Electric cars

Expertz

On 3/8/2024 at 6:10 PM, Voodooman said:

My condo engaged SP Mobility and they will be installing a few 22kW chargers. Most vendor are proposing 22kW chargers or a mix of 7kW and 22kW chargers.

7kW AC chargers appears to be more prevalent in HDB MSCP with fast DC chargers at neighborhood and town center locations. 

I heard 7kW AC charger costs around $2k each while 22kW DC charger is around $15-20k each. 

I rather install 8-10 7kwh than a 22kwh. Should be a 4:1 mix. And if you price the 7kwh cheaper many will just slowly charge. Healthier for the batt long term too. 

On 3/9/2024 at 11:10 PM, Lala81 said:

This argument about EV tyres not going to wear our significantly faster is pretty in substantial. 

An atto 3 is 1800+kg. A normal crossover of that size would be usually 1300-1400+ kg. Top size would be a X1 at around 1500kg. 

A I4 is 2.2 tons. A BMW 4 series is 1.8 tons. That 300+ to 400kg difference is pretty consistent throughout any car with a decent size battery pack. 

Friction is friction. Kinetic energy (influenced by higher mass) will incur more friction. 

Giving credit to Teslas, they do better in this and hence their better efficiency. 1.8+ for the model 3 and around 2 tons for the Y. 

A Seal is 300 to 400kg heavier. But a regular BMW 3 series was just 1.5+ tons, maybe 1.6 if u add in the heaviest engine. 

I worry about the older mscp due to weight. Most of the ev are 2ton average now. 

On 3/10/2024 at 8:01 AM, Mkl22 said:

I rather install 8-10 7kwh than a 22kwh. Should be a 4:1 mix. And if you price the 7kwh cheaper many will just slowly charge. Healthier for the batt long term too. 

Agreed. Over 3-4 hrs should be able to last few days for 

I'm for mostly overnight slow AC charging. Than a few fast DC chargers to serve as adhoc pumps.  the PHVs, cabs and rental cars still need to "pump" gao gao to maximize their utilization rates. 

On 3/7/2024 at 12:56 PM, inlinesix said:

Mild Hybrid rather than Hybrid.  Right?

Oops yes .. it’s not a plug in hybrid

i also just found out a Corolla is also asking for an arm and a leg prices .. I am very out of touch with the crazy cost 

no fault of everyone as it’s supply n demand and there’s no data to suggest otherwise other then a preception viewpoint

either way .. the fun of lots of instantaneous torque on demand is hard to beat for EV .. 

Edited by Sdf4786k

On 3/9/2024 at 4:49 PM, Beregond said:

I seriously dun know how bad EV wear tyres, but it cannot worst then Eclass or 5 series level or even C class level?? compare to a tesla or seal.

I wont said EV save money , but if the concern is the high road tax , i think end of the day , it will balance off 

The high road tax and low ARF (due to the rebates) will be offset by the low servicing costs (if any) and petrol costs. 

Nett nett zero savings in $$$ one lah. So long it's a private car here, you can be sure the govt won't give it to you cheap 😁

On 3/10/2024 at 9:16 AM, Sdf4786k said:

Oops yes .. it’s not a plug in hybrid

i also just found out a Corolla is also asking for an arm and a leg prices .. I am very out of touch with the crazy cost 

no fault of everyone as it’s supply n demand and there’s no data to suggest otherwise other then a preception viewpoint

either way .. the fun of lots of instantaneous torque on demand is hard to beat for EV .. 

In singapore's context, the supply and demand of COE (determining the bulk of the car cost) is seriously warped.... I say is by leasing companies but of course the people in control says there is no evidence or data tosupport so. 

After a while, instant torque becomes just a background feature of driving and you start to look for other driving engagement if you are a keen driver. 

On 3/10/2024 at 10:12 AM, Vratenza said:

In singapore's context, the supply and demand of COE (determining the bulk of the car cost) is seriously warped.... I say is by leasing companies but of course the people in control says there is no evidence or data tosupport so. 

After a while, instant torque becomes just a background feature of driving and you start to look for other driving engagement if you are a keen driver. 

Yeah .. now waiting for after market coil over and availability of drop links n thicker anti roll bar n of course the usual after market rims and tyres

On 3/10/2024 at 10:12 AM, Vratenza said:

Maybe registered under ah beng trading pte Ltd, hence cannot trace it is a leasing company. 🤣

On 3/10/2024 at 12:10 PM, Mkl22 said:

Maybe registered under ah beng trading pte Ltd, hence cannot trace it is a leasing company. 🤣

As far as i can assess the CS who supposedly tasked to gather the data.... Their search filter list probably will simply include "leasing" or "rental" in the pte ltd used to register the vebicles.... How many of the leasing companies have "leasing" or "rental" in their registered company name? 

