Electric cars

Expertz

On 1/17/2024 at 6:26 PM, Lethalstrike said:

Also Tesla pioneered giga-casting production technique for its cars. So if the rear portion of the Model Y is damaged, it might have to change out the entire rear subframe and underfloor of the Model Y since its really one single casted piece. Cuts production time, reduces costs and weight, but when it comes to serious accident repairs jialat! 

image.thumb.png.f475c64a4136cf8a8b6824bb4c037bab.png

Tesla is supplier biggest customer and headache 

On 1/17/2024 at 11:21 AM, Typicalcarguy said:

7481ee33-b58b-482e-8f4b-83ccbcb136a7.thumb.jpg.653a56aba6ef3077129cad87d6d6fb2e.jpg

Have you all seen this, shared on whatsapp. Seems like quite a concern... the car had been written off and the owner is saying that no car insurance companies will insure him for his next car for the next 3 years...

Alvin is school kid?

"LTA" reject chassis replacement - huh??

"Eurokars" handle Tesla repair - huh??

On 1/17/2024 at 7:59 PM, t0y0ta said:

Alvin is school kid?

Whatever he drinking he shd stop!😂

On 1/17/2024 at 11:21 AM, Typicalcarguy said:

7481ee33-b58b-482e-8f4b-83ccbcb136a7.thumb.jpg.653a56aba6ef3077129cad87d6d6fb2e.jpg

Have you all seen this, shared on whatsapp. Seems like quite a concern... the car had been written off and the owner is saying that no car insurance companies will insure him for his next car for the next 3 years...

@inlinesixur fiend? 

On 1/17/2024 at 7:59 PM, t0y0ta said:

Alvin is school kid?

Actually it's true. Eurokars is the appointed party for body and paint repairs (approved collision centre) for Teslas here in SG. 

Edited by Lethalstrike

On 1/17/2024 at 10:51 PM, inlinesix said:

Go Tuas 2nd link must use bus lane. All debus take luggages and go queue up chop passport. [:p][laugh][laugh]

On 1/19/2024 at 11:20 AM, Hamburger said:

i only concern about using android auto or apple car play on Tesla, as the the car no support. Better advise from anyone??

Hearsay their own bulit in map not bad leh.

Can bluetooth phone for calls can liao? Haha

i hardly connect my phone to my HU….only bluetooth lol

i only concern about using android auto or apple car play on Tesla, as the the car no support. Better advise from anyone??

BYD! [:p][laugh][laugh]

This system compatible with Android, Apple, Harmony, and whatever new OS coming out. 

Screenshot_20240119_123711.thumb.jpg.03e5a2dc20da95fbf9bb7f317d8952f9.jpg

Just when we are going big on EVs now, some people in those angmo countries that are early adopters are eager to spread the message that EVs are not the darling that predicted to be. Granted a few reasons are not valid over here such as shorter range due to cold weather, most of them are valid such as safety concerns, expected loading on electricity grid, huge repair costs and insurance costs due to huge battery banks and expensive parts, much higher tyre replacement costs with faster interval due to heavier weight of the car that offset the gain in maintenance aspect, etc, etc. Granted EVs can claim zero emission but it really need alot of energy to make its body parts especially the battery packs with mining of cobalt. 

Hope our gov can learn from these countries to reduce the pain for the EV car owners.

Also came across this interesting video of Uber driver clocking high mileage of 100,000 miles within 1 year. Range degraded from 240 miles from early days to 214 miles at 90,000 miles mark but dropped to 170 miles after reaching 100,000 miles. Replacing the batteries would cost 12 to 15 grands as warranty over at 100,000 miles mark. Don't know if will happen here. Hopefully newer battery technology would improve the situation.

On 1/19/2024 at 9:44 PM, Heartlander said:

Just when we are going big on EVs now, some people in those angmo countries that are early adopters are eager to spread the message that EVs are not the darling that predicted to be. Granted a few reasons are not valid over here such as shorter range due to cold weather, most of them are valid such as safety concerns, expected loading on electricity grid, huge repair costs and insurance costs due to huge battery banks and expensive parts, much higher tyre replacement costs with faster interval due to heavier weight of the car that offset the gain in maintenance aspect, etc, etc. Granted EVs can claim zero emission but it really need alot of energy to make its body parts especially the battery packs with mining of cobalt. 

Hope our gov can learn from these countries to reduce the pain for the EV car owners.

Not forgetting resale value of used EVs. I'm driving one at this moment and I fully expect it to be worthless by the time I'm ready to change car again before the standard 5 years warranty is up. 

Assuming the net carbon emissions over 10 yrs, an EV is still cleaner than ICE. The carbon emissions is higher at the initial phase of building the EV (resource intensive rare earth metals etc), but it will even it out throughout its lifespan due to zero tailpipe emissions. This is just looking at the car alone, without taking into account whether your grid is generating electricity using clean / sustainable sources etc. 

Edited by Lethalstrike

On 1/20/2024 at 1:09 PM, Lethalstrike said:

Not forgetting resale value of used EVs. I'm driving one at this moment and I fully expect it to be worthless by the time I'm ready to change car again before the standard 5 years warranty is up. 

Assuming the net carbon emissions over 10 yrs, an EV is still cleaner than ICE. The carbon emissions is higher at the initial phase of building the EV (resource intensive rare earth metals etc), but it will even it out throughout its lifespan due to zero tailpipe emissions. This is just looking at the car alone, without taking into account whether your grid is generating electricity using clean / sustainable sources etc. 

Wah then yr depreciation goto calculate based on 5yrs and COE residue liao...

I was considering MG4 but when i calculate based on 8years (8y/150k batt warranty) i decide not.

*also worried my itch cannot tahan 8y long hahaha