Electric cars

Expertz

On 3/7/2024 at 10:01 AM, Hamburger said:

PHEV or whatever other hybrid is just gimmick for me.

At the end of the day when the cell is depleted and could only use ICE to move, the additional weight of the motor and battery are just extra dead weight to hurl along that simply defeated the purpose.

aka take out trouser and fart.

IMHO.
It does that efficiently. 🤣

On 3/6/2024 at 6:35 PM, Icebird said:

Can i check how Hybrid cars (not Plug-in) work please? It seems like they can run a certain distance eg 60 km, without using petrol. Will the car battery recharge itself only when the petrol is used? So only after i exceed this first 60 km of battery power? 

In the most layman term of how a hybrid work.

It's a EV carrying a petrol generator at the back of the EV.

Expect in this case that generator help to run the car and charge the battery at the same time.

😂

On 3/7/2024 at 10:10 AM, Vratenza said:

the elephant in the room of hybrids (plugin hybrids or conventional hybrids) is that best of both worlds comes with the reliability issues, maintenance cost and effort of both systems.

Conventional hybrids for toyota, won't affect it's reliabilty at all.  
Previous generation Priuses, got many that can last 300k miles or more are very common in the states. 

Honda's eHEV system is already in 4th generation. I don't think far off in terms of within the 10 year lifespan here.

On 3/7/2024 at 10:01 AM, Hamburger said:

PHEV or whatever other hybrid is just gimmick for me.

At the end of the day when the cell is depleted and could only use ICE to move, the additional weight of the motor and battery are just extra dead weight to hurl along that simply defeated the purpose.

aka take out trouser and fart.

Boh bian one. Cause govt says by 2030, all new vehicles on sale here have to be clean energy vehicles (Mild hybrids, full hybrids, plug-in hybrids and fully electric). Meaning they have to be electrified someway or another. 

A few more years left to buy and enjoy pure ICE only technology with no funky batteries...

For the record.

BYD just launch their own hybrid. Selling lower then the 2 most popular model around.

They want a piece of the 🥧 also.

On 3/7/2024 at 11:02 AM, Lala81 said:

Previous generation Priuses, got many that can last 300k miles or more are very common in the states. 

Honda's eHEV system is already in 4th generation. I don't think far off in terms of within the 10 year lifespan here.

I am coming from my experience owning the Lexus GS450h.....

ICE component:

the engine oil still needs the regular service change, oil filter change, radiator fluid top up, spark plug change

Hybrid Electric motor/battery component:

had to change out circuit board and hybrid battery in the 4th year of ownership due to electronic failure of the self recharging circuitry leading to early battery degradation. Luckily still under extended warranty.

Common component:

Tyres wears faster due to the total weight of V6 3.5L engine + electric motor and battery, suspension shock also wears faster, brake pads wears faster.......

A model 3 starts from 40k in USA. Performance is around 50k. And that's with tesla's efficient cost structure. 
That's really BMW 3 series/Mercedes C class money over there. 

Meanwhile u can get a Camry/Rav 4 Hybrid which does 40+mpg at 31-32k USD. 
A toyota corolla hybrid starts at 25k.

Most average americans find EVs too expensive. This is the world's biggest consumer economy.

But the chinese EVs are coming in hot. I think Tai Choo Yee's youtube post says that Chery Omoda is launching at some very low price in MY. around 150k ringgit price. 

On 3/7/2024 at 11:10 AM, Vratenza said:

ICE component:

the engine oil still needs the regular service change, oil filter change, radiator fluid top up, spark plug change

had to change out circuit board and hybrid battery in the 4th year of ownership due to electronic failure of the self recharging circuitry leading to early battery degradation. Luckily still under extended warranty.

Common component:

Tyres wears faster due to the total weight of V6 3.5L engine + electric motor and battery, suspension shock also wears faster, brake pads wears faster.......

GS450h is supposed to provide the power of V8 4.6L at V6 3.5L Fuel Consumption.

ICE component:

Common component:

yeah. Of course if u talk about what is robust, the most simple NA engine is the best.

But lexus is still the most popular brand in the States for long term customer satisfaction.
U pay a premium for a preowned lexus there, compared to any other band. 

