Electric cars

Expertz

Wuling Air EV is sold for Rp190m or SGD16k.

Charging infra worst than Sg.

IMG_0271.jpeg

IMG_0270.jpeg

On 7/26/2024 at 8:25 PM, Hamburger said:

Exactly my hesistance to buy EV. Say if I buy one with 500km range and went NSHW.

500km /2 = 250km, less another 20%= 200km

Have not reach Malaka both dian liao...gg.com

Don’t go Malaysia. Problem solved

On 7/26/2024 at 2:43 PM, Tianmo said:

I remember in one review by Tai, he said when on NSHW must be more careful with speed and adjust plan to charge. He said once above 120km/h, the battery level 排山倒海的掉 (exact term he used). 

So is can drive on NSHW, but slow down to the optimum speed.  

I still advocate PHEV, go EV in city, town and limited speed highways, go Hybrid once on speeding highways. I dont mind the higher maintenance in exchange for the EV driving experience, and peace of mind of petrol driving.   [laugh][laugh][laugh]

One of the problems of phev is that you get double the amount of things to spoil. As you need to take care of both battery/motor and ICE. Might not be cheaper in the long run. So far only toyota hybrids have been proven. 

Lol Hyundai America is being sued  by its own dealers who allege that they been incentivised to lie about Hyundai EV sales. 

The idea is to give a false impression that Hyundai EVs are catching on. 

Range is not too big of an issue. Unless you are in a Mazda mx30 EV version. How often you go Malaysia. Just charge more or fly or rent another vehicle. 
it’s all about $$ in the end. Buy 1 EV, 1 ICE, 1 PHEV. Problem solved. 
cannot afford then find ways to earn more or sell backside!

life is always about compromises. Ai phee, Ai Chee, Ai Tua Liap Ngee. Doesn’t exist!  🤣

Edited by Mkl22

On 7/27/2024 at 11:52 AM, Mkl22 said:

Range is not too big of an issue. Unless you are in a Mazda mx30 EV version. How often you go Malaysia. Just charge more or fly or rent another vehicle. 
it’s all about $$ in the end. Buy 1 EV, 1 ICE, 1 PHEV. Problem solved. 
cannot afford then find ways to earn more or sell backside!

life is always about compromises. Ai phee, Ai Chee, Ai Tua Liap Ngee. Doesn’t exist!  🤣

So far all my ev kaki go msia like nobody business . Loads of charging spots up north… no biggie but gd that such views still exist😂

On 7/27/2024 at 11:19 AM, Mkl22 said:

Don’t go Malaysia. Problem solved

Asking him not to go Malaysia is like asking him to stop eating durians. 😆

• Haha! 7

On 7/27/2024 at 12:24 PM, RadX said:

So far all my ev kaki go msia like nobody business . Loads of charging spots up north… no biggie but gd that such views still exist😂

Been there, done that. Really not much of a hassle but I won't drive an EV to KL during Singapore and Malaysia long weekends (both).  

MY EV tax incentives are super good, it should bankroll the development of more charging infrastructure along NSHW soon. 

On 7/26/2024 at 9:31 PM, Lethalstrike said:

I still of the opinion that even in 15 years time, the Singapore new car market maybe is at most 30% EVs, the rest are petrol hybrids. I don't even believe in 50% / 50% because of how unfairly EVs are being taxed here. EVs becoming the majority of the car population here I think is not realistic.  

If there are enough people who purchase EVs leading to a congestion of charging points, I'm going back to ICE 🤣

I think by 2035, that is one COE (10 years) cycle from 2025, > 70% will be EV.

Norway is 90% EV but theirs is very tax / carrot driven. We will get there with ever improving EV cost and efficiency.  By 2025, start of 10 years cycle, i expect EV will be cheaper to buy and own than ICE and hybrids.

Let's see if the price prediction will hold true.

IMG_1530.jpeg

Edited by Voodooman

On 7/27/2024 at 3:21 PM, Voodooman said:

I think by 2035, that is one COE (10 years) cycle from 2025, > 70% will be EV.

Norway is 90% EV but theirs is very tax / carrot driven. We will get there with ever improving EV cost and efficiency.  By 2025, start of 10 years cycle, i expect EV will be cheaper to buy and own than ICE and hybrids.

Let's see if the price prediction will hold true.

IMG_1530.jpeg

I really hope what you've said will turn out true. Look at how we incentivise EVs here vs Malaysia, it's really night and day. Without strong govt incentives like in China or the Nordic countries, will need to struggle a bit more. 

EEAI it's likely LTA will gradually reduce, then we still have the authorised dealers who will continue to hold on to their profits which keep prices high. It's also likely we have some of the peeps who brought into EVs now going back to ICE after experiencing both good and bad. With recent news of quite a few Euro manufacturers which have U turned on going all EV only in the near future such as BMW, MB, Audi, Porsche, that means ICE options will still be available except  its highly hybridised. Ditto the Japs who are only half hearted in EVs so they too will continue to offer and develop new ICE petrol hybrids. Even the Chinese are doing PHEVs now as well. 

But still, there is this wild card coming from Chinese brands. In the next 10 yrs likely many of the smaller Chinese EV brands will fail and disappear, and we should see a consolidation of them into just a handful of bigger and established Chinese juggernauts who will continue to push the boundaries of affordability and tech, especially in the batteries. So if it's going to be a mass market EV you're buying in 2035, it's likely going to be Chinese only. 

On 7/28/2024 at 4:37 AM, Lethalstrike said:

I really hope what you've said will turn out true. Look at how we incentivise EVs here vs Malaysia, it's really night and day. Without strong govt incentives like in China or the Nordic countries, will need to struggle a bit more. 

EEAI it's likely LTA will gradually reduce, then we still have the authorised dealers who will continue to hold on to their profits which keep prices high. It's also likely we have some of the peeps who brought into EVs now going back to ICE after experiencing both good and bad. With recent news of quite a few Euro manufacturers which have U turned on going all EV only in the near future such as BMW, MB, Audi, Porsche, that means ICE options will still be available except  its highly hybridised. Ditto the Japs who are only half hearted in EVs so they too will continue to offer and develop new ICE petrol hybrids. Even the Chinese are doing PHEVs now as well. 

But still, there is this wild card coming from Chinese brands. In the next 10 yrs likely many of the smaller Chinese EV brands will fail and disappear, and we should see a consolidation of them into just a handful of bigger and established Chinese juggernauts who will continue to push the boundaries of affordability and tech, especially in the batteries. So if it's going to be a mass market EV you're buying in 2035, it's likely going to be Chinese only. 

Aiyah by that time maybe I will be part of a battery liao

image.png

On 7/28/2024 at 5:26 AM, RadX said:

image.png

I think organic contents will be discarded at the mining site leh. Lol... 

On 7/28/2024 at 5:26 AM, RadX said:

image.png

Sibeh howlian...you must have THE iron in you...😁

On 8/2/2024 at 12:39 PM, Lala81 said:

Li Auto's July deliveries hit record as China's EV buyers prefer hybrids

https://www.cnbc.com/2024/08/02/li-autos-july-deliveries-hit-record-as-chinas-ev-buyers-prefer-hybrids.html?__source=androidappshare

Li auto hybrids almost selling the same as Tesla.

Byd also selling more phev than Bev. 

It is just the beginning of the real battle. Tesla stocks, if floating profit, maybe it's time to realize them. [laugh][laugh][laugh]