Lala81 Hypersonic April 17 Share April 17 (edited) On 4/17/2024 at 4:10 PM, 13177 said: Nowadays quite common to see another car tying to overtake and squeeze past a reversing car. I really wonder what is wrong in those people brain. Why these people so impatient and so stupid to go past a car wanting to park the car in a tight carpark? What flying road debris so damaging until it could totaled the front bumper and grill siah? HDB carpark. It's cos that part is the entrance to a cul-de-sac, so she turned left in and immediately wanted to park at the empty lots near the entrance. My wife didn't put hazard light. she just stopped in the middle without blocking the whole road and tried to reverse park. doing a 90 degree turn. The young woman turned in from the opposite direction at the same time she's putting car into reverse etc and tried to go past what is obviously a car going to start reverse parking (she's not the main driver, it's her brother's car). I told my wife, could have been totally avoided if u had blocked the whole road instead of trying to reverse park like u do in driving school. Actually the whole carpark not many cars. so that's why the woman can try to go past even though my wife was somewhat central. what to do. pay the other party somewhere close to 500 for pte settlement. Edited April 17 by Lala81 ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic April 17 Share April 17 On 4/17/2024 at 3:59 PM, Lala81 said: yup. after my Elantra's front bumper and grill got totaled by the flying road debris, i saved about 50% just by using OEM bumper and grill. which my wife few months later sorta destroyed when she reversed without looking and scraped another woman driver who had the uncommon sense to try to go past a reversing car. 😅 why must pay? 50-50. i would submit claims also Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic April 17 Share April 17 On 4/17/2024 at 4:18 PM, Lala81 said: HDB carpark. It's cos that part is the entrance to a cul-de-sac, so she turned left in and immediately wanted to park at the empty lots near the entrance. My wife didn't put hazard light. she just stopped in the middle without blocking the whole road and tried to reverse park. doing a 90 degree turn. The young woman turned in from the opposite direction at the same time she's putting car into reverse etc and tried to go past what is obviously a car going to start reverse parking (she's not the main driver, it's her brother's car). I told my wife, could have been totally avoided if u had blocked the whole road instead of trying to reverse park like u do in driving school. Actually the whole carpark not many cars. so that's why the woman can try to go past even though my wife was somewhat central. what to do. pay the other party somewhere close to 500 for pte settlement. I know sure to have such people like to drive past a car wanting to park in a carpark, no matter under what situation, when i see a car following behind me when entered the carpark, i would look at the rear mirror to see if the car is going fast or follow too closely, i would let the car go past me before i turn my car fully then reserve. This is how i avoid such accident to happen. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
t0y0ta Supercharged April 17 Share April 17 On 4/17/2024 at 4:18 PM, Lala81 said: HDB carpark. It's cos that part is the entrance to a cul-de-sac, so she turned left in and immediately wanted to park at the empty lots near the entrance. My wife didn't put hazard light. she just stopped in the middle without blocking the whole road and tried to reverse park. doing a 90 degree turn. The young woman turned in from the opposite direction at the same time she's putting car into reverse etc and tried to go past what is obviously a car going to start reverse parking (she's not the main driver, it's her brother's car). I told my wife, could have been totally avoided if u had blocked the whole road instead of trying to reverse park like u do in driving school. Actually the whole carpark not many cars. so that's why the woman can try to go past even though my wife was somewhat central. what to do. pay the other party somewhere close to 500 for pte settlement. Yah sometimes defensive driving means preventing other drivers from even having the chance to do something funny in tight situations 6 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stratovarius Turbocharged April 17 Share April 17 On 4/17/2024 at 4:10 PM, 13177 said: Nowadays quite common to see another car tying to overtake and squeeze past a reversing car. I really wonder what is wrong in those people brain. Why these people so impatient and so stupid to go past a car wanting to park the car in a tight carpark? What flying road debris so damaging until it could totaled the front bumper and grill siah? Coz some idiots like to in-out the lot many times to show case their parking skills. If I need to reposition my car after reverse in the lot, I let the car behind to pass through before I drive out again. 3 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic April 17 Share April 17 (edited) On 4/17/2024 at 4:29 PM, Mkl22 said: why must pay? 50-50. i would submit claims also No lah. It's 100 percent her fault. Reverse never check. She just assumed no car behind her. Sure full liability. The other girl is just inexperienced. Edited April 17 by Lala81 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Volvobrick Supersonic April 17 Share April 17 On 4/17/2024 at 5:40 PM, Lala81 said: No lah. It's 100 percent her fault. Reverse never check. She just assumed no car behind her. Sure full liability. The other girl is just inexperienced. Careless + inexperienced + women..... No escape from accidents! 