Any biologist expert?

SimonTan

But leaving a cup of pastaurised milk at room temperature for like 8hr should be ok right?

Some of those 250ml small packet milk don't even need to be kept at room temp.

Just wondering if the L.C strains is still able to multiply and increase in number when giving the right temperature.

Something like home brew to save on yakult weekly cost, if I can keep one container of live culture of L.C. Strains to perpetuate growth.

But leaving a cup of pastaurised milk at room temperature for like 8hr should be ok right?

Just wondering if the L.C strains is still able to multiply and increase in number when giving the right temperature.

Something like home brew to save on yakult weekly cost, if I can keep one container of live culture of L.C. Strains to perpetuate growth.

lets just say that culturing bacteria is all in a day's work for me. Just don't do something stupid. Want the good stuff, go buy it. Serious.

Ok expert talk Liao.

Thanks.

Don't do it. You cannot ensure a sterility for your spoon or anything. This is not as simple as washing your cup or container with detergent.

That being said, I have made yoghurt at home from a starter. Not worth the effort.

some countries like thailand/hk dont store their yakult in fridge de....they are sold on open shelf.

anyway those drinks are too expensive n full of sugar....go buy Probiotics capsules, swallow and get it done...

i buy from iherb.com - http://www.iherb.com/Probiotics-Acidophilus

i brought Avalon Probiotics before at Watson, very costly only to realise i can get all these vits and supplements cheaper at iherb.com

When buying probiotics capsules, u can buy 'iced' or 'room temp stable' capsules, go for the latter, easier to keep.

if u r first time member, use my referral code VUK879 for US$5 off first purchase. LOL.

Alternatively, u can buy a yogurt maker from CK Tangs. Simply buy a carton of milk, pour the yeasts, put in the maker (which actual warm the milk n support fermentation) and u can get ur own yogurt after few hrs.

Edited by Babyt

Thanks.....perhaps the L.CStrains are sterile in the yakult already.

Anyone knows why we must drink yakult or take probiotic everyday?

Is it a scam?

If the body, after taking these probiotic, can be balanced and keeps the good bacteria in the intestine flora growing, then by right we don't need to take probiotic drinks everyday Liao.

Simon ah, peng yu, don't go on an austerity drive so terok liddat leh!

But seriously, to culture a specie of bacterial, it has to be done in very sterile conditions. Otherwise, how you ensure only the LB-C strain flourishes? There are thousands of other species, plus non-bacterial amoeba, or plant microbes like sprilogella, chlamydomonous rivalis etc.!!

In any case, culturing specific strains of bacteria is a whole science in itself. The Japs took years to develop it and you think you can throw all that in a pot and replicate the process?

Milk in itself is a colloidal liquid and it's not only the temperature, but exact pH / acid-base balance for surfactant and electrolytic stability that needs to be maintained and monitored.

The argument that pasteurized milk needs no refrigeration does not hold water here.

Cos the provisor is that the pack of milk must not be opened, to remain sterilized!

Your pouring of milk and yakult in an open pot will be a very large, tempting swimming pool resort for all air-borne micro-organism, unsterilized receptacles and even the dirt under your finger nails!

Edited by Timbuktu

TS always ask this kind of boh liao question when the product has an official website that come with FAQs.

http://www.yakult.com.my/html/faqs.html

Why he wants to single out biologist expert is also boh liao.

Here's the extract from the website for those who dunno how to do a search for information(namely the boh liao TS).

"20. How long can Yakult be kept after taken out from the fridge?

It is not a problem to keep Yakult outside of the fridge for awhile. The Yakult bacteria slowly become active at temperature between 15 to 40 degrees Celsius.

When the bacteria become active, it will begin to produce lactic acid, which will affect the taste and make it sour. When there is too much acid produced, the bacteria will die, and the product will be less effective.

So, when Yakult is left outside of the fridge, the taste will become more sour and it will be less effective, but you can still drink it. However, it is best to keep Yakult refrigerated so you can fully enjoy the taste and health benefits."

yup..i noticed the door to door auntie didn realise room temp changes so i stop buying from her anymore...sheng shiong milk also always bad one....pls highlight them open 1st time, 3 times spoilt brand new h/l or magnolia, i like yakult but not the auntie style.....why the world liddat one~!!!!!!!!!!!

Supermarket frozen goods always get placed at other shelves or at cashier when the buyer decided not to purchase it anymore.

Worst is ice cream tub.

Buy back home, then realized inside got lots of ice crystals, meaning it was defrosted and re frozen before.

Funny we have been thought since young to wash our hands before makan to prevent germs or bacteria from getting into our system but nowadays folks are drinking on purpose liquids containing supposedly good bacteria [laugh]

Still waiting for the day clever scientists invent "beneficial" beer with full flavour but will not cause the bulge on you know where! [;)]

Or already in the market?