STOMP producer caught faking news?

Ahtong

Then how to explain the pic? It doesn't looked like photoshop job to me..

It's likely very well photoshopped. Like some of the posts above, there are doubts whether the pic is real. Unless there are more people coming forward to verify it, I don't think her stomp post is genuine -_-

u 走火入魔 leow [laugh]

i just took my kids to henderson wave to pictire of them firing a nerf gpmg at about 6pm at:

ISO 320

F4

200mm

1/250s

this time no flash because i spam the camera at 6 frames per second (no flash cannot keep up with that kind of speed)

450 picture taken

1 outstanding :wub:

9 quite good [thumbsup]

30 good [:p]

400 mediocre (delete) [:(]

10 out of focus (delete) :ph34r:

is STOMP Content Producer a formal name for stompers?

or does it refer to a person EMPLOYED by Stomp/SPH?

is STOMP Content Producer a formal name for stompers?

or does it refer to a person EMPLOYED by Stomp/SPH?

most likely stomper :ph34r:

I am actually more interested in why the door opened on the wrong side, and whether the train did move with the doors open..

from the picture, the train was not moving at all, it could be a servicing train with part of the train out of the plateform, hence you can see the railing.

the other train (where the stomper take the picture from) could be coming into or leaving the station (in slow speed), hence able her to take the photo with the station signage reflected.

i just took my kids to henderson wave to pictire of them firing a nerf gpmg at about 6pm at:

ISO 320

F4

200mm

1/250s

this time no flash because i spam the camera at 6 frames per second (no flash cannot keep up with that kind of speed)

450 picture taken

1 outstanding :wub:

9 quite good [thumbsup]

30 good [:p]

400 mediocre (delete) [:(]

10 out of focus (delete) :ph34r:

u actually reviewed all 450 photos??

errrr.......dont understand......pai seh....... [blush]

If you look at their job history, they were once "Content Producers" for STOMP. This means it may be a real job.

Having said that, I found a LinkedIn profile for a "Samantha Ann Francis". Not sure if she is the one in question but her profile does not list her as employed by Stomp

Confusion [dizzy][dizzy]

If you look at their job history, they were once "Content Producers" for STOMP. This means it may be a real job.

Having said that, I found a LinkedIn profile for a "Samantha Ann Francis". Not sure if she is the one in question but her profile does not list her as employed by Stomp

Confusion [dizzy][dizzy]

ahh.... if she is employed by SPH,then she can't siam. She could be forced by her bosses to revisit the station to follow-up on the story even though she could have faked it.

if its a normal stomper, she probably wouldnt bother turning up at all.

Confusion [dizzy][dizzy]

I know which profile you're referring to. It is indeed her cos the profile pic in her linkedln is showing the same person as what ST has

Confusion [dizzy][dizzy]

this fancis jialat liao

internet anyhow talk cork also need to take some measure of responsibility

now is msm talk leh! the amt of responsibility is totally different, cannot anyhow anyhow one

ahh.... if she is employed by SPH,then she can't siam. She could be forced by her bosses to revisit the station to follow-up on the story even though she could have faked it.

if its a normal stomper, she probably wouldnt bother turning up at all.

dai ji tua tiao liao!!!!

Stomp staff sacked over false 'MRT open door photo'

AsiaOne

Monday, Jun 25, 2012

A photograph of an MRT train moving with one set of its doors open, has been found to be false.

A content producer of Singapore's citizen journalism website Stomp had initially claimed that she took the photograph last week.

23-year-old Samantha Francis claimed that she took the photograph herself at Lakeside MRT station last Tuesday night.

Following investigations by Singapore Press Holdings (SPH), Ms Francis eventually admitted that she had taken the image from a post on social networking site Twitter.

RELATED STORIES

Passenger was not at Lakeside MRT station: SMRT

'MRT cabin door left open while travelling'

The original tweet has since been removed.

On discovering this, Mr Patrick Daniel, editor-in-chief of SPH's English and Malay Newspapers Division, sent a letter to Mr Tan Ek Kia, the interim chief executive of rail operator SMRT, apologising for the incident.

Ms Francis was also sacked by SPH, which owns Stomp, on the same day.

Mr Daniel said in his letter to SMRT: 'My team and I would like to apologise unreservedly to SMRT for this erroneous report by one of our staff. We truly regret the damage this has caused SMRT.'

He added: 'Aside from breaching our professional ethics, what she (Ms Francis) has done goes against all the values that we stand for.'

STOMP would like to apologise for the posting on June 20, supposedly showing an SMRT train that left Lakeside station with one set of doors open. The report, submitted by a STOMP content producer, has been found to be fabricated.

The content producer, Ms Samantha Ann Francis, had submitted the photo to STOMP, claiming that she had taken it when she was at Lakeside MRT Station at 10.15pm on June 19.

Following investigations by our staff, Ms Francis has admitted that she had in fact taken the photo off a posting on Twitter. The original tweet has since been removed.

Ms Francis has been dismissed by Singapore Press Holdings, which owns Stomp.

SPH sent a letter yesterday (24/5) to SMRT's interim CEO Tan Ek Kia apologising for the incident.

Mr Patrick Daniel, editor-in-chief of SPH's English and Malay Newspapers Division, said in the letter: "My team and I would like to apologise unreservedly to SMRT for this erroneous report by one of our staff. We truly regret the damage this has caused SMRT."

He added: "Aside from breaching our professional ethics, what Ms Francis has done goes against all the values that we stand for."

As STOMP editor, I would also like to personally apologise to SMRT and members of the public for this erroneous article in STOMP. I deeply regret that one of our staff breached professional ethics and posted a fabricated report.

I would like to assure the public and all STOMP readers that the website does not tolerate such unethical behaviour.

We will also be reviewing our operating procedures and will do everything we can to prevent such a lapse from recurring.

wahaha.....used to feel that stomp was longkang-standard news. i admit i was was wrong.

it's more like a cesspool..... [laugh]