Tigerwoods Turbocharged July 3, 2012 Share July 3, 2012 (edited) First/Original China town is for tourists, this Second one for who? Tourists as well... its expanding. cannot be called 2nd Chinatown... Its AT Town... Edited July 3, 2012 by Tigerwoods ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear July 3, 2012 Share July 3, 2012 ironic that both chinatowns are not for the local CHINESE in Singapore ahh, this is because the whole of the island is supposed to be for locals!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear July 3, 2012 Share July 3, 2012 Tourists as well... its expanding. cannot be called 2nd Chinatown... Its AT Town... Can call it little Beijing, or little Shanghai? More atas! The XMMs there are little dragon girls Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear July 3, 2012 Share July 3, 2012 If you go to SF or NYC Chinatown especially during new CNY, you can often see on one street, blue sky white cloud red flags.. on the other side 5-stars red flag .. But the street stall selling sinkiang everybody likes .. Here won't see two flags coz we are not able to attract Taiwanese to come here, we only manage to scrap the bottom of mainland for ahtiongs Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Seaweed 1st Gear July 3, 2012 Share July 3, 2012 ha ha....ok...so at least my memory still somehow intact although not very clear... [laugh] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Abachee 2nd Gear July 3, 2012 Share July 3, 2012 How come nobody mention about the A&W at Marine Parade there just few step right infront of the Marine parade library there. The colour painted glass panel window shld to be a joy to watch and all the seat there is leather sofa. I have couple of dates held there when I was in the Secondary school. Those ppl who study around Katong area like TK Tech, TKGS, Dunman High, Dunman Sec, St Hilda Gals, Maju Sec & Broadrick Sec, Siglap sec, St Pat or even KC gals will recall hanging out that joint right after Sch. 3 things that really stand out for me is the Coney dog, Root beer float & the fried chicken. They are Superb food of our time. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scion Turbocharged July 3, 2012 Share July 3, 2012 Tourists as well... its expanding. cannot be called 2nd Chinatown... Its AT Town... the original Chinatown was made up of our Hokkien, Teochew, Hakka and Cantonese ancestors the current one is invaded by ATs, mainly northern ones with irritating accents :angry: Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear July 3, 2012 Share July 3, 2012 Not all Taiwanese .. many are old men who escaped war during early 1930's or 1940's .. or Cantonese and Honkies who escaped Cultural Revolution from 1960's and 1970's, .. and to some extent, many Cantonese support ROC as Sun Yat Sen's establishment for his Cantonese roots, .. Oic, ya forgot there are still older folks you mentioned. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigerwoods Turbocharged July 3, 2012 Share July 3, 2012 Here won't see two flags coz we are not able to attract Taiwanese to come here, we only manage to scrap the bottom of mainland for ahtiongs Here got Flags of underwear lah... We now OOT so if you want to discuss this subject please open new thread... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scion Turbocharged July 3, 2012 Share July 3, 2012 You new to Singapore ? Before the ATs, .. the original Chinatown was already vacated by URA in the 1980's what .. remember the many TV dramas in the 1980's that depicted the "great migration" into new towns ? dun act smart lah Chinatown's history goes all the way back to Raffles' time when they segregated different regions for the four major ethnicity.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scion Turbocharged July 3, 2012 Share July 3, 2012 Raffle's time got move people into HDB meh ? We still on the topic of current demographics of Chinatown right ? no, we are on the topic of A&W Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blu_g Neutral Newbie July 3, 2012 Share July 3, 2012 I so miss A & W root beer float, waffles & curly fries... Now can only go to BKK, Batam or M'sia for it.. Why closed down??? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scion Turbocharged July 3, 2012 Share July 3, 2012 Good roti prata flip!! Respect !! it's A&W cannot off topic again to roti prata, mee goreng or nasi bryani! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
questionedfish Clutched July 3, 2012 Share July 3, 2012 Just wondering, is it still possible to re-franchise A&W in sg again? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mllcg 3rd Gear July 3, 2012 Share July 3, 2012 Just wondering, is it still possible to re-franchise A&W in sg again? u want to ar? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
questionedfish Clutched July 4, 2012 Share July 4, 2012 u want to ar? If possible, why not? But there must be several reasons why A&W finally decided to pull the plug from sg and no one re-franchise it since then Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wyfitms Twincharged July 4, 2012 Share July 4, 2012 If possible, why not? But there must be several reasons why A&W finally decided to pull the plug from sg and no one re-franchise it since then Good idea. I recall the food is quite good when compared to the usual fast food outlets that we have now... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic July 4, 2012 Share July 4, 2012 Good idea. I recall the food is quite good when compared to the usual fast food outlets that we have now... A&W food quite good? I seriously dont remember any good food from there? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...