7 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Knighthunter 4th Gear April 17 Share April 17 Tested EQE 300 since so tempted go EV, nice car acceleration is better than my W213 E200 fully equipped but can't agree on the price so didn't close the deal. Walk back to car park drive my W213 E200 I got sudden feeling how nimble my my W213 compared to EQE. I think 1 ton weight different makes a lot different in handling and steering, so now not so tempted to get EV. May be next car will consider Hybrid or stick with ICE W214 in 1-2 years 10 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator April 17 Share April 17 On 4/17/2024 at 7:37 PM, Knighthunter said: Tested EQE 300 since so tempted go EV, nice car acceleration is better than my W213 E200 fully equipped but can't agree on the price so didn't close the deal. Walk back to car park drive my W213 E200 I got sudden feeling how nimble my my W213 compared to EQE. I think 1 ton weight different makes a lot different in handling and steering, so now not so tempted to get EV. May be next car will consider Hybrid or stick with ICE W214 in 1-2 years Agree its too comfy and not my cup of tea that’s why I went i4 maybe i5 next 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic April 17 Share April 17 On 4/17/2024 at 4:51 PM, Stratovarius said: Coz some idiots like to in-out the lot many times to show case their parking skills. If I need to reposition my car after reverse in the lot, I let the car behind to pass through before I drive out again. Most of the time those idiots who in-out the lot many times would not let the car behind to pass through and let the whole world wait for them. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic April 17 Share April 17 On 4/17/2024 at 5:40 PM, Lala81 said: No lah. It's 100 percent her fault. Reverse never check. She just assumed no car behind her. Sure full liability. The other girl is just inexperienced. Reverse never check very dangerous, this apply to men and women. If reverse into a living thing, how? Thought got reverse camera, she no see also? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic April 17 Share April 17 On 4/17/2024 at 9:09 PM, 13177 said: Reverse never check very dangerous, this apply to men and women. If reverse into a living thing, how? Thought got reverse camera, she no see also? Because the other car is trying to go past. So already partly in her blind spot. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vratenza Supersonic April 18 Share April 18 On 4/18/2024 at 7:42 AM, Lala81 said: Because the other car is trying to go past. So already partly in her blind spot. Assumption is a very powerful and devastating... especially in ladies.... they usually just check clear once and then just go....so no such thing as anticipation of potential dangers in the blind spot as she reverses. I know how it feels..... most times I also have to agree with my wife that it is the pillar's fault or the kerb's fault or the other driver's fault.... Happy wife happy life.😅 10 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Voodooman Supersonic April 18 Share April 18 (edited) On 4/17/2024 at 6:04 PM, Volvobrick said: Careless + inexperienced + women..... No escape from accidents! Sibei sexist. Lol Still cannot understand why my wife pays less for her insurance than me although her situational/ spatial awareness is generally not great, like most women. 😂 Edited April 18 by Voodooman 6 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic April 18 Share April 18 On 4/18/2024 at 8:37 AM, Vratenza said: Assumption is a very powerful and devastating... especially in ladies.... they usually just check clear once and then just go....so no such thing as anticipation of potential dangers in the blind spot as she reverses. I know how it feels..... most times I also have to agree with my wife that it is the pillar's fault or the kerb's fault or the other driver's fault.... Happy wife happy life.😅 It's been a long while i been caught unawares. last week was turning left out of the carpark for school run. i already checked oncoming traffic and turned out within 2 seconds, but suddenly see a white mpv like very close by. Had to e-brake. Really cannot fathom why i cannot see as there's a hump/pedestrian crossing just uproad, so everyone has to slow down. My wife says she had the same experience with white cars also. 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic April 18 Share April 18 On 4/17/2024 at 3:10 PM, inlinesix said: Van @ 70km/h is waste of time. Everytime I do a return trip from Kitchener Road to Tuas South is 90mins (minimum) You can always go to lane 1 once a while mar ..... Many have done it, even lorries... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic April 18 Share April 18 On 4/18/2024 at 10:08 AM, Lala81 said: It's been a long while i been caught unawares. last week was turning left out of the carpark for school run. i already checked oncoming traffic and turned out within 2 seconds, but suddenly see a white mpv like very close by. Had to e-brake. Really cannot fathom why i cannot see as there's a hump/pedestrian crossing just uproad, so everyone has to slow down. My wife says she had the same experience with white cars also. Means you have problem seeing white cars?! 😅 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic April 18 Share April 18 On 4/17/2024 at 7:43 PM, RadX said: Agree its too comfy and not my cup of tea that’s why I went i4 maybe i5 next Hao Lian ..... Hinting people you changing car every 18 months. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...