ins1dious Turbocharged June 24, 2012 Share June 24, 2012 On 6/24/2012 at 9:02 AM, Fcw75 said: Just whack the side of the vehicle with whatever you are holding when he drive past without stopping. Did that once to a 5 series with an umbrella who drove past without stopping too. He stopped some distance down and came out. I farked him up and ask him to call the police see who is at fault. In the end, he also LL drive away. It's at CBD too. I like this idea. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ender Hypersonic June 24, 2012 Share June 24, 2012 On 6/24/2012 at 9:18 AM, Soya said: At zebra crossings, shouldn't we as pedestrians also stop to ensure the oncoming car has slowed down and stopping b4 crossing?? Often, u see people juz walk onto zebra crossings not looking out for cars, head down and playing wif their phones maciam their grandfarder's road liddat. They can kpkb all they like and report polis but who's the one that realli suffers in the end? Yes pedestrian should slow down or stop for their own safety. But the driver has a evenbigger responsibility to also slow down and stop if necessary, and the law make sure of that. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic June 24, 2012 Share June 24, 2012 On 6/24/2012 at 1:03 PM, Habeebhashim said: The pedestrian has right of way. There are road marking leading up to a crossing to inform the driver of precisely that. There is an effing crossing ahead. You dont continue speeding and stop at the last minute. You slow down when approaching the crossing and stop if you see someone even vaguely walking towards it. Cos you know.... um... the pedestrian has right of way! I want to be able to cross the effing road at the right place without fear. So many incidents with taxies. Another time, I stop and look before crossing and the fcker taxi keeps driving even though I'm halfway through. This wasn't the incidents last week... this was about a month ago. Actually... its always the same crossing. The right turn from Shenton Way into Palmer Road. There's adequte visibility but still the taxis never stop there. Think its their grandfather road - the fckers. I'm not denying the fact of rule that pedestrian has the right of way. But at the end of the day, common sense muz prevail. One cannot juz expect to raise ur hand and walk right into a zebra crossing without a care. Ultimately, we're all responsible for our own safety. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Obleveonn 2nd Gear June 24, 2012 Share June 24, 2012 (edited) should charge the roller blader also. I dont think a roller blader equates to the definition of pedestrian right? Just like a cyclist has to disembark from the bicycle and push the bike across the road. a person who goes or travels on foot; walker. - the literal meaning of the word pedestrian Edited June 24, 2012 by Obleveonn Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Isc10096 1st Gear June 24, 2012 Share June 24, 2012 Zebra crossing is a type of pedestrian crossing. Pedestrian is defined as a person who goes or travels on foot. So technically, all those who intend to cycle or blade across should not have right of way...but of course being the gracious and safety conscious drivers that we are, we often stop for all those who like to zip across the traffic junctions or other pedestrian crossing. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Babyt 4th Gear June 24, 2012 Share June 24, 2012 (edited) even though pesdestrian has right of way, they sld not assume incoming cars will give way. if they see incoming car, they have to ENSURE CAR STOPPED BEFORE CROSSING. furthermore, this guy is on his roller blade (similar to cyclist) who prefers not to brake and want to wheel their way across the zebra which i hate about. Edited June 24, 2012 by Babyt Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ender Hypersonic June 24, 2012 Share June 24, 2012 On 6/24/2012 at 10:07 AM, SimonTan said: The driver must be brave to run away after the photo of his car is taken. The driver maybe think he can do a woffle woof woof woo....Asked an elderly who can't do jail time to take the fall.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Seaweed 1st Gear June 24, 2012 Share June 24, 2012 yes... right or wrong does not matter...i rather put my own safety in my own hands than to leave it to others!! just two week ago...in the morning...a rare occasion I am not driving...being a driver...i know sometime accident do happen...so i always keep an watchful eye whenever i cross the road even if i have the right of way...to be frank...i will constantly stare at the car while crossing...i reach a zebra crossing that morning...a car which was suppose to go straight suddenly decided to turn...i was right in front of the zebra crossing and he zoom past...it's a mazda...so zoom zoom zoom...well he did realise the fault and he wave at me...but if he had down me down....no amount of waving can help...but as a driver...i know sometimes it is like this on the road...as a pedestrain...it does not make us become king of the road...safety is something that we need to take care of by ourself and not leave it to others.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
