inlinesix Hypersonic March 7, 2024 Share March 7, 2024 On 3/7/2024 at 4:49 AM, Sdf4786k said: the latest Skoda Octavia Hybrid Pre FL is going under 200K including COE for 1.5 147BHP car when I become a full grown carrot head, I probably buy one ..... Maybe ... but if you are already a born again tycoon and folking out 200K or slightly under for a Bread and butter car, whats to worry for incidental cost? or am I missing something. Expand Mild Hybrid rather than Hybrid. Right? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beregond Supersonic March 7, 2024 Share March 7, 2024 (edited) On 3/7/2024 at 3:13 AM, Lala81 said: A model 3 starts from 40k in USA. Performance is around 50k. And that's with tesla's efficient cost structure. That's really BMW 3 series/Mercedes C class money over there. Meanwhile u can get a Camry/Rav 4 Hybrid which does 40+mpg at 31-32k USD. A toyota corolla hybrid starts at 25k. Most average americans find EVs too expensive. This is the world's biggest consumer economy. But the chinese EVs are coming in hot. I think Tai Choo Yee's youtube post says that Chery Omoda is launching at some very low price in MY. around 150k ringgit price. Expand If cost is the key. Over gov policy. Then I think hydrogen car stand a even lesser chance compare to EV. its extremely expensive to fill up hydrogen. ( current technology). Then dun want EV , hydrogen not there yet. So all struck with ICE. No need to have any more world talk and meet on saving earth. Cutting emissions 🦀 liao😂 Edited March 7, 2024 by Beregond 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic March 7, 2024 Share March 7, 2024 Toyota Mirai price USD55k Hydrogen Cost USD202.00 Range 575km 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kklee 6th Gear March 7, 2024 Share March 7, 2024 On 3/7/2024 at 3:45 AM, Vratenza said: Yeah, that's why I am trying to highlight the practical considerations of owning a hybrid when the media seem to be just pointing towards hybrid as the only way to go in the era of faltering EVs and the need to achieve emission control. Benefits of having 2 systems in one car have to be prepared for the issues of the 2 systems combined. That is all I am saying. Expand IMHO. Yes, Hybrid is complex. It should not be viewed as an ICE with battery.🤣 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kklee 6th Gear March 7, 2024 Share March 7, 2024 On 3/7/2024 at 5:40 AM, inlinesix said: Toyota Mirai price USD55k Hydrogen Cost USD202.00 Range 575km Expand IMHO. Hydrogen is ex it seems. EV/Hybrid/Hydrogen/Petrol 9 / 11 / 47 / 24 cents/km 🤔 P.S. Estimates 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic March 7, 2024 Share March 7, 2024 (edited) On 3/7/2024 at 5:33 AM, Beregond said: If cost is the key. Over gov policy. Then I think hydrogen car stand a even lesser chance compare to EV. its extremely expensive to fill up hydrogen. ( current technology). Then dun want EV , hydrogen not there yet. So all struck with ICE. No need to have any more world talk and meet on saving earth. Cutting emissions 🦀 liao😂 Expand Ultimately adoption has to be something that makes economic sense, while increasingly being more green like less fuel consumed, less emissions. Rather than what is sexy, what is best for planet etc. Hydrogen adoption was so slow until it became stillbirth liao. So don't even need to mention. If a BEV costs like 10k more, than a normal joe would rather pay 10k more in petrol vs electricity over that time. That's why govt subsidy needed to kick start everything. Anyway once the proper infrastructure is REALLY ready, then BEVs are the way to go in SG. But before then, have to wait for all the cao kuan behaviour to be flushed out. People already behave badly with ICE, going full EV, u would see all the parking lot cao kuan nonsense come out ++ Very simple things like. U reach work at 7-8am, got parking lot, u charge your EV. Then by lunch time, u are supposed to move your car out of the lot, but carpark has no more parking lot. WTH do u do? U want to spend your lunch hour looking for parking lot? This kinda f-ing basic thing, what u going to do? Edited March 7, 2024 by Lala81 2 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic March 7, 2024 Share March 7, 2024 On 3/7/2024 at 6:08 AM, Lala81 said: Ultimately adoption has to be something that makes economic sense, while increasingly being more green like less fuel consumed, less emissions. Rather than what is sexy, what is best for planet etc. Hydrogen adoption was so slow until it became stillbirth liao. So don't even need to mention. If a BEV costs like 10k more, than a normal joe would rather pay 10k more in petrol vs electricity over that time. Expand The 1st Hydrogen i heard was BMW 7 series which was launched in 2010. Until now, still hasn't been commercialised. The 1st EV i saw was Tesla Roadster Mk1 in 2010 (i think so). Tesla has 4 models in its lineup now. