Kennethoka 2nd Gear August 4, 2023 Share August 4, 2023 On 8/4/2023 at 10:13 AM, Lethalstrike said: Siao one, charging from 3-pin plug directly. Potential fire hazard if the controller box of his charging cable fails to limit the current required usually normal people won't know about this. unless you are technical enough or you had read somewhere about this or else no one will know about this. ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lethalstrike Turbocharged August 5, 2023 Share August 5, 2023 On 8/4/2023 at 10:59 AM, Kennethoka said: usually normal people won't know about this. unless you are technical enough or you had read somewhere about this or else no one will know about this. Usually, the 3 pin plug here is rated up to 13A. If in the event of charging, the car may have to draw higher than 13A there is a risk of the plug being overloaded and thus, catches fire. If he set the current limit on his charging cable's controller box to be less than 13A, then the risk is mitigated. But bloody hell, its 13A x 220V = 2.8 kW charging output from the 3-pin plug. Assuming Model Y has a 70kWh battery, it will take 70kWh/2.8kW = 25 hours to top up from 0-100%. Even for a few hours, there's not much charge you can steal from the plug. Pointless. 😁 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kennethoka 2nd Gear August 5, 2023 Share August 5, 2023 On 8/5/2023 at 10:37 AM, Lethalstrike said: Usually, the 3 pin plug here is rated up to 13A. If in the event of charging, the car may have to draw higher than 13A there is a risk of the plug being overloaded and thus, catches fire. If he set the current limit on his charging cable's controller box to be less than 13A, then the risk is mitigated. But bloody hell, its 13A x 220V = 2.8 kW charging output from the 3-pin plug. Assuming Model Y has a 70kWh battery, it will take 70kWh/2.8kW = 25 hours to top up from 0-100%. Even for a few hours, there's not much charge you can steal from the plug. Pointless. 😁 That driver maybe was charging from 80% so won't take 25 hours to topup. As long as he steal some power he happy liao. little by little added up also quite a lot. Somemore who don't like free things. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Coltplussport Turbocharged August 5, 2023 Share August 5, 2023 Saw a Ioniq 5 with car plate starting with EVS, so special. Go check and realised it is given to the first 100 Singapore assembled ionic 5. So cool! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ct3833 Supersonic August 5, 2023 Share August 5, 2023 On 7/20/2023 at 2:57 PM, Battledome64 said: Yes I read they deduct from the ARF value so the amount you get back is less after 10 years. It is why i said before that i will "upgrade" from a fuel COE car to a COE EV next time because the PARF wrote off is so affordable 🤣🤣 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kennethoka 2nd Gear August 5, 2023 Share August 5, 2023 On 8/5/2023 at 10:39 PM, Coltplussport said: Saw a Ioniq 5 with car plate starting with EVS, so special. Go check and realised it is given to the first 100 Singapore assembled ionic 5. So cool! BlueSG is owning the EVS1 plate. Power Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kennethoka 2nd Gear August 5, 2023 Share August 5, 2023 (edited) On 8/5/2023 at 10:45 PM, Ct3833 said: It is why i said before that i will "upgrade" from a fuel COE car to a COE EV next time because the PARF wrote off is so affordable 🤣🤣 If you want to buy 2nd hand car, PARF is really not important because when 2nd hand car seller sell you the car, they will make sure that the selling price when calculated, the depreciation value based will only slightly lower than depreciation value of the a new car at that time. They won't sell you based on the PARF vaule Edited August 5, 2023 by Kennethoka 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ct3833 Supersonic August 5, 2023 Share August 5, 2023 On 8/6/2023 at 12:02 AM, Kennethoka said: If you want to buy 2nd hand car, PARF is really not important because when 2nd hand car seller sell you the car, they will make sure that the selling price when calculated, the depreciation value based will only slightly low than depreciation value of the a new carat that time. They won't sell you based on the PARF vaule I mean i will buy a 9 year old EV with low PARF, renew COE and use the saving to replace the battery 🤣🤣 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kennethoka 2nd Gear August 5, 2023 Share August 5, 2023 (edited) On 8/5/2023 at 11:04 PM, Ct3833 said: I mean i will buy a 9 year old EV with low PARF, renew COE and use the saving to replace the battery 🤣🤣 haha.. quite true. no need to worry much about the motor, as we can see our washing machine, air con and refrigerator DC motor