Oblong 3rd Gear June 25, 2012 Share June 25, 2012 gen y is more appropriate to US society, which is tied to baby boomers and their offspring. Our demographic makeup is different from US. Gen Z may be closer though, course internet influence is sweeping the world (especially this part of asia with the more developed economies). Strawberry generation (although coined in Taiwan, can be relevant here too) Social scientist can correlate when there is a surge on demand for domestic helpers. But not easy to measure when our teenagers (guys) became more gu niang, or gals having princess mentality. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icedbs Turbocharged June 25, 2012 Share June 25, 2012 Well, the boss has alternatives in FT if the Gen Y complains so much. But does the Gen Y has alternatives if bosses do not want to employ them? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Deckbuild 6th Gear June 25, 2012 Share June 25, 2012 I don't think it's appropriate to categorize into Gen Y or Gen X or what ever Gen 2. Bound to have hardworking and lazy ones around, it depend on your luck who you employ. If you employ someone that is always out to look for loop holes, no matter what you will have problems. I'm ever being asked by my Msia boss why Singaporean like to Job hop. I discuss this question among my mates and colleague, only 1 conclusion, because our basic needs are all too expensive. I believe alot out there don't like to hop if possible but once you have commitment, you have no choice but to hop IF your pay is too low. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hephaestus Clutched June 25, 2012 Share June 25, 2012 Well, the boss has alternatives in FT if the Gen Y complains so much. But does the Gen Y has alternatives if bosses do not want to employ them? SME towkay must be eternally grateful for lazy gen Y, it provides a justification to hire cheaper foreigners. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mockngbrd Supersonic June 25, 2012 Share June 25, 2012 Boss thinks his own generation dun hav lazy bums Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icedbs Turbocharged June 25, 2012 Share June 25, 2012 I don't think it's appropriate to categorize into Gen Y or Gen X or what ever Gen 2. Bound to have hardworking and lazy ones around, it depend on your luck who you employ. If you employ someone that is always out to look for loop holes, no matter what you will have problems. I'm ever being asked by my Msia boss why Singaporean like to Job hop. I discuss this question among my mates and colleague, only 1 conclusion, because our basic needs are all too expensive. I believe alot out there don't like to hop if possible but once you have commitment, you have no choice but to hop IF your pay is too low. In my last company, I told my HR not to send me resumes anyone who job hop. People who job hop a lot tells me a person who is lack of discipline and responsibility. If one think the pay is low, then don't take the job. If one takes it, then be responsible and stick to it for awhile. If one think things are getting expensive, then try to manage his/her finances. After a long while in the corporate world, I came to conclude that people who job hop is not merely seeking needs. It is a constant habitual behavior. Some people who earns $6k-10k and above are also job hopping every 6 months. Is 6k-10k not enough for a decent living? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Oblong 3rd Gear June 25, 2012 Share June 25, 2012 job hop has been an issue through the booming years in the history of singapore. Partly due to tight labour supply and calculative nature as demonstrated by the top decision makers. Gahment solved this by introducing FTs and FWs to (artificially?) increase the labour supply. I do believe the factor of loyalty and kampung spirit will be more prevalent in older generation (maybe even those born in mid 70s). But as time goes on, the kiasu-ness and greed in our society exhibited from top down to bottom rung increases gradually. What is our shared identity? is it kiasu-ness? As such, don't blame the kids. It is the parents who demonstrated the traits and educated them such values day in , day out. Watching korean dramas and facebook their life away, yeah, gen Z behaviour and also part of it is the failure of formal education too. Compare the Finnish education to our rat race, elitist education. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Education_in_Finland "Finnish early childhood education emphasizes respect for each child Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hephaestus Clutched June 25, 2012 Share June 25, 2012 did the towkay change a bigger audi, benz, bmw while insisting gen Y are lazy? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rncw 5th Gear June 25, 2012 Share June 25, 2012 i agree some points from towkay and gen y i 60s is gen what har??? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vid Hypersonic June 25, 2012 Share June 25, 2012 i agree some points from towkay and gen y i 60s is gen what har??? 70s is Gen X. You 60s so Gen W lor Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Viceroymenthol 6th Gear June 25, 2012 Share June 25, 2012 This is a meaningless debate. Towkays no need to talk and debate so much. They will vote with their money who to hire - Singaporean or FT. Money talks. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kiadaw 6th Gear June 25, 2012 Share June 25, 2012 I am also gen Y, loosely speaking, & I actually agree with many points from the boss prespective. I think surf net or facebook every 5-10min max per hour or during break is ok, to relief a bit of stress, or to take a short break from work (much like smokers take their break). But to spend half a day is a little too much. If really too free, to look through some reports or learn something new (even some new spreadsheet commands), even at snall pace, is better. To get a new job, & job hop within week is not very nice IMO, especially if you leave without even notify in person. Our gen and later are having it too easy. everything is serve on a blatter for us. When we start working, many of us we bring this mindset with us. We are already facing fierce competition from regional FTs, if we still have the mindset that we deserve better pay, work lesser than other people, yet demand to be preferred choice, then we have only ourselve to blame if we we fail in life. I agree wthat the living standard in Singapore is high & the low wages is not helping us, & its a problem to be solved, but until then, we are not helping ourselves if we just demand preferral treatment & pay ecasue we are Singaporeans. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator June 25, 2012 Share June 25, 2012 Well, the boss has alternatives in FT if the Gen Y complains so much. But does the Gen Y has alternatives if bosses do not want to employ them? have! mum & dad as ATM Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator June 25, 2012 Share June 25, 2012 i agree some points from towkay and gen y i 60s is gen what har??? its call BABY BOMBER [laugh] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged June 25, 2012 Share June 25, 2012 In my last company, I told my HR not to send me resumes anyone who job hop. People who job hop a lot tells me a person who is lack of discipline and responsibility. If one think the pay is low, then don't take the job. If one takes it, then be responsible and stick to it for awhile. If one think things are getting expensive, then try to manage his/her finances. After a long while in the corporate world, I came to conclude that people who job hop is not merely seeking needs. It is a constant habitual behavior. Some people who earns $6k-10k and above are also job hopping every 6 months. Is 6k-10k not enough for a decent living? ever occure to you that they job hop because their towkay not good?? like say abuse them and under pay them and dont give them pay rise? i happen to work for 4 different bosses who was like that. good thing my last two boss not like that and i stay with them for 5 years until the company about to topple. then no choice i need to think of my family first and leave. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator June 25, 2012 Share June 25, 2012 ever occure to you that they job hop because their towkay not good?? like say abuse them and under pay them and dont give them pay rise? i happen to work for 4 different bosses who was like that. good thing my last two boss not like that and i stay with them for 5 years until the company about to topple. then no choice i need to think of my family first and leave. it is very easy for anyone to dismiss a boss as no good, why should the boss always be angel, take good care of the staff like their children or siblings? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Littleknown Clutched June 25, 2012 Share June 25, 2012 did the towkay change a bigger audi, benz, bmw while insisting gen Y are lazy? Exactly. This type of miserly sme boss is always looking for cheap and good while stowing money away, nearing sharing much their profits in good times. This profile boss very supportive of PAP in general for the cheap FT. Businesses like this should fail long ago and rise of the discerning GenY will make it happen. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freestylers09 5th Gear June 25, 2012 Share June 25, 2012 towkay not happy can dun hire gen y not happy can dun work as simple as that.. why kb each other?lol ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...