How much savings an average singaporean has?

Bigmatt140

My wife and i are in our early 30s with a young baby.

We dont have much savings and we are both grads working decent jobs.

I think we only have like 50k savings combined (excluding insurances, CPF).

Is this normal? I have to add that we are not spendthrifts.

What is the normal savings for average people in my age group leh?

You have more than me. I'm in my late forties and I live on credit... [bigcry]

if you count my housing and car loan...then of course i am also living on credit.

You have more than me. I'm in my late forties and I live on credit... [bigcry]

You are better off than me!

No one wants to give me credit!

Even the loan sharks swim away from me.

You are better off than me!

No one wants to give me credit!

Even the loan sharks swim away from me.

Because they know you got High end connections with the Polis

Most Sporeans Owe more than the Own.

i owe less than the own leh. [laugh]

who ask everyone one to rush and buy house in central area. sub urban area so nice. and nearer to work place too.

The recent report of the millionaire household is proof that many family has alot of liquidity cash!

I have around $30,000 cash in banks between me n my wife. Also I think another $100,000++(me n wife)locked in CPF n medisaves.

Sufficient to tahan 12 months if jobless.

The recent report of the millionaire household is proof that many family has alot of liquidity cash!

I have around $30,000 cash in banks between me n my wife. Also I think another $100,000++(me n wife)locked in CPF n medisaves.

Sufficient to tahan 12 months if jobless.

how can 30k last you and your wife 12 months???

My wife and i are in our early 30s with a young baby.

We dont have much savings and we are both grads working decent jobs.

I think we only have like 50k savings combined (excluding insurances, CPF).

Is this normal? I have to add that we are not spendthrifts.

What is the normal savings for average people in my age group leh?

Savings and income discussion are sensitive topic lah. There are so many rich ppl in this forum, but when u ask them, they will tell u they earn at most 4k nia. But we can't blame them also, what u want them to say? 400k savings at 30s? Wait ppl start to call them hao lian. :D

Whatever it is, so long as u and your wife are contended and happy with what u have, why bother to ask for others' opinion? Comparing will only make u feel worse.

i always see ATM receipt balance of few hundred or low thousands.. hmm.. wonder if this is the real state of singaporeans. or do they have money hidden elsewhere?

If my car is fully paid up, is it considered an asset or liability? So many ppl says cars is a liability.

How about this, depreciating asset with monthly liability to keep it alive. Giam bo?

Sounds good. So it is still an asset with a min PARF.

Yay i'm rich!

Sounds good. So it is still an asset with a min PARF.

Yay i'm rich!

Yay...i am happy for u. :D

If my car is fully paid up, is it considered an asset or liability? So many ppl says cars is a liability.

It is a depreciating asset so its a liability...