KARTer 2nd Gear July 5, 2012 Share July 5, 2012 On 7/5/2012 at 1:50 AM, Scion said: i maintained another suggestion of mine pls try to give your children dialect names or at least retain the dialect surnames (of cos referring to the Singaporean Chinese) this is to remember our roots and also to differentiate us from PRC Good idea! My sons already retain dialect surname in their IC ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear July 5, 2012 Share July 5, 2012 On 7/5/2012 at 2:13 AM, Tigerwoods said: What are you thinking ? I exprain to her the real thing of our Mari Kita and also throw in a free expranation of our Pledge (using WP GE2011 rally Youtube by Pritam). Anyway we should not jump into conclusions just because her surname is Zhang as many Chinese SGeans born in 80s uses HYPY names. If I use Tiger Mu, you may think I Ah Tiong Tiger how ?? Bash me lah ! You TIGER! Who dares touch you? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear July 5, 2012 Share July 5, 2012 On 7/5/2012 at 1:41 AM, Tigerwoods said: Got print it out and bring to me, I'll sit with her to xprain... Better see her photo first. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigerwoods Turbocharged July 5, 2012 Share July 5, 2012 On 7/5/2012 at 2:39 AM, KARTer said: You TIGER! Who dares touch you? My Wife Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigerwoods Turbocharged July 5, 2012 Share July 5, 2012 On 7/5/2012 at 2:40 AM, KARTer said: Better see her photo first. Yah hor Grace Zhang wor... Not GRACE FOO... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yuan 6th Gear July 5, 2012 Share July 5, 2012 On 7/5/2012 at 2:40 AM, KARTer said: Better see her photo first. This is wise. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged July 5, 2012 Share July 5, 2012 On 7/5/2012 at 2:38 AM, KARTer said: Good idea! My sons already retain dialect surname in their IC my daughters got ohso. Also in NZ birth cert.... youngest has 34 character (alphabet) name.....surname is written with 13 strokes...she's gonna hate me :-) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear July 5, 2012 Share July 5, 2012 On 7/5/2012 at 2:50 AM, Tigerwoods said: My Wife Touch n caress different hor Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear July 5, 2012 Share July 5, 2012 On 7/5/2012 at 3:13 AM, Darryn said: my daughters got ohso. Also in NZ birth cert.... youngest has 34 character (alphabet) name.....surname is written with 13 strokes...she's gonna hate me :-) This is the downside of it Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gee 1st Gear July 5, 2012 Share July 5, 2012 How can you have forgotten the title of the anthem you spend 10 years singing ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jasonjst 3rd Gear July 5, 2012 Share July 5, 2012 On 7/5/2012 at 1:21 AM, Bystander50 said: That is the problem I see with AT. They come in, they want to change everything to their way and liking as it they are the real shitizens. And we are asked to understand them. I would gladly agree with them if one day they asked for a change if the P*P govt. They should also request the party change the party Logo and party name to become Pay a Pig Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Subutai 3rd Gear July 5, 2012 Share July 5, 2012 On 7/5/2012 at 1:21 AM, Bystander50 said: That is the problem I see with AT. They come in, they want to change everything to their way and liking as it they are the real shitizens. And we are asked to understand them. I would gladly agree with them if one day they asked for a change if the P*P govt. Hmmm... by your account, the current FT social integration policy has failed tremedously. They are trying to make locals blend in with them and not the other way round.... sigh. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Albeniz Turbocharged July 5, 2012 Share July 5, 2012 Cannot cook curry and must sing pu tong hua? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Piyopico Supercharged July 5, 2012 Share July 5, 2012 (edited) On 7/5/2012 at 12:44 AM, Bigmatt140 said: actually i agree with her. majority of us are chinese. and we dont understand malay so what is the point? Well, there are no lions in Singapore either, why dun we change the name to FT Island cos there are many FTs here. Those from zoo dun count. Oh no, wait a min, there is already a Korean boy group by the name of FT Island. Too bad. Edited July 5, 2012 by Piyopico Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Albeniz Turbocharged July 5, 2012 Share July 5, 2012 On 7/5/2012 at 4:42 AM, Gee said: How can you have forgotten the title of the anthem you spend 10 years singing ? Title? 钱进吧, 新加坡? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scion Turbocharged July 5, 2012 Share July 5, 2012 On 7/4/2012 at 5:14 PM, Mllcg said: http://www.straitstimes.com/STForum/Story/...ory_818161.html MONDAY'S article ('Sung with national pride') about the significance of national anthems - or their irrelevance - spurred my thoughts about our National Anthem. In all honesty, I almost forgot its title when I tried to recall it; assuming it was Mari Kita (Let Us) because these are the first words, before I remembered that it is Majulah Singapura (Onward Singapore). Sadly, beyond the title, I have no clue what the rest of the anthem means, despite having sung it every single day from primary school to junior college. My second problem is that the anthem is in Malay. If the purpose of a national anthem is to forge national identity and rally citizens towards a common vision or goal, why choose a language that four-fifths of Singaporeans today neither speak nor understand? Should our National Anthem be updated? The view that doing so would open a Pandora's box of unwelcome controversy framed along sensitive racial lines misses the point. The problem is not that most Singaporeans do not understand Malay, but that we do not understand what our National Anthem means. More effort must be made in schools to teach the anthem to students. I remember being cursorily taught its meaning in primary school, with its translation tucked away in an obscure page of a social studies text. If efforts are not made to impress the meaning and significance of the National Anthem, then generations of students will continue to sing Majulah Singapura every morning without understanding its importance or worth. Grace Zhang (Miss) i read her comments once again she din say change the language from malay to chinese, did she? she probably mean change to english as it's a common language among us people just anti-her cos of her surname is hanyu pinyin, accusing her as a PRC (new citizen) but many true blue singaporeans born after the 80s have hanyu pinyin surnames liao Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Donut Supercharged July 5, 2012 Share July 5, 2012 Our anthem is in malay and national language is Malay, got political reasons. Cannot suka Suka change. If we change, risk of war happening is high. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear July 5, 2012 Share July 5, 2012 On 7/5/2012 at 4:38 PM, Donut said: Our anthem is in malay and national language is Malay, got political reasons. Cannot suka Suka change. If we change, risk of war happening is high. It's symbolic. Maybe we can sing the full version in three languages - Malay, Indian, Mandarin representing the early fathers. English is common but not "local". ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...