macrosszero Turbocharged June 24, 2012 Share June 24, 2012 Several times, as a pedestrian, as I was walking toward a zebra crossing, when I see cars coming at an unreasonably fast speed, I would do a WTF body language and point at the zebra crossing Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vulcann 6th Gear June 24, 2012 Author Share June 24, 2012 On 6/24/2012 at 1:46 PM, Seaweed said: yes... right or wrong does not matter...i rather put my own safety in my own hands than to leave it to others!! just two week ago...in the morning...a rare occasion I am not driving...being a driver...i know sometime accident do happen...so i always keep an watchful eye whenever i cross the road even if i have the right of way...to be frank...i will constantly stare at the car while crossing...i reach a zebra crossing that morning...a car which was suppose to go straight suddenly decided to turn...i was right in front of the zebra crossing and he zoom past...it's a mazda...so zoom zoom zoom...well he did realise the fault and he wave at me...but if he had down me down....no amount of waving can help...but as a driver...i know sometimes it is like this on the road...as a pedestrain...it does not make us become king of the road...safety is something that we need to take care of by ourself and not leave it to others.... Agree. If only all road-users, pedestrians & motorists alike, practice & observe road safety then we will have no or minimum traffic accidents. Then again we are living in a imperfect world so... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kurtselva 2nd Gear June 24, 2012 Share June 24, 2012 On 6/24/2012 at 11:51 AM, Vulcann said: Bro, errrr....not me but another one whose brother kena posted it in STOMP. Oh sry Pai seh Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vulcann 6th Gear June 24, 2012 Author Share June 24, 2012 On 6/24/2012 at 3:37 PM, Kurtselva said: Oh sry Pai seh No worries dude Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver_blade Turbocharged June 24, 2012 Share June 24, 2012 On 6/24/2012 at 1:46 PM, Seaweed said: yes... right or wrong does not matter...i rather put my own safety in my own hands than to leave it to others!! just two week ago...in the morning...a rare occasion I am not driving...being a driver...i know sometime accident do happen...so i always keep an watchful eye whenever i cross the road even if i have the right of way...to be frank...i will constantly stare at the car while crossing...i reach a zebra crossing that morning...a car which was suppose to go straight suddenly decided to turn...i was right in front of the zebra crossing and he zoom past...it's a mazda...so zoom zoom zoom...well he did realise the fault and he wave at me...but if he had down me down....no amount of waving can help...but as a driver...i know sometimes it is like this on the road...as a pedestrain...it does not make us become king of the road...safety is something that we need to take care of by ourself and not leave it to others.... Totally agree with you and this is what I have been telling my young children. Doesn't matter who has the right of way...if you are dead or lost a limp.... so what if you are right. Better to stay alive to make sure lousy drivers kenna warned by TP. But, in the last decade, more pedestrians are ignoring traffic rules....some will continue to stroll across a 3 line even tho the green-man has turned red....or crossing without even looking for traffic..either looking at their phone or the ground. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sabian Turbocharged June 24, 2012 Share June 24, 2012 (edited) This is Singapore. No need to talk so much. Just install CCTV at zebra crossings and make such offenses -12 demerit points + 5000 dollar fine. Guarantee you all drivers will kwai kwai approach pedestrian crossings. Edited June 24, 2012 by Sabian Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beehive3783 Turbocharged June 24, 2012 Share June 24, 2012 On 6/24/2012 at 12:09 PM, 20G said: dun worry, ur hard not to be spotted by on coming vehicles. i think the cars will sustain bigger damage shd they crash into u. hee hee.. Oei! Don't anyhow anyhow hor! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beehive3783 Turbocharged June 24, 2012 Share June 24, 2012 On 6/24/2012 at 12:41 PM, Mkl22 said: You are different. You are a driver too and have much better situation awareness. Most drivers will be careful when they are pedestrians. Cause they all know in any contact the pedestrian has the most to lose. So why act like grandfather road and lose a limb, if not your life. I don't need to be a driver to know simple things such as this. I have parents and teachers to teach me even before I know how to start the engine of a car. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beehive3783 Turbocharged June 24, 2012 Share June 24, 2012 On 6/24/2012 at 1:03 PM, Habeebhashim said: The pedestrian has right of way. There are road marking leading up to a crossing to inform the driver of precisely that. There is an effing crossing ahead. You dont continue speeding and stop at the last minute. You slow down when approaching the crossing and stop if you see someone even vaguely walking towards it. Cos you know.... um... the pedestrian has right of way! I want to be able to cross the effing road at the right place without fear. So many incidents with taxies. Another time, I stop and look before crossing and the fcker taxi keeps driving even though I'm halfway through. This wasn't the incidents last week... this was about a month ago. Actually... its always the same crossing. The right turn from Shenton Way into Palmer Road. There's adequte visibility but still the taxis never stop there. Think its their grandfather road - the fckers. Right of way? Who gives a damn about that nowadays? As a pedestrian, you should always look after your own life, and not expect this and that from other parties. Right of way is one thing, but when insisting on that right of way gets you killed, what point does it bring? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vulcann 6th Gear June 24, 2012 Author Share June 24, 2012 On 6/24/2012 at 5:06 PM, Sabian said: This is Singapore. No need to talk so much. Just install CCTV at zebra crossings and make such offenses -12 demerit points + 5000 dollar fine. Guarantee you all drivers will kwai kwai approach pedestrian crossings. Sad to say you maybe right in this. For example folks seem to promptly throw out the seat belting requirements out of their car windows once out of our state boundary nowadays... We are likely to only comply with rules when there are heavy fines looming over us even though these rules are basically in existence for our very own safety. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...