Antlau 1st Gear June 24, 2012 Share June 24, 2012 sorry to digress... from the stomp posting linked, there was an article about Remy Ong knocking down a stray dog. There was a mention inside the article saying that if knock down animal, have to offer assistance too. Is that true? I know it is true for knocking down people, but animals (strays)? So i call police, will they help?... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic June 24, 2012 Share June 24, 2012 On 6/24/2012 at 10:37 AM, Beehive3783 said: Most pedestrians are very complacent nowadays, they don't even stop to check before crossing and just proceed to cross the road like it belongs to their grandfather. When I'm a pedestrian, I always stop, make eye contact with the driver of the oncoming vehicle, make sure he sees me and I will only start crossing when I can see that he's slowing down to a stop. Precisely. But going by the stomper, he say his brother put up hand b4 crossing as that was what he was thought in school. U mean in school, they teach our young that raising the magical right hand will instantly stop a car and there's no need to exercise common sense b4 crossing? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fitvip Supersonic June 24, 2012 Share June 24, 2012 Be safe. Do the right thing at the right place! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mockngbrd Supersonic June 24, 2012 Share June 24, 2012 if driver is FT then rollerblader will sux thumb Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Good-Carbuyer 1st Gear June 24, 2012 Share June 24, 2012 On 6/24/2012 at 5:42 AM, Vulcann said: From STOMP: http://singaporeseen.stomp.com.sg/stomp/sg...a_crossing.html Posted on 23 Jun 2012 Hit-and-run driver hits rollerblader at zebra crossing then flees STOMPer Chan says his brother was knocked down by the driver of this car, momentarily trapping his leg under its bumper. When his brother told the man he would call the police, the driver lied about parking his car elsewhere to not obstruct traffic and simply fled the scene. The STOMPer wrote: "My brother was rollerblading in the Jurong West area when he was about to cross a zebra crossing. "He raised his hand to signal to one oncoming car (about 10 metres away) that he is going to cross the road. "If you attended primary school, you would know that safety lessons teach us about raising hands before and during crossing the road. "However this driver did not stop and knocked onto my brother, causing his right leg with the roller blade on to be stuck under his bumper. "The driver came down and asked my brother if he was okay. "My brother used force to pull out his leg, damaging his roller blade and the conversation was as below: "Driver: Are you ok? "My brother nodded and asked: Do you know this is a zebra crossing for pedestrians? "Driver: No, not really. "Bro: I raised my hand to signal I was going to cross. "Driver: No, I thought you were going to stop. "Bro: Are you going to be responsible? "Driver: No. "Bro: I am going to call the police now. "Upon hearing this, the driver was stunned and immediately went back into his car. My brother then followed and stopped in front of his car to prevent him from running away. "Despite my brother standing in front of his car, the driver accelerated, forcing my brother to move backward a few steps. "My brother then stood firm to see if the driver will continue to move forward. The driver stopped and came down from his car a second time and told my brother that he wanted to park the car in another place in order to not block traffic. "Instead of doing that, he drove away. "A witness came down to help my brother who sustained a slight injury. Traffic police came sometime later to take down the report and my brother was asked to go for medical check-up and make a second police report at the police post. "I put up this post not because we are not being compensatedfor my brother Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beehive3783 Turbocharged June 24, 2012 Share June 24, 2012 On 6/24/2012 at 10:44 AM, Soya said: Precisely. But going by the stomper, he say his brother put up hand b4 crossing as that was what he was thought in school. U mean in school, they teach our young that raising the magical right hand will instantly stop a car and there's no need to exercise common sense b4 crossing? Maybe his hand has magic powers, just that the powers were depleted that night? [laugh] Anyway, I call bullsh1t on the rollerblader. He must have contributed to the accident somehow. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vulcann 6th Gear June 24, 2012 Author Share June 24, 2012 On 6/24/2012 at 8:51 AM, Kurtselva said: Sorry for you bro.. IMO, if either party have practised safety, the incident could have been avoided. If I am a pedestrian going to cross the zebra crossing, I would stop before crossing and ensure that oncoming cars slow down/stop and the driver noticed me to ensure that he is aware that I'm going to cross..I have also seen many drivers just zooming past zebra crossing even with pedestrians waiting to cross..very very bad drivers If I am the driver, I will slow down when approaching zebra crossings even when no one is ard cos all of a sudden there might be someone crossing or cycling at the zebra crossing Bro, errrr....not me but another one whose brother kena posted it in STOMP. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vulcann 6th Gear June 24, 2012 Author Share June 24, 2012 On 6/24/2012 at 10:07 AM, SimonTan said: The driver must be brave to run away after the photo of his car is taken. MCF rules not to post the VRN so I chose another photo to upload it. The owner of this white Honda better be prepared to answer some serious questions from the TP... