Electric cars

Expertz

On 3/7/2024 at 11:32 PM, Eastmaner said:

https://www.cer-rec.gc.ca/en/data-analysis/energy-markets/market-snapshots/2021/market-snapshot-plug-in-hybrid-vehicles-are-far-more-fuel-efficient-over-short-trips-than-long-trips.html

interesting study done in Canada comparing the fuel efficiency of hybrid vs plug in hybrid vs ev.

i was looking at plug in hybrid as an option vs ev but as someone mentioned earlier, the rationale behind having both electric and ice systems may become a nightmare later when it comes to servicing. Thus, the logical thing to do is to jump straight into EV. However, not sure about the lack of maintenance requirements of EVs. Seems so that most EVs ( except tesla) still stick to a service schedule similar to an ICE car. Nissan and Lexus, for example, still have a half yearly maintenance requirement. Not sure about others. Remains to be seen how much less maintenance will an EV be. 

IMHO.
Sometimes I think electric gives the user a false sense of security especially high power systems.
My hybrid got 2 batteries.   
There is a 12V lead-acid battery that powers the electronics. 
When power on,  the electronics will do diagnostic/self-check before activating the switch (relay) to the Lithium traction battery. 
When power off,  the electronics again will do some sort of diagnostic/self-check with clicking sound. 
I believe these systems should be checked on a regular basis.

There are two aspect of maintenance.   
The commonly known is the R-Replacement i.e. replace of consumables/materials at scheduled interval.
The lesser know is the I-Inspection i.e. to inspect if replacement or top-up or renew is necessary.
I would say EV will need to have more of the I-Inspection vs R-Replacement.

Whether AD or service provider does it,  I really don't know.  
For older cars, some AD will have sort of a maintenance track record.
For newer cars, for some AD,  the need to establish the maintenance track record. 

E.g.  would user be able to know if the throttle body is dirty?  Yes, regular monitoring thru OBD2.
Will AD do that ?  No,  user have to put in request or cite an issue. 

On 3/7/2024 at 9:09 PM, Lala81 said:

If just everyday come home. Connect then wake up next morning, disconnect and be on your way. I also don't mind. 

I also dun mind this....but are we there yet? haahha...u r right, get's irritated with all these distractions....

most of us will come home, park our car and go up....but if need to come down at 12 midnight to unplugged and go searching for a car park lot...can forget EV for me...:yeah-im-not-drunk:

On 3/8/2024 at 9:25 AM, Spidey10 said:

I also dun mind this....but are we there yet? haahha...u r right, get's irritated with all these distractions....

most of us will come home, park our car and go up....but if need to come down at 12 midnight to unplugged and go searching for a car park lot...can forget EV for me...:yeah-im-not-drunk:

For AC charger not so fast la.

Charge+ is about 7kwh.

You can reduce the current from the car by half (i learned from hantu). 

That will take double the time.

On 3/8/2024 at 10:17 AM, inlinesix said:

For AC charger not so fast la.

Charge+ is about 7kwh.

You can reduce the current from the car by half (i learned from hantu). 

That will take double the time.

IMHO.
So let's say I want to charge my EV for at least 10 hours,  in theory, it can be done ???

P.S.  How to circumvent being penalized for EV charger hogging. 🤣

On 3/8/2024 at 10:24 AM, Kklee said:

IMHO.
So let's say I want to charge my EV for at least 10 hours,  in theory, it can be done ???

P.S.  How to circumvent being penalized for EV charger hogging. 🤣

EV charger hogging = No charging.

Central console allows you to set the charging Ampere.

That's only for AC charging.

It had been discussed either here or charging thread.

Edited by inlinesix

When the time comes, when PHEVs finally has a EV range of above 100km, and a fast charge, I am going in.  That day looks like not too far away, judging from what the PRC EV manufacturers are gearing up to. [laugh][laugh][laugh]

On 3/8/2024 at 11:16 AM, Tianmo said:

When the time comes, when PHEVs finally has a EV range of above 100km, and a fast charge, I am going in.  That day looks like not too far away, judging from what the PRC EV manufacturers are gearing up to. [laugh][laugh][laugh]

I think Toyota is very close to that now.

