Electric cars

Expertz

On 1/17/2024 at 11:37 AM, Beregond said:

I think 10 years from now. 

The EV will be totally different from now

A whole new level maybe 

At the rate battery development news flow, and how fast technology advance these days, I believe less than 10 years.

Tesla is already said to be launching a new model Y with a 600km range 2nd half of 2024. Many China EVs are also releasing news of long range vehicles coming, so the day maybe nearer than we expect. But take up rate may still be unknown. [laugh][laugh][laugh]

On 1/17/2024 at 12:41 PM, Tianmo said:

At the rate battery development news flow, and how fast technology advance these days, I believe less than 10 years.

Tesla is already said to be launching a new model Y with a 600km range 2nd half of 2024. Many China EVs are also releasing news of long range vehicles coming, so the day maybe nearer than we expect. But take up rate may still be unknown. [laugh][laugh][laugh]

Survival of the fittest.

Most EV company are not making money.

It's no surprise why jap car manufacturer esp toyota is very cold toward EV.

Even China with lower cost and the most advance tech on  ev. Their company cannot make money.

It's extremely hard for jp/eu to even enter the race.

On 1/17/2024 at 12:28 PM, Vratenza said:

I suspect that in traditional ICE cars if the chasis is damaged, it may be a simple case of either pulling the chasis or cut and weld a new section to the chasis under factory specs.

the construction of Tesla might have the battery tech so integrated within the chasis that any attempt to pull or cut/weld the chasis is not practically possible.

so in Tesla case, battery and chasis is tightly integrated that any damage to either is considered total loss.

Tesla chassis and body are casted as 1 piece.

The entire piece is load bearing.

Accordingly, the body is as stiff as undercarriage.

So, it can be repaired in traditional way.

On 1/17/2024 at 12:46 PM, Beregond said:

Survival of the fittest.

Even China with lower cost and the most advance tech on  ev. Their company cannot make money.

Electricity in Japan is very expensive. That’s why it is developing Hydrogen.

Hydrogen economy Is Japanese Govt strategic direction.

It has nothing to do with profitability 

On 1/16/2024 at 4:53 PM, Beregond said:

There are many ways to prevent that.

Currently it's the over time extra charge pay.

Mean if u never shift your car when charge finish. The extra pay or fine is extremely high.

I am not worry about this at all . Most sg are very niao when it come to money. 

I am sure most will shift out their 🚗.  Or gov will keep increasing the over time charges.

never shift when still plug in can detect and add charges. just disconnect and continue to park then how to detect?

On 1/17/2024 at 1:01 PM, mersaylee said:

Pilot will be instructed to aim for free charging...😅

istock_56258826_lightningplane.webp

Plane is stroked 1000s of times during its service life

Edited by inlinesix

On 1/17/2024 at 11:52 AM, Vratenza said:

aiyah, just highlighting that there are many other considerations when it comes to when and if ever technological advancements making it down to consumer level products like mobile phones/EVs.

Have not even start talking about radiation sickness and cancers when the nuclear battery leaks .....😁

yah lah, there will always be considerations, on both sides, but do we wait for a 100% positive or we go ahead with a 70% good, make up, and try to improve along the way for the other 30%. We might never get to 100%, so one will move forward and eventually settle at 90%, the other never starts. Everything needs a calculation, and also a calculated move, otherwise we will be forever calculating and never moving. 

radiation sickness and cancers, part of the package in technology advancement, not something new.  Even without any nuclear battery leaks, most of us today will eventually die of cancer (any form of cancers), or any illness leading from the 3 highs, base on how ppl are dying these days. The rest taken care of by accidents. And for all we know, prevention of a leak might be 90%?  Let's talk about leaking when it leaks. 

Personally, what I see now is no one is going for the root cause, all trying to create something to patch up the outer layer, and then creating another layer to cover that layer created earlier. Go back to the root cause, which is industrialization and human population. The problem is no one dare to go back that far, and no one dare take the lead. [laugh][laugh][laugh]

On 1/17/2024 at 11:57 AM, inlinesix said:

In this case, chassis needs to be replaced which means a different chassis for the same VRN. Unlikely LTA will approve it.

I have been saying battery degradation is NOT the biggest worry.

Rather it is insurance claims.

This is especially Tesla which uses less parts.

It is strange that chassis was damaged despite initial assessment of $13k damage.

yah strange to me also. If chassis is damage, very unlikely battery is not touch, how did the $13k come about? [laugh][laugh][laugh]

On 1/17/2024 at 12:32 PM, ccc888 said:

Imagine a super quiet EV airplane in future?