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Volvobrick Supersonic March 7, 2024 Share March 7, 2024 On 3/7/2024 at 6:08 AM, Lala81 said: Ultimately adoption has to be something that makes economic sense, while increasingly being more green like less fuel consumed, less emissions. Rather than what is sexy, what is best for planet etc. Hydrogen adoption was so slow until it became stillbirth liao. So don't even need to mention. If a BEV costs like 10k more, than a normal joe would rather pay 10k more in petrol vs electricity over that time. That's why govt subsidy needed to kick start everything. Anyway once the proper infrastructure is REALLY ready, then BEVs are the way to go in SG. But before then, have to wait for all the cao kuan behaviour to be flushed out. Expand "govt subsidy"? What a joke - they are charging more for road tax to "encourage" the transition.... Sticking to dead dino juice for as long as possible, since I am a very low mileage user. 1 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic March 7, 2024 Share March 7, 2024 On 3/7/2024 at 6:20 AM, Volvobrick said: "govt subsidy"? What a joke - they are charging more for road tax to "encourage" the transition.... Sticking to dead dino juice for as long as possible, since I am a very low mileage user. Expand That's because our road tax for iCE is outdated now. A250 and A45s pay the same road tax despite massive differences in hp. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kklee 6th Gear March 7, 2024 Share March 7, 2024 On 3/7/2024 at 6:08 AM, Lala81 said: Ultimately adoption has to be something that makes economic sense, while increasingly being more green like less fuel consumed, less emissions. Rather than what is sexy, what is best for planet etc. Hydrogen adoption was so slow until it became stillbirth liao. So don't even need to mention. If a BEV costs like 10k more, than a normal joe would rather pay 10k more in petrol vs electricity over that time. That's why govt subsidy needed to kick start everything. Anyway once the proper infrastructure is REALLY ready, then BEVs are the way to go in SG. But before then, have to wait for all the cao kuan behaviour to be flushed out. People already behave badly with ICE, going full EV, u would see all the parking lot cao kuan nonsense come out ++ Very simple things like. U reach work at 7-8am, got parking lot, u charge your EV. Then by lunch time, u are supposed to move your car out of the lot, but carpark has no more parking lot. WTH do u do? U want to spend your lunch hour looking for parking lot? This kinda f-ing basic thing, what u going to do? Expand IMHO. Life revolves around the EV. 🤣 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic March 7, 2024 Share March 7, 2024 On 3/7/2024 at 6:30 AM, Kklee said: IMHO. Life revolves around the EV. 🤣 Expand That's why i say other than the landed people who don't even charge at work unless it's an emergency, all the commoners will have to make accomodations in their lifestyle for using BEV. And fight with others for parking lots. 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kklee 6th Gear March 7, 2024 Share March 7, 2024 On 3/7/2024 at 6:35 AM, Lala81 said: That's why i say other than the landed people who don't even charge at work unless it's an emergency, all the commoners will have to make accomodations in their lifestyle for using BEV. And fight with others for parking lots. Expand IMHO. My workplace have available chargers and ample parking. After running thru my mind the scenarios and factors, it doesn't make sense for me. E.g. of factors range of EV frequency of charging charging logistics distance to chargers at workplace and home location of chargers at workplace weather elements ( chargers at open air ) job security etc 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Volvobrick Supersonic March 7, 2024 Share March 7, 2024 On 3/7/2024 at 6:35 AM, Lala81 said: That's why i say other than the landed people who don't even charge at work unless it's an emergency, all the commoners will have to make accomodations in their lifestyle for using BEV. And fight with others for parking lots. Expand Landed charge at only about 30 cents or so per kWh too! 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stary Turbocharged March 7, 2024 Share March 7, 2024 RM147k across the causeway. China Boleh.....! They really give everything except the kitchen sink.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic March 7, 2024 Share March 7, 2024 On 3/7/2024 at 8:06 AM, Starry said: RM147k across the causeway. China Boleh.....! They really give everything except the kitchen sink.... Expand Zero tax. Not even sales tax 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Voodooman Supersonic March 7, 2024 Share March 7, 2024 On 3/7/2024 at 3:33 AM, Lala81 said: My home and workplace don't seem ready for electric within next few years. So definitely i will get a hybrid. But on the other hand, the honda civic 2.0 eHEV sure high price in SG, so definitely bo hua to get. Expand If both your home and workplace have EV charging facilities, would you switch? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic March 7, 2024 Share March 7, 2024 On 3/7/2024 at 10:50 AM, Voodooman said: If both your home and workplace have EV charging facilities, would you switch? Expand You would need a lot of charging lots for me to be satisfied that people won't hog the EV parking lots due to charging Behaviour. Unless u say the EV charging lots are the least favorite lots of the whole block. My estate is outdoor parking and has a good portion of retirees. These people can move their cars different times of the day just to make sure it's in the shade at different times of the day. Lol. Well maybe in 2030s, I think the infrastructure will be there bah. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Voodooman Supersonic March 7, 2024 Share March 7, 2024 On 3/7/2024 at 6:24 AM, inlinesix said: That's because our road tax for iCE is outdated now. A250 and A45s pay the same road tax despite massive differences in hp. Expand The EV road tax, determined by power (kW) needs to be updated as well. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...