Erinio Neutral Newbie July 5, 2012 Share July 5, 2012 can use hp while waiting at the junction? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tom_kkh 1st Gear July 5, 2012 Author Share July 5, 2012 On 7/5/2012 at 2:24 PM, Erinio said: can use hp while waiting at the junction? dono... good to know though. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Aaron_soh80 1st Gear July 6, 2012 Share July 6, 2012 On 7/5/2012 at 2:22 PM, Tom_kkh said: last time i drive lorry for removal company, i eat chicken rice while driving busier than an mnc director Haha..how u change gear or hold steering wheel while ur other hand hold chicken rice? drive auto aso cannot lay.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Aaron_soh80 1st Gear July 6, 2012 Share July 6, 2012 (edited) On 7/5/2012 at 2:24 PM, Erinio said: can use hp while waiting at the junction? As long as car stationary can use ba.. if not.. sound v stupid that cant call hp if wan to wait for pple inside the car also lo.. Edited July 6, 2012 by Aaron_soh80 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lovethecars Clutched July 6, 2012 Share July 6, 2012 Very common especially with the fact that one can use smartphone to see twitter, facebook and etc.. haha! Not really possible for all the TPs to catch all of them... LOL Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
StefanK Supercharged July 6, 2012 Share July 6, 2012 Wed, I saw a Merc Van in the middle lane on AYE travelling very slowly, even the buses and container trucks were overtaking him on the left. As soon as I overtake him on the right, I saw him with his glasses perched on the tip of his nose, his head slightly tilted down, looking at his handphone on his hand. It's very common, especially if you see 'swaying' cars or more commonly, cars travelling slower than normal. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lovethecars Clutched July 6, 2012 Share July 6, 2012 Those driving on the first lane with slow speed = road hoggers... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
StefanK Supercharged July 6, 2012 Share July 6, 2012 On 7/6/2012 at 2:34 AM, Lovethecars said: Those driving on the first lane with slow speed = road hoggers... Barring roadhoggers. There are handphone users too. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic July 6, 2012 Share July 6, 2012 On 7/5/2012 at 8:39 AM, Tom_kkh said: I spot at least 2 cases per day. where are all the TP? the moment when a front vehicle suddenly slow down or unable to travel in straight line, he/she is on handphone either trying to answer a call or making a call.... I would overtake the vehicle and once side by side, turn my head and always see the driver holding the hp on the hand... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tom_kkh 1st Gear July 6, 2012 Author Share July 6, 2012 On 7/6/2012 at 1:14 AM, Aaron_soh80 said: Haha..how u change gear or hold steering wheel while ur other hand hold chicken rice? drive auto aso cannot lay.. trust me its achievable learn from my supervisor one. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gee 1st Gear July 6, 2012 Share July 6, 2012 On 7/6/2012 at 4:34 AM, Tom_kkh said: trust me its achievable learn from my supervisor one. Right hand hold chicken rice, elbow on steering wheel? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic July 6, 2012 Share July 6, 2012 On 7/6/2012 at 4:34 AM, Tom_kkh said: trust me its achievable learn from my supervisor one. Right leg on accelerator or brake, left knee push up against the steering wheel & hold it firmly, eyes on the road and so... both hands free to feed the mouth .... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1fast1 Supersonic July 6, 2012 Share July 6, 2012 (edited) On 7/5/2012 at 2:24 PM, Erinio said: can use hp while waiting at the junction? Yes. Singapore law states you cannot use the phone to communicate only while the car is in motion. Meaning you can use it at a junction. But drop it the moment the light turns green *before* you creep forward, even. So please, hor, all you self-righteous STOMPer wannabes, take photos of HP drivers by all means, but if they're using it at a junction, don't take their photos for nothing. They're not breaking the law, and they don't need the publicity. That phrasing "to communicate" is important. Technically, you can use your phone to play Angry Birds even while the car is in motion. But the TP will still stop you. When they confiscate the phone and find no evidence of calls/SMSs during that time period, you cannot be charged for HP driving. But I guess you can still kena for driving