Ct3833 Supersonic February 16, 2021 Share February 16, 2021 1 hour ago, F10_Blackhawk said: Budget 2021: New measures to narrow cost difference between electric cars and conventional cars https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/budget-2021-new-measures-to-narrow-cost-difference-between-electric-cars-and-conventional “Deputy Prime Minister Heng Swee Keat on Tuesday (Feb 16) said the minimum Additional Registration Fee (ARF) for electric cars will be lowered to zero from January 2022 to December 2023. Currently, all car buyers have to pay at least $5,000 in ARF, regardless of the tax rebate a car is entitled to.” Steady lah.....Sounds like some of the cheaper EVs will get cheaper still..... Meaning one will get $0 parf when he scraps his car. But it is ok if up front he pays cheaper than a petrol engine car. ↡ Advertisement 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apple-Tree 6th Gear February 16, 2021 Share February 16, 2021 1 hour ago, Ct3833 said: Meaning one will get $0 parf when he scraps his car. But it is ok if up front he pays cheaper than a petrol engine car. Aiya ........ don't expect much from this kind of government lor ........ Oh what ? They "give a lot" LAST YEAR ?? Surebo, unless water enter your brain hor..... GO SEE CNA : https://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/specialreports/singapore-budget?cid=sghomepage_budget2021_desktop-banner2_16022021_cna Budget21 is ABOUT HOW MANY PEOPLE GOT CAUGHT STEALING VOUCHER lor .... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Volvobrick Supersonic February 16, 2021 Share February 16, 2021 (edited) 3 hours ago, Ct3833 said: Meaning one will get $0 parf when he scraps his car. But it is ok if up front he pays cheaper than a petrol engine car. In 10 years, all these old electric cars' COE will be renewed, cos the renewed cars' depreciation will only be the Prevailing COE Premium over 10 years. Hopefully those old batteries will not suka suka explode! This is the unintended consequence of zero or very low PARF. Actually I don't mind as it is too wasteful to send perfectly good cars to the scrapyard just to recover the PARF. But I am sure the road tax premium will be increased beyond the 50% when the time comes. Now I should go look for a OMV 38K EV to maximise the 45K rebate! Edited February 16, 2021 by Volvobrick 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
F10_Blackhawk 4th Gear February 16, 2021 Share February 16, 2021 11 hours ago, Ct3833 said: Meaning one will get $0 parf when he scraps his car. But it is ok if up front he pays cheaper than a petrol engine car. But PARF is 50% of ARF...thus i rather forgo the PARF and pay $Zero ARF....no? Am I missing something here? Overall depre is actually lower. So I guess can go look for those cars where the ARF is $50k now to take full advantage of the Early adoptor and $0 ARF floor....Last I check I think i3 is 1 model. Leaf, Kona Electric, MG all should see further reduction of $5k as they actually have the min $5k floor ARF. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ct3833 Supersonic February 17, 2021 Share February 17, 2021 2 minutes ago, F10_Blackhawk said: But PARF is 50% of ARF...thus i rather forgo the PARF and pay $Zero ARF....no? Am I missing something here? Overall depre is actually lower. So I guess can go look for those cars where the ARF is $50k now to take full advantage of the Early adoptor and $0 ARF floor....Last I check I think i3 is 1 model. Leaf, Kona Electric, MG all should see further reduction of $5k as they actually have the min $5k floor ARF. Correct, it is why i said it is ok if up front one pays cheaper than petrol vehicle. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
F10_Blackhawk 4th Gear February 17, 2021 Share February 17, 2021 7 hours ago, Volvobrick said: In 10 years, all these old electric cars' COE will be renewed, cos the renewed cars' depreciation will only be the Prevailing COE Premium over 10 years. Hopefully those old batteries will not suka suka explode! This is the unintended consequence of zero or very low PARF. Actually I don't mind as it is too wasteful to send perfectly good cars to the scrapyard just to recover the PARF. But I am sure the road tax premium will be increased beyond the 50% when the time comes. Now I should go look for a OMV 38K EV to maximise the 45K rebate! hahaha....that’s what I’m thinking too....but not many EV I think..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Datsun366 Turbocharged February 17, 2021 Share February 17, 2021 Got electric buses and lorries then talk. we gong gong one is it? As a good leader you should expect your men to be fast. If not lightning then sound. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kklee 6th Gear February 17, 2021 Share February 17, 2021 IMHO. Buying EV helps the economy. Saves job. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ct3833 Supersonic February 17, 2021 Share February 17, 2021 42 minutes ago, F10_Blackhawk said: hahaha....that’s what I’m thinking too....but not many EV I think..... EV population will surge soon. Anyway COE EV will also be easier to maintain, without engine block and gearbox, the entire maintenance should be easier? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Volvobrick Supersonic February 17, 2021 Share February 17, 2021 (edited) 55 minutes ago, Kklee said: IMHO. Buying EV helps the economy. Saves job. EV destroys pump attendant, car mechanic jobs (mostly locals and some Malaysians) . Only one off installation of chargers create jobs but you know these will handled by FW. At least until Hyundai factory is up. Edited February 17, 2021 by Volvobrick Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kklee 6th Gear February 17, 2021 Share February 17, 2021 9 minutes ago, Volvobrick said: EV destroys pump attendant, car mechanic jobs (mostly locals and some Malaysians) . Only one off installation of chargers create jobs but you know these will handled by FW. At least until Hyundai factory is up. Any buying will help the economy. It usually saves higher level jobs. Like always, KPI is about job creations. However, I do share your views. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Didu Turbocharged February 17, 2021 Share February 17, 2021 Jaguar car brand to be all-electric by 2025 https://www.bbc.com/news/business-56072019 As you know Jaguar Land Rover join venture with Chery to produce their cars in China. No prize in guessing where its electrification tech comes from. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apple-Tree 6th Gear February 17, 2021 Share February 17, 2021 Ta ta ..PAP screw EV ownerrrr BACKSIDE ...ta ta ta taaaa... Try singing it, it sound awesomely better ..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic February 17, 2021 Share February 17, 2021 3 hours ago, Didu said: Jaguar car brand to be all-electric by 2025 https://www.bbc.com/news/business-56072019 As you know Jaguar Land Rover join venture with Chery to produce their cars in China. No prize in guessing where its electrification tech comes from. Lagi more electrical problems then. 😆 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Calvin8808 5th Gear February 18, 2021 Share February 18, 2021 22 hours ago, Volvobrick said: EV destroys pump attendant, car mechanic jobs (mostly locals and some Malaysians) . Only one off installation of chargers create jobs but you know these will handled by FW. At least until Hyundai factory is up. Well we shouldn't look it this way. Look at how Amazon evolve with times? They used to be online bookshop? And look at how supermarkets are using self checkout now? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yewheng Twincharged February 20, 2021 Share February 20, 2021 https://m.sgcarmart.com/new_cars/overview.php?CarCode=12817 The new BYE e6 electronic car looks good. 2021 version and the new version, the rear boot space is bigger. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
minion 4th Gear February 20, 2021 Share February 20, 2021 Still prefer Sedan. Hope mainstream, cheaper Telsa Sedan alternative will come 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Didu Turbocharged February 20, 2021 Share February 20, 2021 The alternative will probably come from China manufacturer, provided SG govt allows it to setup shop here. ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...