On 3/10/2024 at 8:01 AM, Mkl22 said:

Not sure how the decision was made but i presume it won't be difficult to add 7kW chargers later on when demand is strong.   I would prefer to have a mix of 7, 22 and 50 actually.

Happy to avoid petrol ksiok run once a week, so popping by car park to move the car once a week is totally fine with me. Likely will charge at work if i jump on EV bandwagon. 

Edited by Voodooman

electric car price nose-diving ....

when BYD throw price, Tesla has to follow ...

when Tesla throw price ... all German electric car made have to show hand liao ...

not good news for consumer meh ... why crying :grin:

On 3/10/2024 at 6:37 PM, Wt_know said:

electric car price nose-diving ....

when BYD throw price, Tesla has to follow ...

when Tesla throw price ... all German electric car made have to show hand liao ...

not good news for consumer meh ... why crying :grin:

So far no le😂😂😂

58364a0b-f688-4e62-9de7-153b188d4e68.jpeg

There's 27% tariff on China goods to USA, so can't sell there.

There's 9% tariff on China to Europe, so still can mian qiang sell there. 

The chief beneficiary of MIC EV hopefully will be SG (if the bloody COE starts to trend downwards). 

On 3/11/2024 at 10:57 AM, Beanoyip said:

Talking abt EV tyres, anyone changed their OEM to normal tyres instead?

Company van just use the cheapest prc tyres only. I dun find any different seriously. 

As for car. Not sure any bro here even reach the mileage to change tyre.

My friend Tesla change to Michelin.  

My neighbour byd. I try to bio when he will change tyre😂😂😂

On 3/10/2024 at 7:56 PM, Lala81 said:

There's 27% tariff on China goods to USA, so can't sell there.

There's 9% tariff on China to Europe, so still can mian qiang sell there. 

The chief beneficiary of MIC EV hopefully will be SG (if the bloody COE starts to trend downwards). 

SG? My guess is more likely to be MY. [laugh][laugh][laugh]

On 3/9/2024 at 11:10 PM, Lala81 said:

This argument about EV tyres not going to wear our significantly faster is pretty in substantial. 

An atto 3 is 1800+kg. A normal crossover of that size would be usually 1300-1400+ kg. Top size would be a X1 at around 1500kg. 

A I4 is 2.2 tons. A BMW 4 series is 1.8 tons. That 300+ to 400kg difference is pretty consistent throughout any car with a decent size battery pack. 

Friction is friction. Kinetic energy (influenced by higher mass) will incur more friction. 

Giving credit to Teslas, they do better in this and hence their better efficiency. 1.8+ for the model 3 and around 2 tons for the Y. 

A Seal is 300 to 400kg heavier. But a regular BMW 3 series was just 1.5+ tons, maybe 1.6 if u add in the heaviest engine. 

I think there are other factors to consider when it comes to tyre wear.

Weight is of course 1 main factor. Size of the wheels, loading index of the tyres, and material compound in that tyre used sld be taken into consideration also. 

I gathered these information below from sgcarmart, so assuming at point of post, such details are correct. 

The lightest atto3 is a little less than 1.8 tons, fitted with 18" stock wheels. 

the x1 is a little less than 1.6 tons, also fitted with 18" stock wheels.

CRV is a 1.6 tons, and fitted with 17" stock wheels

Kodiaq is a little less than 1.7 tons, fitted with 19" stock wheels.

among them, the atto3 has the highest torque, while the rest are quite similar. So assuming they are all fitted with the same tyres, with the same loading index and material compound, would the X1 and kodiaq do better than the atto 3 in term of tyre wear? I think even the CRV will do better with the 17" wheels since it is the lightest among them. 

lets say we change the wheels of the atto3 to 19", would it bring the comparison closer? It would probably still wear out faster than the rest if the right foot floors from stand still every time since it has the highest torque, but will the damage gap close in? 

In the case of the i4 vs a 4 series, the different is close to 500kg, but the i4 is fitted with 19" while the 4 series 18", and the i4 alot more powerful with 100NM more of torque. Given all thing equal, will a 20" wheels do better for the i4? 

Lets look at the seal performance against the M3, and maybe add a camry just for comparison.  There is a different of close to 400kg, but the seal is 19" while the M3 is 18", would they wear off about the same time? or maybe the seal just a little faster? The Carmy is only 1.6tons with a 18" wheel, and weakest among them. Will the tyres of both the seal and M3 wear off a lot faster than the camry? Logically I have to say yes. 

I am not for or against it, I keep seeing ppl saying EV tyres wear off faster, but i dont see it compare against who, what and how? 

From my personal experience, I have driven 1.6L cars with 15" wheels, 2L cars with 16" wheels and 1L turo cars with 17" wheels. Also driven CNG car with a 100kg extra tank in the boot, and their tyre wears are different. 

I mean yes, there is a theory, but how do we justified a theory without a lab test  with all other factors involve? We cant just say its all in an ideal situation mah. [laugh][laugh][laugh]