Many parts to change but car left with 1 yr 5 mths

Deckbuild

Decided to drive my car till scrape day, the dilemma now is I have a few parts that require changing.

Engine mount worn

Suspension bushing worn

Shock absorber worn

My mileage will be high from now till scrap, should l just spend that thousands or just live with it?

How come you didnt change these parts when your ride is about 6-7 year old?! [:/] A bit wasted to change now since the ride only left 1 year plus.

My mileage goes high only after I switch job and got married. Before that everything was still in very good condition and not due to change.

Last yr clock 50k and now most parts are wearing off.

I predict my mileage to me another 70k till scrap, is it ok for all the changes?

Only u urself know bro

Cos we r not there to feel the ride

If u feel that it's ok n safe to drive on

Then dun hv to waste lor

Safety is the most impt point here

Decided to drive my car till scrape day, the dilemma now is I have a few parts that require changing.

Engine mount worn

Suspension bushing worn

Shock absorber worn

My mileage will be high from now till scrap, should l just spend that thousands or just live with it?

Thousands?

Shouldn't cost that much if you source from scrapyard or used parts.

If your mileage will be high, and these items are not changed, they may affect other parts.

Think at least changed to used parts rather than leave them alone.

Keep the receipts and you might just be able to make your car more attractive if buyers want to extend COE with it, when it is time to scrap.

My mileage goes high only after I switch job and got married. Before that everything was still in very good condition and not due to change.

Last yr clock 50k and now most parts are wearing off.

I predict my mileage to me another 70k till scrap, is it ok for all the changes?

I think sometimes if your car reached certain years, like car already 5 year old. And if you plan to continue driving for another 3-4 years or till scrap, even mileage not high also can consider to change some parts. [rolleyes]

Edited by 13177

maybe you tell us what happens after this car finish? if your intention is to get another brand new car, then might as well repair. becoz brand new car so much more expensive, so the interest you save for 1+ years, is enuff to pay for the repairs.

if you intend to get another used car 3-4 years.. then... abit more difficult to decide. maybe might as well change car now.

another point to consider is betw now and scrap, your car may give you more surprises. so maybe change now better

I think sometimes if your car reached certain years, like car already 5 year old. And if you plan to continue driving for another 3-4 years or till scrap, even mileage not high also can consider to change some parts. [rolleyes]

Will always remember your tips, really ai wan to change them now.

Initially wanted to change new car this yr end, but seeing the COE price really give up on new cars.

maybe you tell us what happens after this car finish? if your intention is to get another brand new car, then might as well repair. becoz brand new car so much more expensive, so the interest you save for 1+ years, is enuff to pay for the repairs.

if you intend to get another used car 3-4 years.. then... abit more difficult to decide. maybe might as well change car now.

another point to consider is betw now and scrap, your car may give you more surprises. so maybe change now better

Most likely getting car that is left with 3 yrs max, seeing the depreciation of newer cars makes me shake head.

Engine mount worn - Engine vibrates alot

Suspension bushing worn - Rumbling sound at low speeds over uneven surfaces

Shock absorber worn - car bouncier

What's your current mileage? My friend drove until 200K without replacing the engine mounting.

Unless your engine vibrates alot or mounting crack den no choice, gotta replace.

In terms of priority:

1. Shock absorber

2. Engine mounting

3. Suspension bushing

What's your current mileage? My friend drove until 200K without replacing the engine mounting.

Unless your engine vibrates alot or mounting crack den no choice, gotta replace.

In terms of priority:

1. Shock absorber

2. Engine mounting

3. Suspension bushing

200k, quite remarkable, unfortunately places I travel doesn't have silk smooth road.

Current mileage 150K

My engine vibrates quite badly once in awhile during idle, when physically looking at engine idling, the movement is easily over 2cm from corner of engine.

Shock absorber still can tahan for maybe another 20k to 30k but if it gives way completely, more lugi for not changing earlier.

My suspension gives a very loud tok tok sound when I cross hump diagonally, also when I brake.

Edited by Deckbuild

Go Jay Bee

[;)]

Thought of going even further since I always frequent Malacca. Are parts cheaper in MY or only labour cheap?

Depends.. If you're driving a Made in Malaysia car, the parts would be cheaper.

Generally labour is cheaper over there.

200k, quite remarkable, unfortunately places I travel doesn't have silk smooth road.

Current mileage 150K

My engine vibrates quite badly once in awhile during idle, when physically looking at engine idling, the movement is easily over 2cm from corner of engine.

Shock absorber still can tahan for maybe another 20k to 30k but if it gives way completely, more lugi for not changing earlier.

My suspension gives a very loud tok tok sound when I cross hump diagonally, also when I brake.

Well I changed mine @ 100K but after changing didnt feel any difference leh. Mech told me worn out need change.

The same mech also told my friend the same thing but he didnt change and drove till scrap without any strong vibration during idling.

I would recommend you to change the absorber and not wait till it fails you because it affects the handling of the car.

Tok tok sound I'm not very sure. Maybe it's the suspension arm or bushing.

Engine mount worn

Suspension bushing worn

Shock absorber worn

Wah! Bro, what car you drive? My previous Altis have clocked 155,000KM( 5.1years) and just change only :

1. Battery - 2 times

2. Brake pad - front only 1 time

3 Tyres - all 4 sides only 1 time

[crazy]