I talked to Ioniq taxi drivers, they say nowhere comparable reliability to Prius. That's why usually u pay more for rental for Prius. less downtime. 
When my friend went to UK for HMDP, he says the UK private hire drivers also prefer toyota hybrids. And this was a time when diesel engines are a real alternative. 

On 3/7/2024 at 11:02 AM, Lala81 said:

I am interested in trying Honda eHEV.  The engine is supposed to charge battery at high speed.

Both ICE and Electric Motor run concurrently that resulted in combined power of 200hp

On 3/7/2024 at 11:28 AM, inlinesix said:

I am interested in trying Honda eHEV.  The engine is supposed to charge battery at high speed.

Both ICE and Electric Motor run concurrently that resulted in combined power of 200hp

My home and workplace don't seem ready for electric within next few years. So definitely i will get a hybrid. 

But on the other hand, the honda civic 2.0 eHEV sure high price in SG, so definitely bo hua to get.

On 3/7/2024 at 11:23 AM, inlinesix said:

GS450h is supposed to provide the power of V8 4.6L at V6 3.5L Fuel Consumption.

the stupid road tax also shiok like V8😒

On 3/7/2024 at 11:33 AM, Lala81 said:

My home and workplace don't seem ready for electric within next few years. So definitely i will get a hybrid. 

But on the other hand, the honda civic 2.0 eHEV sure high price in SG, so definitely bo hua to get.

Even in MY, it is the most expensive civic (excl Type R).

Buy Civic RM200k will kenna suan "siao ah".

On 3/7/2024 at 11:26 AM, Lala81 said:

yeah. Of course if u talk about what is robust, the most simple NA engine is the best.

But lexus is still the most popular brand in the States for long term customer satisfaction.
U pay a premium for a preowned lexus there, compared to any other band. 

I talked to Ioniq taxi drivers, they say nowhere comparable reliability to Prius. That's why usually u pay more for rental for Prius. less downtime. 
When my friend went to UK for HMDP, he says the UK private hire drivers also prefer toyota hybrids. And this was a time when diesel engines are a real alternative. 

Yeah, that's why I am trying to highlight the practical considerations of owning a hybrid when the media seem to be just pointing towards hybrid as the only way to go in the era of faltering EVs and the need to achieve emission control.

Benefits of having 2 systems in one car have to be prepared for the issues of the 2 systems combined. That is all I am saying.

On 3/7/2024 at 11:45 AM, Vratenza said:

Yeah, that's why I am trying to highlight the practical considerations of owning a hybrid when the media seem to be just pointing towards hybrid as the only way to go in the era of faltering EVs and the need to achieve emission control.

Benefits of having 2 systems in one car have to be prepared for the issues of the 2 systems combined. That is all I am saying.

True. Govt and inflation is driving consumer choices. 

In SG, china, Europe it's govt regulation towards BEVs. 
In USA, it's gasoline and high sticker prices for cars. But a hybrid option just cost 2-3k more USD, so it's much more palatable. 

I heard in UK, that ordinary joes are going back to pre-owned small diesel engined cars as the most economical.
In America, toyota/honda hybrids are the main seller outside of california. 

We can't fight against govt mah lol. At most we can hope for cheaper BEVs from china.

@Vratenza 

ICE component:

Common component:

That sounds expensive. I also hear road tax and insurance is higher for EVs than ICE cars. And May even cancel any savings on petrol usage. How about for hybrids and plug-ins? Road tax and insurance same as EVs?

On 3/7/2024 at 12:11 PM, Icebird said:

@Vratenza 

That sounds expensive. I also hear road tax and insurance is higher for EVs than ICE cars. And May even cancel any savings on petrol usage. How about for hybrids and plug-ins? Road tax and insurance same as EVs?

the latest Skoda Octavia Hybrid Pre FL is going under 200K including COE for 1.5 147BHP car

when I become a full grown carrot head, I probably buy one .....

Maybe ...

but if you are already a born again tycoon and folking out 200K or slightly under for a Bread and butter car, whats to worry for incidental cost? or am I missing something. 

Edited by Sdf4786k