Tianmo Hypersonic July 26 Share July 26 On 7/26/2024 at 3:28 PM, 13177 said: So far i have never sit in a EV car, don't know if i will get car sick or not. Lol. You stand, squat and lay flat ah? ↡ Advertisement 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Supersonic July 26 Share July 26 (edited) On 7/26/2024 at 2:41 PM, Lethalstrike said: Can whack the EV on NSHW. But you will see a huge drop in efficiency and estimated range left if you do sustained high speed runs. 😆 Every EV has its cruising speed sweet spot subjected to a combination factors such as aerodynamics, motor efficiency, software optimisation bla bla For mine if i maintain 150 km/h it's quite bad efficiency, need to auto cruise it at 110 km/h. My previous ICE 2.0L turbo 150 km/h no sweat at all. 😅 ICE 2.0L turbo shiok ... when driving on NSHW ... one don't constant 140 160 180 or 200 you rev up ... brake ... slow down when they are hogger then rev up again ... vroom vroom ... maintain high speed .... slow down abit reaching corner ... road damn straight no car ... rev up again ... like that kind of revving .... EV ... battery sure degrade 3x faster than normal range ... muaaahahahha not sure can reach Melaka city centre ... LOL for ICE turbo ... more revving more smooth ... song song can reach KL city centre Edited July 26 by Wt_know 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lethalstrike Turbocharged July 26 Share July 26 On 7/26/2024 at 3:45 PM, Wt_know said: ICE 2.0L turbo shiok ... when driving on NSHW ... one don't constant 140 160 180 or 200 you rev up ... brake ... slow down when they are hogger then rev up again ... vroom vroom ... maintain high speed .... slow down abit reaching corner ... road damn straight no car ... rev up again ... like that kind of revving .... EV ... battery sure degrade 3x faster than normal range ... muaaahahahha not sure can reach Melaka city centre ... LOL for ICE turbo ... more revving more smooth ... song song can reach KL city centre Yes there is some truth in the appeal of ICE especially for NSH runs 🤣 You don't actually degrade the battery if you whack the electric motor hard. Degradation got more to do with the number of charging cycles. Another thing about EVs is that most have a very limited top speed at 160-180km/h. Some even less. Not very song on an empty NSHW. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Supersonic July 26 Share July 26 (edited) On 7/26/2024 at 4:44 PM, Lethalstrike said: Yes there is some truth in the appeal of ICE especially for NSH runs 🤣 You don't actually degrade the battery if you whack the electric motor hard. Degradation got more to do with the number of charging cycles. Another thing about EVs is that most have a very limited top speed at 160-180km/h. Some even less. Not very song on an empty NSHW. sorry, degrade is not a right word just like Android phone ... the battery don't last long as per what stated in the specs even after a full charge and for iPhone ... you open app, close app, more often the battery also don't last long that's what i mean ... battery last long when the "use" is in constant mode .... while driving ... rev up, brake slowly, brake hard, cruising, sudden rev up to overtake, blasting aircon, blasting audio, charging mobile device, etc so much energy loss ... Edited July 26 by Wt_know Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Unfazed 6th Gear July 26 Share July 26 (edited) On 7/26/2024 at 2:41 PM, Lethalstrike said: Can whack the EV on NSHW. But you will see a huge drop in efficiency and estimated range left if you do sustained high speed runs. 😆 Every EV has its cruising speed sweet spot subjected to a combination factors such as aerodynamics, motor efficiency, software optimisation bla bla For mine if i maintain 150 km/h it's quite bad efficiency, need to auto cruise it at 110 km/h. My previous ICE 2.0L turbo 150 km/h no sweat at all. 😅 Jialat...like that how I'm gonna drive EV leh? My smelly lau ya chia also cruise at only 130kmph on nshw. Tank almost empty also no scared. People see my small car at kiosk also smile at me cos in about 10 mins, my small tank is full. They don't have to wait for me to shake my car to fill last drop. 