math, if it were petrol , would have cost me $550zzz .. ccb pap again

but my cost was only $180 for the whole month

ya… she sees less

of carpark now😂😂

IMG_2884.jpeg

On 3/8/2024 at 7:26 PM, Voodooman said:

There were a few bids and the contract was awarded to SP.  Guess can't go wrong with biggest guy who will own the largest network here.  My workplace also SP. 😃

Interesting 

mine is Chargeco..

but I think SP capture the west side liao u see most of the A star institute all SP incl nuh , nus

On 3/8/2024 at 7:16 PM, Vratenza said:

Yups... Promote EV adoption? My toes are laughing.... 

It is all about making sure they can recoup what they no longer earn from petrol duties. Period. 

ICE car road tax outdated.

How can A250 and A45s pay the same road tax?

On 3/8/2024 at 7:22 PM, RadX said:

Effing lip svc

msia is free road tax ?

Free road tax

Zero tax (including sales Tax)

On 3/8/2024 at 7:06 PM, prinjal7cc said:

The roadblock for EV adoption by the mainstream buyer that lives in a hdb will be the charging options. With only 2-4 lots for charging at AC and thus taking up the charger overnight, it will not be sufficient for even 10% carpark capacity being EV. The argument of having more and more lots for charging sounds good but is an expensive one considering the adoption numbers and utilisation rate not being able to substantiate more chargers for every carpark.

Instead, it would be good if they consider using DC chargers which would charge faster and coupled with idle fees, would dissuade residents from charging overnight and giving others the chance to charge as well.

$2-3k per 7kW charger, if there is demand, i am pretty sure SP and others will smell the profit and act.  

7kW x 7 hours x 30 cts/ kWh margin x 365 days = $5.3k

Pretty good ROI.

On 3/8/2024 at 7:54 PM, inlinesix said:

ICE car road tax outdated.

How can A250 and A45s pay the same road tax?

Why not? Porky Cayman 2.0 also pay same road tax as A45s.

Last time RX8 was paying registered with Cat A (before they intro the power clause) and a road tax of a 1.3l.... 

So that comes back to the question, what is the purpose of road tax? If it is another form of luxury tax, just be up front about it.... Then just structure it by PARF. 

If it is meant as pollution tax, than structure it by Co 2 emissions. 

On 3/8/2024 at 8:08 PM, Vratenza said:

Last time RX8 was paying registered with Cat A (before they intro the power clause) and a road tax of a 1.3l.... 

So that comes back to the question, what is the purpose of road tax? If it is another form of luxury tax, just be up front about it.... Then just structure it by PARF. 

The inclusion of power cap for COE is to address ppl complaint on the CAT A Merc/BMW.

Road tax has been there for donkey years. Nobody really knows what is its purpose.

Both EV and ICE car road tax should be aligned to address ppl concerns of lip service.

On 3/8/2024 at 8:08 PM, Vratenza said:

Seal single motor - $2,264/yr

Seal Dual Motor = $5,588 /yr

What luxury? What emission?  😂😂😂

On 3/8/2024 at 8:36 PM, Voodooman said:

Cb how come my i4 single is $3299zzzz Nbz😂

On 3/8/2024 at 8:37 PM, RadX said:

Cb how come my i4 single is $3299zzzz Nbz😂

BavariCUM is more $expensive mah...more ommph...😁

OIP.jpg

OIP (2).jpg

On 3/8/2024 at 8:36 PM, Voodooman said:

All cars should be taxed based on hp🤭

On 3/8/2024 at 9:33 PM, inlinesix said:

All cars should be taxed based on hp🤭

Don't quite agree.

I can understand taxing based on cc of engine.

I can understand taxing based on OMV.

I can understand taxing based on emission.

I can understand taxing based on size (occupying more road space since it is road tax).

But hp?  Why penalize technology?  

On 3/8/2024 at 8:21 PM, inlinesix said:

The inclusion of power cap for COE is to address ppl complaint on the CAT A Merc/BMW.

Road tax has been there for donkey years. Nobody really knows what is its purpose.

Both EV and ICE car road tax should be aligned to address ppl concerns of lip service.

Road tax is a wealth tax lah...

