Electric cars

Expertz

On 9/26/2024 at 10:20 AM, Voodooman said:

I wish they will use more carrots like in HK, increasing rebate for EV instead of decreasing for Hybrids, but we know nation (read: reserve) building is in our DNA and everyone has to chip in. 😂

Just read 90% of new car sales in HK are EV vs 30% here. 

https://amp.scmp.com/business/companies/article/3274391/what-are-pros-and-cons-owning-ev-hong-kong-why-are-sales-rising

What? And robbing the reserves? 

No need for carrots. If it is that good, people will buy even at the same price as competitive technologies. 

I wish they will use more carrots like in HK, increasing rebate for EV instead of decreasing for Hybrids, but we know nation (read: reserve) building is in our DNA and everyone has to chip in. 😂

https://amp.scmp.com/business/companies/article/3274391/what-are-pros-and-cons-owning-ev-hong-kong-why-are-sales-rising

Gov also need increase road tax of ICE car to be the same as EV.

Currently, ppl will say road tax is higher than ICE car.

On 9/26/2024 at 1:47 PM, inlinesix said:

Gov also need increase road tax of ICE car to be the same as EV.

Currently, ppl will say road tax is higher than ICE car.

then I'll vote opposition in next election lor.

very simple. 

On 9/25/2024 at 10:46 AM, Voodooman said:

Me too bro. I can't bring myself to pay $100k COE, which is just a bloody tax but I can't find a reason not to buy an EV for my next ride.  

Me x3.

Paying $200k+ for car but 50% for a paper that cannot see, cannot eat..

How they handle the charging ?🤔🤔

Hk is even more squeeze then SG.

On 9/26/2024 at 2:11 PM, Tohto said:

Me x3.

Paying $200k+ for car but 50% for a paper that cannot see, cannot eat..

It's not even paper. and it's more than 50% if you add ARF and Custom Duties. You get only 20% worth of goods.

On 9/19/2024 at 7:45 PM, Voodooman said:

Nuclear is clearly an option but expensive.

Importing gas to generate electricity using 60% efficiency power plant is a lot cheaper than importing costly petrol/diesel to be burned in less efficient ICE (30-40% efficiency).  

Gas is also significantly cheaper and less carbon intensive than petrol/ diesel on net energy at the wheel output basis.

It is no brainer why energy deficient countries wants to switch to EV, it is not just about being green, it is also about saving tons of money over the long term.

The savings won't trickle down to citizens in SG, so that is not a valid concern to me :D 

On 9/26/2024 at 1:43 PM, Volvobrick said:

What? And robbing the reserves? 

No need for carrots. If it is that good, people will buy even at the same price as competitive technologies. 

What robbing? Just accumulating less to save mother earth.  😂  

On 9/21/2024 at 8:13 AM, therock said:

Good news, the VES rebate for hybrids will be reduced..

https://www.channelnewsasia.com/singapore/rebates-hybrid-car-cut-singapore-extend-ev-incentive-december-2025-lta-nea-4621086

Now you get back real money at the end and the dealers can't simply makan the rebate upfront.... 

The dealers will just mark up more to cover the rebate that they can't makan, customer still ends up paying more :D 

LPPL zero sum game :D 

On 9/26/2024 at 3:04 PM, Beregond said:

How they handle the charging ?🤔🤔

Hk is even more squeeze then SG.

It seems they mostly charge at public charging points but it appears there are enough of them. 

On 9/21/2024 at 4:27 PM, Hamburger said:

What good would it do for the most advanced EV when the charging capabilities at the source is still in dinosaurs era. Be it 7W or 11W AC.

The infrastructure is still lacking. 

What would be the typical charging speed at HDB??

17269072995142472766331738522663.thumb.jpg.57cfd748a975acdcc989cdfce65fdc5e.jpg

I suspect:

1. Grid can't handle DC charging requirements

2. They want to play it safe by reducing risks of charging fires which may burn down everything in the MSCP.

On 9/26/2024 at 3:27 PM, Voodooman said:

It seems they mostly charge at public charging points but it appears there are enough of them. 

No news of DLLM over charger? [:p][laugh][laugh]

On 9/26/2024 at 3:27 PM, Beehive3783 said:

I suspect:

1. Grid can't handle DC charging requirements

2. They want to play it safe by reducing risks of charging fires which may burn down everything in the MSCP.

Grid can't handle is a point.

Second point would be it is very costly to change the entire downstream feed from the substation. For DC Charger, it will require at least 63 A per phase. Most DB are designed to be able to handle 32 A per phase max. Cables need to be sized correctly to handle 63 A as well.

So to have DC chargers, need to change out the entire DB to use 63 A isolators, breakers and use at least 10mm2 cables. All these modification will cost at least $20k. And this is just the infrastructure to support 1 DC charger. 

simply AWESOME ... only the PRC can think of this ... :grin:

AMDK will think of BHP/NM .... lol