Obleveonn 2nd Gear June 26, 2012 Author Share June 26, 2012 In the business world, you can nego $$$ and talk...and talk.. The main objective is "Deal" between buyer and seller. Yes bro, there is always a deal to be done. But I dont believe in making a mockery of any deal. Both parties must come to terms which are favourable to evreyone. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged June 26, 2012 Share June 26, 2012 Galantspeedz Can, you can offer 10k below the selling price. If the car in question does not even have a 10k margin, no one will sell their product or a service at a loss. so the issue is not about the amount but it is the margin. Yes, used car prices are not regulated, no one knows the right price. BUT, with sgcarmart, you can estimated how much is the margin. honestly speaking, a honest car dealer will take in easy to move cars at a margin less then 10k ( depending on condition). Not so easy to move may be more as they are also afraid that the car may not be able to move. I am not trying to b-------t or whatever here. But Im trying to just share my experience. the problem is... we do not know what is the dealer margin... there is no fixed amount that a dealer will take in the car.... thus we will not know the margin.. why are buyers offering below 10k in the first place? because that was what dealers used to do when they want to buy a car... so unless your forehead is stamped.. i am a good and honest dealer... 'we won't know how to differentiate'a good or bad car broker/salesman honestly speaking, a dealer that is afraid a car won't move will offer a lower price to seller but that does not mean they will lower price to buyer... that's why until recently, conti cars have higher depreciation even though they have lesser body value... true? no one is saying you are b-------tting.... we are all sharing our experiences too Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic June 26, 2012 Share June 26, 2012 (edited) Used car dealers need to step up their service. Right now they are no more than scalpers. No value added. Merely ask bangla to wash, basic polish and kilat the interior. And still demand a high profit margin to pay for their lifestyle. eh....who says used car dealers no value add? they value add by reducing mileage for the next owner ok? so kind. Edited June 26, 2012 by Soya Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Booboon 1st Gear June 26, 2012 Share June 26, 2012 friend, I get comm from dealer because they are earning from the car. Why let my buyer pay more when there is no need But the problem is since u need a cut on the profit, therefore dealer will factor it in when selling the car, so owner indirectly paying for higher price? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
20G 1st Gear June 26, 2012 Share June 26, 2012 the problem is... we do not know what is the dealer margin... there is no fixed amount that a dealer will take in the car.... thus we will not know the margin.. why are buyers offering below 10k in the first place? because that was what dealers used to do when they want to buy a car... so unless your forehead is stamped.. i am a good and honest dealer... 'we won't know how to differentiate'a good or bad car broker/salesman honestly speaking, a dealer that is afraid a car won't move will offer a lower price to seller but that does not mean they will lower price to buyer... that's why until recently, conti cars have higher depreciation even though they have lesser body value... true? no one is saying you are b-------tting.... we are all sharing our experiences too 1st, u r wary of valets thinking they might do monkey business wif ur car . next, u think car dealers or brokers will anyhow mark up price and fleece u off. next time u go out rem to bring umbrella. ur neighbour might empty one pot of boiling curry on u. [] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic June 26, 2012 Share June 26, 2012 this car that i gave a discount i made a loss. I did not earn. What made you sell the car at a loss? You liked the customer very much? You needed to clear off the car as it was around too long? The depreciation of holding the car is higher than the loss? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged June 26, 2012 Share June 26, 2012 1st, u r wary of valets thinking they might do monkey business wif ur car . next, u think car dealers or brokers will anyhow mark up price and fleece u off. next time u go out rem to bring umbrella. ur neighbour might empty one pot of boiling curry on u. [] salah leh... who drive my car.. i decide....i don't see what is wrong with being a tad more cautious.... no hand no leg meh.. need pple park car for you...as for car dealers mark up price and fleece me.... as long as a price is agreed both are happy.. what should i bother how much a dealer earn... i should bother more how much i can afford... you read properly leh... he ask how can buyer quote 10k off selling price? i am just quoting some of the rationale for the quote.... also he say a honest car dealer will take in popular car and sell at less than 10k margin..... i beg to differ.... a honest car dealer will not hide what he knows about the car.. example, true mileage of car, accident free anot, paper value, etc.... a honest car dealer that earns more than 10k a car is still a honest car dealer as long as he dont hide anything he knows about the car when asked... i think you think too much.. you keep thinking people scared this scared that.... it is all about making an informed decision and taking acceptable risks... as for curry... i dont mind.. fish curry pls... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
20G 1st Gear June 26, 2012 Share June 26, 2012 salah leh... who drive my car.. i decide....i don't see what is wrong with being a tad more cautious.... no hand no leg meh.. need pple park car for you...as for car dealers mark up price and fleece me.... as long as a price is agreed both are happy.. what should i bother how much a dealer earn... i should bother more how much i can afford... you read properly leh... he ask how can buyer quote 10k off selling price? i am just quoting some of the rationale for the quote.... also he say a honest car dealer will take in popular car and sell at less than 10k margin..... i beg to differ.... a honest car dealer will not hide what he knows about the car.. example, true mileage of car, accident free anot, paper value, etc.... a honest car dealer that earns more than 10k a car is still a honest car dealer as long as he dont hide anything he knows about the car when asked... i think you think too much.. you keep thinking people scared this scared that.... it is all about making an informed decision and taking acceptable risks... as for curry... i dont mind.. fish curry pls... wa lau.. wat a wall of text. joking wif u one la. haha. asam curry fish head? