mersaylee Hypersonic May 15, 2024 Share May 15, 2024 (edited) On 5/15/2024 at 4:33 PM, Terence2112 said: Bros, asking you guys for opinion. I currently drive an A5 which I purchased last yr at quite a good price. It’s a good price because it was a lelong set. My annual mileage is very high and I’ve driven close to 28k km. I clock an avg of 70km a day and no, I’m not a PHV. The cost of petrol sucks and I usually top up full tank every 10 days, and each filling cost about $105. One day, I was just casually reading about EVs and the cost of charging is indeed low. The EV I’m leaning on (with support from my wife) is the BYD seal. Currently, it is retailing around 208,888 with guaranteed COE. if you guys were me, would you sell the A5 (though it is the most handsomest car) with the Seal? any comments and questions are appreciated! Your fuel mileage is actually quite good for $320 there about for 30 days of commute. Especially given it's an average of 70km per day. I pump only 95 also average around $300 per month for fuel and I don't usually travel more than 50 per day...😅 Edited May 15, 2024 by mersaylee ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator May 15, 2024 Share May 15, 2024 On 5/15/2024 at 7:05 PM, mersaylee said: Your fuel mileage is actually quite good for $320 there about for 30 days of commute. Especially given it's an average of 70km per day. I pump only 95 also average around $300 per month for fuel and I don't usually travel more than 50 per day...😅 Ppl like u waste coe!!😂 6 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mersaylee Hypersonic May 15, 2024 Share May 15, 2024 On 5/15/2024 at 7:07 PM, RadX said: Ppl like u waste coe!!😂 Waste coe betterer than smell smelly armpits...😁 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Koster 3rd Gear May 15, 2024 Share May 15, 2024 On 5/14/2024 at 6:52 PM, Heartlander said: Granted these cars are in China, not saying those sold here would have these problems, most likely have gone through better QC before shipping hopefully. Come to think of it, EVs are just something that human created using the various electrical principles to defy nature. Who says anomaly cannot happen due to poor design or material used. Nothing is absolute in this world.: https://www.facebook.com/100064840265192/posts/pfbid0384g77vJB9zF2ZB45LfRqxkkBWcirumhK24qWqHAHTrFLsWMPDnj2rYevwh23H48Xl/ 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mersaylee Hypersonic May 15, 2024 Share May 15, 2024 On 5/15/2024 at 6:33 PM, oleoleole said: Any Ioniq 6 owners here? Don't rly see owner reviews in forums, and don't see many on the road too. Car looks sexy to me, and the rear legroom is incredible. Still considering ioniq5 too, 7yo W213 getting cold and flu every now and then. Plus 10km/L FC is hurting my wallet haha.. (annual mileage is ard 22K km) What kind of cold and flu...? Maybe @Ct3833 and @Gnahp can help you save some dough...😁 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic May 15, 2024 Share May 15, 2024 On 5/15/2024 at 7:10 PM, Koster said: https://www.facebook.com/100064840265192/posts/pfbid0384g77vJB9zF2ZB45LfRqxkkBWcirumhK24qWqHAHTrFLsWMPDnj2rYevwh23H48Xl/ 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator May 15, 2024 Share May 15, 2024 @Mustank also got stroke… oh sorry… strokeD!😂 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic May 15, 2024 Share May 15, 2024 (edited) KNN, stroke is blockage, pipe blow up. Electric shock is current flow through, to clear blockage, so technically an electric stock clear the blockage not cause the blockage to blast leh. The only similar thing between a stroke and an electric shock is they both can kill you. On a serious note, you can get a stroke anywhere anytime lah, don't be stupid and blame on something just because you cannot accept it. If someone tio stroke while eating cai png, then say cai png cause stroke meh? Stupid to the max right? Edited May 15, 2024 by Tianmo 7 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Theoldjaffa Hypersonic May 15, 2024 Share May 15, 2024 On 5/15/2024 at 4:33 PM, Terence2112 said: Bros, asking you guys for opinion. I currently drive an A5 which I purchased last yr at quite a good price. It’s a good price because it was a lelong set. My annual mileage is very high and I’ve driven close to 28k km. I clock an avg of 70km a day and no, I’m not a PHV. The cost of petrol sucks and I usually top up full tank every 10 days, and each filling cost about $105. One day, I was just casually reading about EVs and the cost of charging is indeed low. The EV I’m leaning on (with support from my wife) is the BYD seal. Currently, it is retailing around 208,888 with guaranteed COE. if you guys were me, would you sell the A5 (though it is the most handsomest car) with the Seal? any comments and questions are appreciated! Go test drive first and see whether you like how it drives. else no point changing if it’s just to save money on electricity over petrol. and if after test drive and you like it, then you have to consider whether the savings in fuel cost will be negated by the higher instalment per month. but wait.. MCFers pay full cash for their cars so ignore the last para 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Heartlander Turbocharged May 16, 2024 Share May 16, 2024 On 5/15/2024 at 7:10 PM, Koster said: https://www.facebook.com/100064840265192/posts/pfbid0384g77vJB9zF2ZB45LfRqxkkBWcirumhK24qWqHAHTrFLsWMPDnj2rYevwh23H48Xl/ The formal reply: BYD preliminarily ruled out battery defects as the cause of a 51-year-old car owner in Xinyu, Jiangxi province, suffering a stroke because of suspected electric shock while driving a one-month-old BYD vehicle. The battery leak detector indicated normal, the carmaker added. I think many are choosing to be ignorant, perhaps due to some vested interest like seriously going to get a BYD