usually can last for very long without much maintenance. not like ICE need to worry the previous owner got change engine oil regularly or not. Edited August 5, 2023 by Kennethoka Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Volvobrick Supersonic August 5, 2023 Share August 5, 2023 (edited) On 8/5/2023 at 10:45 PM, Ct3833 said: It is why i said before that i will "upgrade" from a fuel COE car to a COE EV next time because the PARF wrote off is so affordable 🤣🤣 That will be the unintended consequences of the EV rebates. BUT, trust ah gong to slap 200% road tax surcharge in time to come "to level the playing field and better channel scarce resources (COE) to meet market demands". Edited August 5, 2023 by Volvobrick 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic August 5, 2023 Share August 5, 2023 On 8/5/2023 at 11:28 PM, Volvobrick said: That will be the unintended consequences of the EV rebates. BUT, trust ah gong to slap 200% road tax surcharge in time to come "to level the playing field and better channel scarce resources (COE) to meet market demands". Ppl with annual high mileage will still have savings. Unlike you🤭 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ct3833 Supersonic August 5, 2023 Share August 5, 2023 (edited) One of the few governments trying to recover from fuel tax loss, will SGP follow suit? Texas to hit all-electric vehicle owners with high fees https://www.timesrecordnews.com/story/news/local/2023/08/03/texas-to-hit-all-electric-vehicle-owners-with-high-fees/70514874007/ Edited August 5, 2023 by Ct3833 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Battledome64 3rd Gear August 5, 2023 Share August 5, 2023 On 8/5/2023 at 10:45 PM, Ct3833 said: It is why i said before that i will "upgrade" from a fuel COE car to a COE EV next time because the PARF wrote off is so affordable 🤣🤣 It’s something to look forward to. However I know the used car dealers will still sell it to you based on the same depreciation as a new car. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ct3833 Supersonic August 6, 2023 Share August 6, 2023 (edited) On 8/6/2023 at 7:45 AM, Battledome64 said: It’s something to look forward to. However I know the used car dealers will still sell it to you based on the same depreciation as a new car. No choice, want to be cheapo, have to take the middle ground. I bought both my current cars when they were 8 year old, drove for 2 years to confirm they were ok before renewing COE. It ihas been 4+years after renwing COE, it is a decision of no regrets(yet?). I will drive until the doors fall off before deciding what to do next 😅😅 Edited August 6, 2023 by Ct3833 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
shuigao 2nd Gear August 7, 2023 Share August 7, 2023 On 8/1/2023 at 1:59 PM, limpeh6969 said: any hdb dwellers here driving 100% electric cars (not hybrid)? where do yall charge it ah - in your mscp, petrol station, malls? thinking of trying electric cars once my current coe is up but i'm still undecided, esp when i read hdb carparks will only have slow charging points. thanks in advance for your replies 🙂 I charge once a week in a shopping mall (My condo got no charger). Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
shuigao 2nd Gear August 7, 2023 Share August 7, 2023 On 8/6/2023 at 6:22 AM, Ct3833 said: One of the few governments trying to recover from fuel tax loss, will SGP follow suit? Texas to hit all-electric vehicle owners with high fees https://www.timesrecordnews.com/story/news/local/2023/08/03/texas-to-hit-all-electric-vehicle-owners-with-high-fees/70514874007/ PAP got great foresight, they already slapping us with $700 AFC annually for this mah. Give us $10k PARF rebate, but take back $7k in extra road tax. Win liao. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
t0y0ta Supercharged August 7, 2023 Share August 7, 2023 On 8/5/2023 at 11:04 PM, Ct3833 said: I mean i will buy a 9 year old EV with low PARF, renew COE and use the saving to replace the battery 🤣🤣 You may want to research on price of new EV battery. It is going to be many many times more expensive than changing hybrid battery which is around 5k 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ct3833 Supersonic August 7, 2023 Share August 7, 2023 On 8/7/2023 at 6:54 PM, t0y0ta said: You may want to research on price of new EV battery. It is going to be many many times more expensive than changing hybrid battery which is around 5k EV batteries are a lot larger capacity than those hybrid batteries which are smaller . Hope in few years time batteries can be cheaper and better, and backword compatible to the older EVs. Worst case, if LTA allows, i will renew my COE for another 10-years, $0 parf write off😄😄 ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...