without due care, etc. Jeremy Clarkson (Top Gear) says this HP driving ban is crap, and that any decent driver should be able to multitask. They even had a demonstration with the three presenters doing stuff like sewing a button, etc. while driving round a track (and they could do it fine). I'm inclined to agree with Clarkson. Problem is, Sg has a dearth of decently skilled drivers. Edited July 6, 2012 by Turboflat4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Erinio Neutral Newbie July 6, 2012 Share July 6, 2012 On 7/6/2012 at 4:52 AM, Turboflat4 said: Yes. Singapore law states you cannot use the phone to communicate only while the car is in motion. Meaning you can use it at a junction. But drop it the moment the light turns green *before* you creep forward, even. So please, hor, all you self-righteous STOMPer wannabes, take photos of HP drivers by all means, but if they're using it at a junction, don't take their photos for nothing. They're not breaking the law, and they don't need the publicity. That phrasing "to communicate" is important. Technically, you can use your phone to play Angry Birds even while the car is in motion. But the TP will still stop you. When they confiscate the phone and find no evidence of calls/SMSs during that time period, you cannot be charged for HP driving. But I guess you can still kena for driving without due care, etc. Jeremy Clarkson (Top Gear) says this HP driving ban is crap, and that any decent driver should be able to multitask. They even had a demonstration with the three presenters doing stuff like sewing a button, etc. while driving round a track (and they could do it fine). I'm inclined to agree with Clarkson. Problem is, Sg has a dearth of decently skilled drivers. there was once a man on bike knocked on my window at junction and pointed at my hp when i was checking sms which i received on the expressway. should have gave him the middle finger and ask him to mind his own business back then. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tom_kkh 1st Gear July 6, 2012 Author Share July 6, 2012 (edited) On 7/6/2012 at 4:37 AM, Gee said: Right hand hold chicken rice, elbow on steering wheel? yes something like that. left and right elbows fully utilized but must go real slow and only applicable on a straight road Edited July 6, 2012 by Tom_kkh Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1fast1 Supersonic July 6, 2012 Share July 6, 2012 (edited) On 7/6/2012 at 6:16 AM, Erinio said: there was once a man on bike knocked on my window at junction and pointed at my hp when i was checking sms which i received on the expressway. should have gave him the middle finger and ask him to mind his own business back then. Straight from Sg Statutes (Road Traffic Act): Quote Use of mobile telephone while driving 65B.—(1) Any person who, being the driver of a motor vehicle on a road or in a public place, uses a mobile telephone while the motor vehicle is in motion shall be guilty of an offence and shall be liable on conviction to a fine not exceeding $1,000 or to imprisonment for a term not exceeding 6 months or to both, and, in the case of a second or subsequent conviction, to a fine not exceeding $2,000 or to imprisonment for a term not exceeding 12 months or to both. [1/99] (2) In this section — “mobile telephone” includes any hand held equipment which is designed or capable of being used for telecommunication; “use”, in relation to a mobile telephone, means to hold it in one hand while using it to communicate with any person. See points emphasised. The first point is relevant to you. The second is what I mentioned about the need for "communication" to satisfy the terms of the Act. Reading SMSs would technically qualify as communication since you are receiving nontrivial information that was generated by another human being. However, as long as you did it when the car was stationary, you're A-OK. Yes, you should've given him the finger and asked him to go fly an effin' kite. PS: Keep in mind that by the terms of the Act, iPads, computers doing Skype/email etc. all fall under the broad definition of "mobile telephone". Edited July 6, 2012 by Turboflat4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Branteo Clutched July 6, 2012 Share July 6, 2012 I admit, ... I'm guilty of the said act. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Highmount Clutched July 6, 2012 Share July 6, 2012 Almost everyday also can see. Just now during lunch hour, i was in the bus & saw 1 FT ang moh using hp while driving. Wtf are the TP/LTA doing? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...