When things were simpler back in my parents generation, all cars are NA, bigger the CC means bigger the HP and bigger the car, the more expensive the car. Commoners like my dad will be buying Cat A b&b cars like 1.5l nissan sunny, 1.5-1.6l toyota corollas, 1.6l mitsibishi Lancer, 1.5L honda civics... 

The prudent towkays will go one up getting Cat B 2.0-2.5L camry, 2.0-2.5L V6 cefiros, 2.0-2.5L accords

The more attas towkays will be rolling around in contis where engines less 6 cyl and less than 3L are unheard of. 

When technology advances, turbo charging, multi injection, VVTL, engines gets more efficient producing more power for the same size...emission also improve... To the extent that when environmental concerns raises, contis started to pack smaller capacity and more efficient TC engines into their large bodied cars.... Volvos S80 T2, Merc E180, BMW 520i... Then comes the hybrids.

All these advances are still manageable for LTA with quick fix like Cat A power cap and hybrid road tax claculations. 

With BEVs, LTA is still trying to tax the wealth of the car owners who can afford powerful fast BEVs despite no logical reason besides trying to recoup their petro duties and making it more painful for people to own fun cars. 

On 3/8/2024 at 6:10 PM, Voodooman said:

My condo engaged SP Mobility and they will be installing a few 22kW chargers. Most vendor are proposing 22kW chargers or a mix of 7kW and 22kW chargers.

7kW AC chargers appears to be more prevalent in HDB MSCP with fast DC chargers at neighborhood and town center locations. 

I heard 7kW AC charger costs around $2k each while 22kW DC charger is around $15-20k each. 

22kW can be 3 phase AC chargers also. These are just about $3 to $4k all in including installation if you install for yourself at your landed property. I reckon if it's mass installation at your condo, the raw costs to SP might be even lower. 

On 3/8/2024 at 10:42 PM, Voodooman said:

Don't quite agree.

I can understand taxing based on cc of engine.

I can understand taxing based on OMV.

I can understand taxing based on emission.

I can understand taxing based on size (occupying more road space since it is road tax).

But hp?  Why penalize technology?  

You need to have the same mind thinking like the officials, who approve the spending of $500 million on the outdated than current ERP2.0, when building a need indoor stadium is a third of this sum. Till now I still cannot get over the $500mil on a stupid looking, poorly ergonomic gadget.

Edited by Heartbreakid

On 3/9/2024 at 12:23 PM, Heartbreakid said:

You need to have the same mind thinking like the officials, who approve the spending of $500 million on the outdated than current ERP2.0, when building a need indoor stadium is a third of this sum. Till now I still cannot get over the $500mil on a stupid looking, poorly ergonomic gadget.

They must have searched high and low for a number that they can use.  Just use OMV lah.  It is a luxury tax.

Anyway, this hp regime came about becoz of some loud mouth green eyed marginal cat A buyers wanting to eliminate competition. It ended up penalizing everyone in the EV era.

On 3/8/2024 at 11:45 PM, Vratenza said:

Road tax is a wealth tax lah...

When things were simpler back in my parents generation, all cars are NA, bigger the CC means bigger the HP and bigger the car, the more expensive the car. Commoners like my dad will be buying Cat A b&b cars like 1.5l nissan sunny, 1.5-1.6l toyota corollas, 1.6l mitsibishi Lancer, 1.5L honda civics... 

The prudent towkays will go one up getting Cat B 2.0-2.5L camry, 2.0-2.5L V6 cefiros, 2.0-2.5L accords

The more attas towkays will be rolling around in contis where engines less 6 cyl and less than 3L are unheard of. 

When technology advances, turbo charging, multi injection, VVTL, engines gets more efficient producing more power for the same size...emission also improve... To the extent that when environmental concerns raises, contis started to pack smaller capacity and more efficient TC engines into their large bodied cars.... Volvos S80 T2, Merc E180, BMW 520i... Then comes the hybrids.

All these advances are still manageable for LTA with quick fix like Cat A power cap and hybrid road tax claculations. 

With BEVs, LTA is still trying to tax the wealth of the car owners who can afford powerful fast BEVs despite no logical reason besides trying to recoup their petro duties and making it more painful for people to own fun cars. 

That’s why I say all car must pay Road tax based on hp.

How can A250 and A45s pays the same road tax?