Long Life Coolant

Yeobh

Thats why its called Long Life Coolant. It has a long life.

Long life = 2-4 years!

Fr me... Longlife coolant i change when change timing belt n waterpump at every 3+ yrs-4 yrs. 70k-80k km.

So far no problem.

A lot of people in Singapore treasure and love their cars more than anything else, so they pay more attention to their cars than anything else. Personal preferences I guess.

I just try to follow e instructions fm e manufacturer cos i think ty do know a little abt whats good fr e cars ty make. [rolleyes]

Long life = 2-4 years!

Normal coolant easily 1 year so long life sud b good fr at least 2 yrs plus.

60k km or 5 yrs which is recommended by manufacturer of car n manufacturer of coolant so im a bit kia su.

Now my optra >7 yrs n still no rust in water/coolant. I guess im doing something right.

If i remember correctly, according to Toyota Long Life coolant bottle, it is printed it can last 120,000km.

My stock Honda coolant, i drove for 93,000km, 6 years, no problem at all. But i thought i better change it

If i remember correctly, according to Toyota Long Life coolant bottle, it is printed it can last 120,000km.

My stock Honda coolant, i drove for 93,000km, 6 years, no problem at all. But i thought i better change it

if it can last for 120k kms, it should be Toyota Super Long Life Coolant. pink in color.

red color coolant is 'only' long life. 40k or so...

if it can last for 120k kms, it should be Toyota Super Long Life Coolant. pink in color.

i will re-check the bottle when i get home today. can't rem what i bought.

Anyway, 120k km is too long to keep using. i will still want to change it sooner than 120k km. Not ex to change it anyway.

There are two type of toyota coolant

1) Toyota Long life coolant (made in Thailand) Red Cap

2) Toyota Super Long Life coolant (made in US) . I think only $2 to $5 more only. Yellow Cap

For me , I kiasu, I change coolant every 2 to 3 oil change. about 1 years once.

Do we actually need to top-up water/coolant during the course of driving if there's no leakage etc etc before the next change? Coz I heard that over time, the coolant level will decrease due to temperature, heat etc etc. If there's a need, do we just top-up with water or distilled water or coolant to the desired level again? [confused]

I confirm that mine is Super Long Life. Red cap, made in Thailand. Just checked the bottle.

2-3 yrs change coolant a bit over kill lei. Maybe 4-5 more practical.

I nvr belive in what koyork lifelong engine oil or coolant. Possible meh? Bmw claims their atf oil lifelong. I dont believe.

It's easy to test the EG % of yr cooling system with this floating discs hydrometer. By trying to keep yr coolant reading within 4 or five disc floating, the coolant system will be well protected from wear / tear and from overheating.

I used Maxima Cool-Aide Coolant so no EG at all inside.

I am keeping my fingers crossed that it doesn't freeze in Singapore.

Do we actually need to top-up water/coolant during the course of driving if there's no leakage etc etc before the next change? Coz I heard that over time, the coolant level will decrease due to temperature, heat etc etc. If there's a need, do we just top-up with water or distilled water or coolant to the desired level again? [confused]

Seems like nobody knows the answer....

Assuming you have zero leakage in the cooling system, there will be minimal amount of loss of water due to evaporation.

In this case, you can safely top up with distill water until the next scheduled change.

But this is usually a very small amount, not more than 0.5L.

If you're losing coolant via the engine block, hose, etc, then the additional water will dilute the coolant.

Coolant is best kept at 50/50 ratio. If there's too much water balance, then your cooling system will not have the appropriate corrosion protection.

I've seen a few cases of rusty coolant, this is due to inadequate anti-freeze (EG) and too much water.

Either way, when the time is up, EG lose their alkalinity and starting to turn acidic.

You should flush and change out the old coolant before this happens.

Some people use the multimeter to check their coolant.

Put one probe centred in the coolant, and the other to chassis ground or battery.

If the reading is 0.5V or more, you better change your coolant in a hurry.

It's starting to act like a small battery and will consume metal parts like the radiator, water pump, etc.

for normal ppl like us driving , dun need worry too much, once a week open your radiator cap, in the morning WHEN ENGINE IS COLD, and check water level, top up if need, ( normally new car 1-2 years, should not need any top up "NORMALLY")

BUT it wont cause any harm to check, check your reserve tank the coolant also normally come in 3 colour, red , blue and green, if lower then the max level, just keep 1 bottle of the same colour in your car and top up. DUN SAVE MONEY on coolant , u wont go wrong with red toyota, green mitshubishi?? i am using blue liqui moly.

most important thing of all is when u driving check your car meter for temperature indicator, esp u driving a old car, no more warrently, u can check water level every day , but when u driving 1/2 way , water hose give way , u dun know drive untll car stall NO POINT RIGHT.

and lastly visit your trusted mech for any thing u not sure about,

1 trusted phase, KIANG JIU HO. MAI KEI KIANG, unless u a car mech yourself,