 (edited) SG last petrol car will be sold in 2040. No need to worry no petrol car. After 2040 I may not be around. Edited January 2, 2024 by Jamesc 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic January 2, 2024 Share January 2, 2024 (edited) Hearsay I heard someone only 9 months on EV already given up. And wants to change to a better EV! Like @therock I also won't bother with EVs. Edited January 2, 2024 by Jamesc 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator January 2, 2024 Share January 2, 2024 On 1/2/2024 at 10:16 AM, Jamesc said: Hearsay I heard someone only 9 months on EV already given up. And wants to change to a better EV! as they say....jus like sex....it gets better😁 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic January 2, 2024 Share January 2, 2024 (edited) On 1/2/2024 at 10:17 AM, RadX said: as they say....jus like sex....it gets better😁 I don't know about EVs but my sex has always been great! Always! Edited January 2, 2024 by Jamesc 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kxbc Turbocharged January 2, 2024 Share January 2, 2024 I am in the same shoes as TS. COE ending 2016. And I've only travelled 80+km since I got the car with close to 2 years of no daily commute due to Covid and WFH. Even with daily commute, I only use up 110L of petrol a mth. My office is also located nearby with a direct bus connection. I am only keeping the car because of ferrying the wife around for her weekend activities and also going around for makan as we do not have much makan places within a short walking distance. Contrary to what many with EVs said, I don't have much charging spaces around my area. And I am not a fan of waiting for the car to charge up or walking at least 15 min to the charging port to collect the car after a few hours. With COE at such high prices, I will likely renew COE for 10 years and save on a new car OMV and various related taxes. Will have to balance that with higher road taxes and possible higher repair expenses as the car ages. Once this 2nd COE expire, probably will take public transport since I will be in my late 60s then. (btw, these new ads are damn bloody fxxking irritating #$%#^&@!!!. Each new pop up disrupts my typing - stops my typing completely.) 1 9 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic January 2, 2024 Share January 2, 2024 On 1/2/2024 at 9:20 AM, therock said: Yeah it’s convenient but the maths doesn’t work out .. especially since my petrol bill savings aren’t likely to cover any battery costs and those chargers at work aren’t cheap $$ And those fast chargers aren’t heathy for your battery but technology keeps progressing so who knows Your battery might degrade 5% throughout your ownership. Overthink liao Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spidey10 Supercharged January 2, 2024 Share January 2, 2024 On 1/2/2024 at 10:15 AM, Jamesc said: SG last petrol car will be sold in 2040. No need to worry no petrol car. After 2040 I may not be around. Hopefully will be around....but dunno driving or not... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic January 2, 2024 Share January 2, 2024 I will never own an EV if I can. When kids grow up and move out I don't mind a Hybrid Nissan E power. A Note or Kicks should do me and wifey with MIL on the roof. Its electric! But fueled by petrol. I know a guy that owns a Note and he says he gets really good gas mileage. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator January 2, 2024 Share January 2, 2024 On 1/2/2024 at 10:16 AM, Jamesc said: Hearsay I heard someone only 9 months on EV already given up. And wants to change to a better EV! Like @therock I also won't bother with EVs. I’m happy to hear so that there is less competition for limited resources all live in harmony😂😂 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Volvobrick Supersonic January 2, 2024 Share January 2, 2024 On 1/2/2024 at 11:46 AM, Jamesc said: I will never own an EV if I can. When kids grow up and move out I don't mind a Hybrid Nissan E power. A Note or Kicks should do me and wifey with MIL on the roof. Its electric! But fueled by petrol. I know a guy that owns a Note and he says he gets really good gas mileage. Get a 2 seater. if MIL insists to tack along can strap her to the bonnet. Or bumper. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spidey10 Supercharged January 2, 2024 Share January 2, 2024 On 1/2/2024 at 10:20 AM, Kxbc said: I am in the same shoes as TS. COE ending 2016. And I've only travelled 80+km since I got the car with close to 2 years of no daily commute due to Covid and WFH. Even with daily commute, I only use up 110L of petrol a mth. My office is also located nearby with a direct bus connection. I am only keeping the car because of ferrying the wife around for her weekend activities and also going around for makan as we do not have much makan places within a short walking distance. Contrary to what many with EVs said, I don't have much charging spaces around my area. And I am not a fan of waiting for the car to charge up or walking at least 15 min to the charging port to collect the car after a few hours. With COE at such high prices, I will likely renew COE for 10 years and save on a new car OMV and various related taxes. Will have to balance that with higher road taxes and possible higher repair expenses as the car ages. Once this 2nd COE expire, probably will take public transport since I will be in my late 60s then. (btw, these new ads are damn bloody fxxking irritating #$%#^&@!!!. Each new pop up disrupts my typing - stops my typing completely.) Same thots as me....current ride expiring in 2016 too, target is renew for another 10 yrs and be done with it. But my ride is heavily used...160k km now, probably will touch 180k by the time it's expiry....then again, i don't think the usage for the future years will be as heave as the early years... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic January 2, 2024 Share January 2, 2024 On 1/2/2024 at 10:43 AM, Spidey10 said: Hopefully will be around....but dunno driving or not... Waking up every morning to a view like this in one of those free houses they give away in Japan! 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spidey10 Supercharged January 2, 2024 Share January 2, 2024 On 1/2/2024 at 10:49 AM, Jamesc said: Waking up every morning to a view like this in one of those free houses they give away in Japan! wake up every morning...stun!! 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic January 2, 2024 Share January 2, 2024 (edited) On 1/2/2024 at 10:48 AM, Volvobrick said: Get a 2 seater. if MIL insists to tack along can strap her to the bonnet. Or bumper. What like this? I don't see his MIL complaining! The best thing was the police fined the woman and not the driver! India police No 1! If I was the driver I would start the New Year with a Bang! A Big Bang! Edited January 2, 2024 by Jamesc 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mockngbrd Supersonic January 2, 2024 Share January 2, 2024 Title should be Why My Next Car Is Unlikely To Be A̶n̶ ̶E̶l̶e̶c̶t̶r̶i̶c̶ ̶V̶e̶h̶i̶c̶l̶e̶ Tesla 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic January 2, 2024 Share January 2, 2024 I can’t afford coe. Heng is still got 7 years of coe. if can afford coe 7!years later, just renew coe can Liao lah. Can’t afford new car ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...