😉 Edited July 26 by Unfazed 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Unfazed 6th Gear July 26 Share July 26 On 7/26/2024 at 3:18 PM, Tianmo said: sometimes we really dont know until we jump it, or someone is willing to share the actual thing. In the video i posted, there is one thing which caught my attention, "Tesla cause car sickness"? is that the reason we are seeing more PRC EVs coming with lesser regen? Many newer EVs has 3 levels, and some even has close to zero regen feel on level one. Wei lai claim he throw up all 3 times when he was driven in a Tesla, and Tai admitted that his young children vomited when they were ferried in his Tesla. This sudden braking effect of the regen by EVs, few spoke about it, but seem like not a make up thing. One serious point to consider if we are not driving alone most of the time. This one no joke. The video you shared was very insightful and thank you! I seldom watched through a YouTube video this long and I wasn't bored at it. I quite like Malaysia car topics as we are near geographically plus they have more terrains that really can bring the test out of the cars they are testing. It ponders me why no Tesla owners provided this car sick feedback since we have quite a number of them. I see Tesla every day so our numbers should be quite substantial. I also see Tesla drivers very atas looking too. Creme de la creme machiam 😉 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic July 26 Share July 26 On 7/26/2024 at 3:49 PM, Wt_know said: sorry, degrade is not a right word just like Android phone ... the battery don't last long as per what stated in the specs even after a full charge and for iPhone ... you open app, close app, more often the battery also don't last long that's what i mean ... battery last long when the "use" is in constant mode .... while driving ... rev up, brake slowly, brake hard, cruising, sudden rev up to overtake, blasting aircon, blasting audio, charging mobile device, etc so much energy loss ... Brake slowly, Brake hard is recuperating energy. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Supersonic July 26 Share July 26 (edited) On 7/26/2024 at 5:10 PM, inlinesix said: Brake slowly, Brake hard is recuperating energy. i know ... but still ... EV ... mai wa mai ... lol Edited July 26 by Wt_know Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lethalstrike Turbocharged July 26 Share July 26 On 7/26/2024 at 4:49 PM, Wt_know said: sorry, degrade is not a right word just like Android phone ... the battery don't last long as per what stated in the specs even after a full charge and for iPhone ... you open app, close app, more often the battery also don't last long that's what i mean ... battery last long when the "use" is in constant mode .... while driving ... rev up, brake slowly, brake hard, cruising, sudden rev up to overtake, blasting aircon, blasting audio, charging mobile device, etc so much energy loss ... Probably that's electric consumption which you're referring to. EV is the same thing as ICE. You accelerate hard and then brake hard the consumption will spike up also. Battery last long or not we this kind of private owner probably won't hit that kind of mileage to know. Need to ask someone who buys an EV to do PHV 🤣 3 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic July 26 Share July 26 KNN, I wonder if now gov say buy EV, COE pay half, and EV car itself base price $20k, max price cannot sell above $50k, would ppl rush in to buy or still this no good that cannot? Just like wei Lai said, gao he going to close down, so clearing stock, and suddenly, 因为它便宜之后就毫无缺点, everybody say can buy, so cheap, at most drive 2-3 years throw away. So I think all this short coming is all because not cheap enough, if EV cheap enough,suddenly will become the best liao. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic July 26 Share July 26 On 7/26/2024 at 8:02 PM, Tianmo said: KNN, I wonder if now gov say buy EV, COE pay half, and EV car itself base price $20k, max price cannot sell above $50k, would ppl rush in to buy or still this no good that cannot? Just like wei Lai said, gao he going to close down, so clearing stock, and suddenly, 因为它便宜之后就毫无缺点, everybody say can buy, so cheap, at most drive 2-3 years throw away. So I think all this short coming is all because not cheap enough, if EV cheap enough,suddenly will become the best liao. I'm not under any illusions. Coe decides everything. EV is best if 1. Enough charging points (slow and fast to fit both ways). 2. Tesla and the Chinese ev makers add bloody buttons. 3. There is potentially a 3rd party repair method beyond relying on the AD (but think that's hard as EV mostly will have software and manufacturing defects. No servicing beyond tyres. And battery expertise is probably beyond workshop mechanics skills). 