But it is not sold outside US of A.

On 3/8/2024 at 11:19 AM, inlinesix said:

I think Toyota is very close to that now.

But it is not sold outside US of A.

Personally I think the PRCs will be faster, and cheaper. Watch out for Geely,  Chery and maybe BYD, going to be 2F2F into the PHEV and HEV segment soon. [laugh][laugh][laugh]

Sian. My place jurong west there  still dun want build charger 

🤮

On 3/7/2024 at 8:39 PM, Lala81 said:

Now >90+% of singapore parking lots have no EV charging. Let's just say maybe a modest 20-30% lots will need some form of charging in the eventuality. 

That's what? Maybe 100k chargers cao cao. 

The bluesg or getgo etc will have their own cars that need charging. So u can eliminate most of their chargers other than off peak periods. 

How are they going to decide when to keep building more EV charging lots? Of course 1 way is scheduled building. We build some for every place, especially new buildings or hdb MSCP. 

Then later on, it surely must be demand based.

For eg. AMK hub has few hundred parking lots. And about 3 or 4 chargers? 

How will the company decide if amk hub is where I'm going to get the fastest ROI? After all companies are all come down to where I can get ROI. 

I will put it only in places I have sure  demand ie places which are close to max utilization. This set of carparks have like very high utility. Eg there's >80-90% utilization. Let's build more there.

But do u want to be the guy looking out for charging lots when this process is happening? It could be minimum 1 year or even years before they get to solving the problem for you. Cos remember u are unlikely to change your charging location. You are either at work, at home or running errands in those few places. 

Not saying that anti hogging practices won't come in. But it's one more thing u need to keep track of everyday lor. 

Its like some people like to wear smartwatch. But need to charge it everynight. U ask them issit troublesome. They say no. But some people just like to change their Casio quartz watch battery every two years lor. 

To answer the above in bold, the government in the past 2 years had segregated the entire island into 4 zones (north, south, east, west) and each zone is open for public charging operators to tender and bid. All 4 respective zones already have their assigned public charging operators awarded and they are obligated to fulfil tender requirements by installing X number of chargers in their assigned zones.

In short, none of that this is a hot zone i want to build my charger here, there no business i don't want to build bulls**t in the near future. That's why even now I can see some chargers installed at parking lots of rental HDB flats, where I can say 99% of the people there have no means to own a car. 

I think there has been a news article sometime back about this tender, need to go dig...

Have liao brother. 

Check out the Mercedes GLC300e PHEV on sale now, with DC fast charging port and 138km EV range on paper.

Contact your friendly Mercedes sales consultant to find out more! 😁

I mentioned before, and I am still with that thought. The future battlefield will be in PHEV and HEV. While it's unlikely to save the full ICE platform, EVs will also not be the replacement. 

The whole system has too many parties involve, and too much benefits to break up. 

Everyone other than China will go the ICE-HEV-PHEV route. While China the EV-PHEV-HEV route. 

This time round, China wins, and wins big, which ever way it goes. 

For decades, MIC cars were regarded as craps, and they were never able to run away from that image. But they went a different route to reach the same objective, and suddenly within a short 4-5 years, MIC cars are now not only accepted, many are term premium side by side the contis. 

Is EV actually a plot to get to the  actual battlefield first by the Chinese? Must thanks Tesla big big.  [laugh][laugh][laugh]

On 3/8/2024 at 11:42 AM, Lethalstrike said:

To answer the above in bold, the government in the past 2 years had segregated the entire island into 4 zones (north, south, east, west) and each zone is open for public charging operators to tender and bid. All 4 respective zones already have their assigned public charging operators awarded and they are obligated to fulfil tender requirements by installing X number of chargers in their assigned zones.