soon and cannot tahan any slanderous report on the maker. The point I am trying to bring across is the electricity leakage in the car that some owners have been complaining and which BYD did not reject in the formal reply. I think you have not bothered to watch the short clip where the driver kept complaining about constantly getting shock in the car leading to the accident, the despair on his face as he tried to put things under control. BYD is aware of the leakage thing and yet choose to claim that it is normal and refuse to do any corrective action. The video clip even carried accounts of people tracing the leakage to various electrical systems within the car. I will choose to believe the medical report from hospital when it is available, if it ever get released, and not from BYD media release which obviously some ________ will choose to believe. BYD is indeed 遥遥领先赢到麻了,and trying to spread the 麻 to its loyal customers. Very generous company. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vratenza Supersonic May 16, 2024 Share May 16, 2024 On 5/15/2024 at 7:07 PM, RadX said: Ppl like u waste coe!!😂 that is rich...coming from someone who change cars like changing tires....😁 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic May 16, 2024 Share May 16, 2024 https://new.qq.com/rain/a/20240513Q09TMR00 This post raise questions about electricity shock. I watched Twitter video again. When the driver said so, passenger said her side doesn’t have. Maybe driver seat is an electric chair. 🤭 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Volvobrick Supersonic May 16, 2024 Share May 16, 2024 (edited) On 5/15/2024 at 7:07 PM, RadX said: Ppl like u waste coe!!😂 I am a bigger waster.... 8k a year and going down drastically. Definitely no EV for me. Edited May 16, 2024 by Volvobrick 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator May 16, 2024 Share May 16, 2024 On 5/16/2024 at 8:39 AM, Vratenza said: that is rich...coming from someone who change cars like changing tires....😁 oh ya thanks for reminder...need to change................... 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
bsswan 6th Gear May 16, 2024 Share May 16, 2024 On 5/16/2024 at 8:44 AM, inlinesix said: https://new.qq.com/rain/a/20240513Q09TMR00 This post raise questions about electricity shock. I watched Twitter video again. When the driver said so, passenger said her side doesn’t have. Maybe driver seat is an electric chair. 🤭 They've bolted it directly into the chassis that carries the battery pod without enough insulation? Basically a direct connection. 😵 It's a possibility. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic May 16, 2024 Share May 16, 2024 (edited) On 5/16/2024 at 8:44 AM, inlinesix said: https://new.qq.com/rain/a/20240513Q09TMR00 This post raise questions about electricity shock. I watched Twitter video again. When the driver said so, passenger said her side doesn’t have. Maybe driver seat is an electric chair. 🤭 KNN now still can find cars with non electric adjustable chairs meh? I think close to 100% of new cars come with at least driver electric adjustable seats, and that include ICE and Hybrid cars, so maybe sld go change to manually adjust ones. I got a feeling the driver was experiencing some form of intermittent cramps into the stroke. Those cramps that makes him shake shake shake type, so he might have mistaken that feeling as electric shock. The other question is, did he get into an accidental because he lost control of the car due to the stroke? Who is liable? Can claim insurance or try to claim BYD? If car fault, claim who? Some ppl can be so simple minded they think everything is simple and easy. And if EVs are just something that human created using the various electrical principles to defy nature, then what about white goods, planes, ships? In fact evey thing mankind created defy nature what. Why only say EV? Really ah, want to talk to MP also need to see date pick time, but talk cork no need. Edited May 16, 2024 by Tianmo 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vratenza Supersonic May 16, 2024 Share May 16, 2024 On 5/16/2024 at 10:23 AM, Tianmo said: KNN now still can find cars with non electric adjustable chairs meh? I think close to 100% of new cars come with at least driver electric adjustable seats, and that include ICE and Hybrid cars, so maybe sld go change to manually adjust ones. I got a feeling the driver was experiencing some form of intermittent cramps into the stroke. Those cramps that makes him shake shake shake type, so he might have mistaken that feeling as electric shock. The other question is, did he get into an accidental because he lost control of the car due to the stroke? Who is liable? Can claim insurance or try to claim BYD? If car fault, claim who? Some ppl can be so simple minded they think everything is simple and easy. And if EVs are just something that human created using the various electrical principles to defy nature, then what about white goods, planes, ships? In fact evey thing mankind created defy nature what. Why only say EV? Really ah, want to talk to MP also need to see date pick time, but talk cork no need. my car seat is manual 😅 I think the issue here is not the 12V car interior functions that is the question. Those kind of voltage do not cause any problem biologically. I think the question here is did the high voltage 400V EV battery charging/discharging circuit got shorted or not properly isolated from the interior cabin. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lethalstrike Turbocharged May 16, 2024 Share May 16, 2024 I thought how come electric car thread can talk about simi stroke la, electric chair la? Then realize it's all about BYD again. True mah, BYD = Buy You Die, gives you free "electric shock" 😂 ↡ Advertisement 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...