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged June 26, 2012 Share June 26, 2012 wa lau.. wat a wall of text. joking wif u one la. haha. asam curry fish head? assam can.... but i want quality fish hor.... and i still waiting for my melban Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Obleveonn 2nd Gear June 26, 2012 Author Share June 26, 2012 the problem is... we do not know what is the dealer margin... there is no fixed amount that a dealer will take in the car.... thus we will not know the margin.. why are buyers offering below 10k in the first place? because that was what dealers used to do when they want to buy a car... so unless your forehead is stamped.. i am a good and honest dealer... 'we won't know how to differentiate'a good or bad car broker/salesman honestly speaking, a dealer that is afraid a car won't move will offer a lower price to seller but that does not mean they will lower price to buyer... that's why until recently, conti cars have higher depreciation even though they have lesser body value... true? no one is saying you are b-------tting.... we are all sharing our experiences too Well, I guess it takes time to change the perception of used car dealers. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Obleveonn 2nd Gear June 26, 2012 Author Share June 26, 2012 But the problem is since u need a cut on the profit, therefore dealer will factor it in when selling the car, so owner indirectly paying for higher price? Boon, I cant answer this question of yours. But rest assured that owner is not indirectly paying a higher price. If we have a chance to meet, I will explain to you. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Obleveonn 2nd Gear June 26, 2012 Author Share June 26, 2012 eh....who says used car dealers no value add? they value add by reducing mileage for the next owner ok? so kind. Alamak, Dont like that say lar. Not all are like that lei. :) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Obleveonn 2nd Gear June 26, 2012 Author Share June 26, 2012 What made you sell the car at a loss? You liked the customer very much? You needed to clear off the car as it was around too long? The depreciation of holding the car is higher than the loss? we calculated wrongly and committed but luckily I managed to talk to my client lar. the car was a car that is generally hard to move and my dealer makan too high. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Obleveonn 2nd Gear June 26, 2012 Author Share June 26, 2012 assam can.... but i want quality fish hor.... and i still waiting for my melban u all selling fish ah? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
macrosszero Turbocharged June 26, 2012 Share June 26, 2012 Dear TS, It all stems from ego. And you obviously have quite a lot of it, hence you can't take criticisms. But how else can you make sales? You think that just because the cars you're trying to sell are competitively priced, have genuine mileage/service records/whatever, customers must buy from you? Without being humble, and providing customer service, effectively value-adding to the customer's shopping experience. You're going to have to be thick-skinned (which you don't seem to be) and have persistence and patience. I see that you're being quite a facetious person - friendly and bro-bro with the people who emphasize with you and aggressive and rude to those persons who point out where you are wrong (and could improve). Are you going to be one of those salesmen that are friendly before I sign on the purchase agreement, and make me beg you after I do? If you are here to get a group hug, you're looking in the wrong place, internet forums are the least reliable place for a reassuring word. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Obleveonn 2nd Gear June 26, 2012 Author Share June 26, 2012 Dear TS, It all stems from ego. And you obviously have quite a lot of it, hence you can't take criticisms. But how else can you make sales? You think that just because the cars you're trying to sell are competitively priced, have genuine mileage/service records/whatever, customers must buy from you? Without being humble, and providing customer service, effectively value-adding to the customer's shopping experience. You're going to have to be thick-skinned (which you don't seem to be) and have persistence and patience. I see that you're being quite a facetious person - friendly and bro-bro with the people who emphasize with you and aggressive and rude to those persons who point out where you are wrong (and could improve). Are you going to be one of those salesmen that are friendly before I sign on the purchase agreement, and make me beg you after I do? If you are here to get a group hug, you're looking in the wrong place, internet forums are the least reliable place for a reassuring word. Hi Macrosszero Thanks for your kind input. Yup, I agree internet forums are not the place for a reassuring word, I was just sharing my experiences here. I was actually gonna share my experience on good customers. But too tired today as had a few inquiries. Well, its not that I want to be rude or aggressive to persons who point out my mistakes, it is sarcasm that irks me. If I am not wrong, I was only unhappy about one or two persons here and even then, I have eaten the humble pie so as to speak and relented. However, I just wanted to assert that if any more rude or sarcastic comments, it is best that both parties meet face to face to sling it out. Like your post, I am neither angry nor agressive and in fact it makes sense. Cheers Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigershark1976 Turbocharged June 26, 2012 Share June 26, 2012 Like that you alrd KPKB... wait you work in F&B industry... want to add rice, add soup, add meat, add veg and add drinks.... the only thing they dont want to add is the price.... and thats just a few dollars a plate worth of mix veg rice.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Obleveonn 2nd Gear June 26, 2012 Author Share June 26, 2012 Like that you alrd KPKB... wait you work in F&B industry... want to add rice, add soup, add meat, add veg and add drinks.... the only thing they dont want to add is the price.... and thats just a few dollars a plate worth of mix veg rice.... Yes sir! I know and feel you. I worked in a restaurant before. Never will I go back to restaurant or F&B line. thats why I really salute those F&B lao jiao! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...