In short, none of that this is a hot zone i want to build my charger here, there no business i don't want to build bulls**t in the near future. That's why even now I can see some chargers installed at parking lots of rental HDB flats, where I can say 99% of the people there have no means to own a car. 

I think there has been a news article sometime back about this tender, need to go dig...

Yes of course. This initial rollout will be more widespread.
Govt also not goondu, they know how to curb some of these tendencies. 

But this type of installation will be only for a short term to blanket the entire singapore with sufficient charging points to start the process going on. It's not logical for it to continue indefinitely like that, cos otherwise the opposite will happen. Build where it is easiest to build to fulfill the quotas. Then inefficiency and bloat happens. For sure, civil servants will be wary of that happening. 

Hard data MUST be the key factor in continued installation once the very basic blanket structures have been built. 
Not that i want to be a naysayer or pessimist. 
Anyway if it all rolls out hunky dory, then credit to those in charge. 

On 3/8/2024 at 11:29 AM, Tianmo said:

Personally I think the PRCs will be faster, and cheaper. Watch out for Geely,  Chery and maybe BYD, going to be 2F2F into the PHEV and HEV segment soon. [laugh][laugh][laugh]

These companies have the battery tech.

Now, they need to work on motor efficiency & 800v archi.

On 3/8/2024 at 12:06 PM, Lala81 said:

Yes of course. This initial rollout will be more widespread.
Govt also not goondu, they know how to curb some of these tendencies. 

But this type of installation will be only for a short term to blanket the entire singapore with sufficient charging points to start the process going on. It's not logical for it to continue indefinitely like that, cos otherwise the opposite will happen. Build where it is easiest to build to fulfill the quotas. Then inefficiency and bloat happens. For sure, civil servants will be wary of that happening. 

Hard data MUST be the key factor in continued installation once the very basic blanket structures have been built. 
Not that i want to be a naysayer or pessimist. 
Anyway if it all rolls out hunky dory, then credit to those in charge. 

I would think the charging operators will find their own way to deal with this. If they are making losses from the lack of usage at chargers situated at unpopular locations, they can lower the price per kWh at these locations. Then up the price per kWh at the more popular locations to offset. So as a whole, they may still be able to cover their overall costs while fulfilling the contractual obligations by the government to maintain chargers at the more obscure locations. 

I say it will really depends on how hard the govt wants to drive this when things have come to such a stage. They can also do something such as giving the charging operators more financial support to build chargers at the less popular locations or impose a lower cost of electricity just for chargers at these locations etc. Financial kick backs to the charging operators. 

Or the govt can simply stay put and not do anything. Then we will see the unlucky charging operators start to die and the govt will probably then start to intervene and get another operator to take over that zone. Or it becomes like another example of what happened with our respective public transport operators lor, from private companies then all take back by ah gong to be managed under LTA. 

On 3/8/2024 at 11:35 AM, Beregond said:

Sian. My place jurong west there  still dun want build charger 

🤮

IMHO.
Eh.. have leh.   Seeing who posted this.... future dunno. 

On 3/8/2024 at 12:42 PM, Lethalstrike said:

I would think the charging operators will find their own way to deal with this. If they are making losses from the lack of usage at chargers situated at unpopular locations, they can lower the price per kWh at these locations. Then up the price per kWh at the more popular locations to offset. So as a whole, they may still be able to cover their overall costs while fulfilling the contractual obligations by the government to maintain chargers at the more obscure locations. 

I say it will really depends on how hard the govt wants to drive this when things have come to such a stage. They can also do something such as giving the charging operators more financial support to build chargers at the less popular locations or impose a lower cost of electricity just for chargers at these locations etc. Financial kick backs to the charging operators. 

Or the govt can simply stay put and not do anything. Then we will see the unlucky charging operators start to die and the govt will probably then start to intervene and get another operator to take over that zone. Or it becomes like another example of what happened with our respective public transport operators lor, from private companies then all take back by ah gong to be managed under LTA. 

Lavender/Kallang areas have many chargers.  I guess it is more of a commercial push.