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SimonTan 2nd Gear June 24, 2012 Share June 24, 2012 Same reason that most driver think they signal other must give them chance to chane lane no matter how unreasonable! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vulcann 6th Gear June 24, 2012 Author Share June 24, 2012 Whether its the rollerblader's fault or not, the driver still have to stay back and render assistance until things were ok then make a police report since there were injuries. Now it is considered a hit-&-run so the driver got to be prepared to face the consequences...unless he had solid witnesses or video cams showing the blader came out of nowhere to cause the accident. Still the not-staying part will probably nail him [shakehead] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
20G 1st Gear June 24, 2012 Share June 24, 2012 On 6/24/2012 at 10:37 AM, Beehive3783 said: Most pedestrians are very complacent nowadays, they don't even stop to check before crossing and just proceed to cross the road like it belongs to their grandfather. When I'm a pedestrian, I always stop, make eye contact with the driver of the oncoming vehicle, make sure he sees me and I will only start crossing when I can see that he's slowing down to a stop. dun worry, ur hard not to be spotted by on coming vehicles. i think the cars will sustain bigger damage shd they crash into u. hee hee.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic June 24, 2012 Share June 24, 2012 On 6/24/2012 at 10:37 AM, Beehive3783 said: Most pedestrians are very complacent nowadays, they don't even stop to check before crossing and just proceed to cross the road like it belongs to their grandfather. When I'm a pedestrian, I always stop, make eye contact with the driver of the oncoming vehicle, make sure he sees me and I will only start crossing when I can see that he's slowing down to a stop. You are different. You are a driver too and have much better situation awareness. Most drivers will be careful when they are pedestrians. Cause they all know in any contact the pedestrian has the most to lose. So why act like grandfather road and lose a limb, if not your life. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mcf777 Turbocharged June 24, 2012 Share June 24, 2012 roller blade guy deserved it. Roller blade on the road is damn dangerous. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Count-Bracula Twincharged June 24, 2012 Share June 24, 2012 Roller blader asking for trouble and will meet his maker if he choose to carry on his silly antics. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Seaweed 1st Gear June 24, 2012 Share June 24, 2012 a unstoppable rollerblader vs a unstoppable car...actually the conclusion very good liao...rollerblader slightly injured...the other car still can move and carry on his life...else it is will rollerblader die...driver jail...all lost the game... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic June 24, 2012 Share June 24, 2012 On 6/24/2012 at 10:57 AM, Beehive3783 said: Maybe his hand has magic powers, just that the powers were depleted that night? [laugh] Anyway, I call bullsh1t on the rollerblader. He must have contributed to the accident somehow. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Seaweed 1st Gear June 24, 2012 Share June 24, 2012 first time i try cycling on the road this afternoon...in a decently long stretch(about 5km) of rather desserted road...now i understand the difference between cycling on the park connector and road...on the road...it seem that I use less energy...probably because of the surface and minimum bumps...on the park connector...i got to paddle hard to maintain about 19km/hr on my 20" foldable...on the road...i can go constantly at 23km/hr with less effort...i also became the "bai bian jing gang" because to stop means more siong.... but conclusion...i will still stay with the park connectors that it is more "siong" to ride...and a little bit more bumpy at times...because to exercise means being "siong" is better...bumpy road...if i can do it on a bumpy path...i am sure i can do better on the road...this afternoon is just an one off trial after so many years... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ins1dious Turbocharged June 24, 2012 Share June 24, 2012 On 6/24/2012 at 10:44 AM, Soya said: Precisely. But going by the stomper, he say his brother put up hand b4 crossing as that was what he was thought in school. U mean in school, they teach our young that raising the magical right hand will instantly stop a car and there's no need to exercise common sense b4 crossing? The pedestrian has right of way. There are road marking leading up to a crossing to inform the driver of precisely that. There is an effing crossing ahead. You dont continue speeding and stop at the last minute. You slow down when approaching the crossing and stop if you see someone even vaguely walking towards it. Cos you know.... um... the pedestrian has right of way! I want to be able to cross the effing road at the right place without fear. So many incidents with taxies. Another time, I stop and look before crossing and the fcker taxi keeps driving even though I'm halfway through. This wasn't the incidents last week... this was about a month ago. Actually... its always the same crossing. The right turn from Shenton Way into Palmer Road. There's adequte visibility but still the taxis never stop there. Think its their grandfather road - the fckers. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...