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic July 26 Share July 26 Exactly my hesistance to buy EV. Say if I buy one with 500km range and went NSHW. 500km /2 = 250km, less another 20%= 200km Have not reach Malaka both dian liao...gg.com 1 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic July 26 Share July 26 On 7/26/2024 at 8:25 PM, Hamburger said: Exactly my hesistance to buy EV. Say if I buy one with 500km range and went NSHW. 500km /2 = 250km, less another 20%= 200km Have not reach Malaka both dian liao...gg.com Range anxiety. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lethalstrike Turbocharged July 26 Share July 26 On 7/26/2024 at 8:02 PM, Tianmo said: KNN, I wonder if now gov say buy EV, COE pay half, and EV car itself base price $20k, max price cannot sell above $50k, would ppl rush in to buy or still this no good that cannot? Just like wei Lai said, gao he going to close down, so clearing stock, and suddenly, 因为它便宜之后就毫无缺点, everybody say can buy, so cheap, at most drive 2-3 years throw away. So I think all this short coming is all because not cheap enough, if EV cheap enough,suddenly will become the best liao. I still of the opinion that even in 15 years time, the Singapore new car market maybe is at most 30% EVs, the rest are petrol hybrids. I don't even believe in 50% / 50% because of how unfairly EVs are being taxed here. EVs becoming the majority of the car population here I think is not realistic. If there are enough people who purchase EVs leading to a congestion of charging points, I'm going back to ICE 🤣 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic July 26 Share July 26 (edited) On 7/26/2024 at 8:14 PM, Lala81 said: I'm not under any illusions. Coe decides everything. EV is best if 1. Enough charging points (slow and fast to fit both ways). 2. Tesla and the Chinese ev makers add bloody buttons. 3. There is potentially a 3rd party repair method beyond relying on the AD (but think that's hard as EV mostly will have software and manufacturing defects. No servicing beyond tyres. And battery expertise is probably beyond workshop mechanics skills). As far as enough chargers go, I think the north and north east are the lagging ones, west I think is the best at the moment, follow by south and east. But they will get covered soon for sure. As for buttons, I think can forget about Tesla, unlikely will happen. But other then the Chinese, I think other EV makers took the feedback and seem like more EVs are coming out with some buttons. I think skoda and Nissan both have buttons on their EVs. Otherwise like what wei Lai mentioned, they need a very strong and accurate voice command, like he could do everything in his SU7 via voice command. The mass EV market is consider young, so 3rd party WS I think still got some way to go. That's why I still say, EV, if really want to try, buy the most value for money (aka cheapest possible), drive and scrape, no need think or worry too much other stuffs. Edited July 26 by Tianmo 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic July 26 Share July 26 On 7/26/2024 at 8:25 PM, Hamburger said: Exactly my hesistance to buy EV. Say if I buy one with 500km range and went NSHW. 500km /2 = 250km, less another 20%= 200km Have not reach Malaka both dian liao...gg.com You this type, suka suka want go KL jiak dimsum and loot along NSHW one, I can only tell you I can pick you up from JB WS and send you home, but I cannot bring a generator to help you charge along NSHW hor. 三思三思. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic July 26 Share July 26 On 7/26/2024 at 9:31 PM, Lethalstrike said: I still of the opinion that even in 15 years time, the Singapore new car market maybe is at most 30% EVs, the rest are petrol hybrids. I don't even believe in 50% / 50% because of how unfairly EVs are being taxed here. EVs becoming the majority of the car population here I think is not realistic. If there are enough people who purchase EVs leading to a congestion of charging points, I'm going back to ICE 🤣 I also don't think so, many place giving tax free also didn't fly off, here is tax as usual how to move, but with so many 7kw and 11 kw AC charging installed, I think they might swing to PHEV instead. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic July 26 Share July 26 By 2030, maybe govt promoting hydrogen cars liao. 🤣 ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...