Rather, imagine there is a small quiet battery implanted in you to run a transplanted heart and other organs for 50 years. 

Robots taking over the earth might not actually mean robots build of steel you know.  [laugh][laugh][laugh]

On 1/17/2024 at 12:46 PM, Beregond said:

Survival of the fittest.

I think BYD is the only one making money so far, even Nio is losing money so far. 

But then, China is different, the gov tap is open big big to help them, for political reasons. But even so, the market is already consolidating, and looks set to merge further. 

The EV race is not against any China EV company, its against the China CCP gov, they also know who they actually racing against lor. [:p][laugh][laugh]

On 1/17/2024 at 1:09 PM, Mkl22 said:

never shift when still plug in can detect and add charges. just disconnect and continue to park then how to detect?

Yes. That 1 cannot prevent, only can summon. 

Like now ice car park in ev charging lot.

Maybe can use cam and high fines.

On 1/17/2024 at 1:09 PM, Mkl22 said:

tires gone lor, or ah long soh on JB bike come and say halo with a ticket.  Just a phone call away you know. [:p][laugh][laugh]

On 1/17/2024 at 1:33 PM, Tianmo said:

tires gone lor, or ah long soh on JB bike come and say halo with a ticket.  Just a phone call away you know. [:p][laugh][laugh]

mai la... then have to wait even longer for him to repair and drive off. i support towing to tuas south impound yard.

On 1/17/2024 at 1:30 PM, Tianmo said:

I think BYD is the only one making money so far, even Nio is losing money so far. 

But then, China is different, the gov tap is open big big to help them, for political reasons. But even so, the market is already consolidating, and looks set to merge further. 

The EV race is not against any China EV company, its against the China CCP gov, they also know who they actually racing against lor. [:p][laugh][laugh]

Ya EV is a China national policy. It just happen the timing come together with the west toward a stop to ICE.

China got no choice but to do it. Remember 10 years ago how bad the smog in China main city is 10 years ago.

( like the recent new Delhi crazy smog)

Imagine suddenly the highest population country in the world all become middle class and buying cars. How bad the smoke will be.

Now the air in China city is much much better. ( EV is 1 of the key element for that)

On 1/17/2024 at 1:56 PM, Mkl22 said:

mai la... then have to wait even longer for him to repair and drive off. i support towing to tuas south impound yard.

its like that one lah, education takes time. 

2 years ago, there was this one new forester at my estate MSCP, always parked into the next lot, I just called HDB parking hotline. Twice, and after that he parked swee swee in the middle of the lot, maybe 2 cm allowance.  those who like to use the up ramp to come down, if meet me, i make sure they reverse all the way up the slope, after that they see me, either they cheong before me and rev away before i reached, or they let me go first. 

tow to tuas south? not so serious lah., need to play so big meh? [laugh][laugh][laugh]

On 1/17/2024 at 2:03 PM, Beregond said:

Ya EV is a China national policy. It just happen the timing come together with the west toward a stop to ICE.

China got no choice but to do it. Remember 10 years ago how bad the smog in China main city is 10 years ago.

( like the recent new Delhi crazy smog)

Imagine suddenly the highest population country in the world all become middle class and buying cars. How bad the smoke will be.

Now the air in China city is much much better. ( EV is 1 of the key element for that)

it is also about their oil reserves, and solar energy. Seriously they owe Elon Musk a big big thank you, without Tesla, there is nothing for them to copy and improve on, and no one in China might be able to come out with a solution yet. [laugh][laugh][laugh]

On 1/17/2024 at 12:28 PM, Vratenza said:

I suspect that in traditional ICE cars if the chasis is damaged, it may be a simple case of either pulling the chasis or cut and weld a new section to the chasis under factory specs.

the construction of Tesla might have the battery tech so integrated within the chasis that any attempt to pull or cut/weld the chasis is not practically possible.

so in Tesla case, battery and chasis is tightly integrated that any damage to either is considered total loss.

Also Tesla pioneered giga-casting production technique for its cars. So if the rear portion of the Model Y is damaged, it might have to change out the entire rear subframe and underfloor of the Model Y since its really one single casted piece. Cuts production time, reduces costs and weight, but when it comes to serious accident repairs jialat! 

image.thumb.png.f475c64a4136cf8a8b6824bb4c037bab.png