White bicycle along coastal road.

New_Atlantis

http://www.straitstimes.com/breaking-news/...changi-20130506

THE lorry involved in the accident that killed a cyclist on Changi Coast Road last Saturday was stationary at the time.

The cyclist, whose name was not given, was a 29-year-old Briton who was working in a bank in Singapore.

He is understood to have been riding in a small group along the popular 7km stretch when he collided with the rear of the lorry.

He was pronounced dead on the spot by paramedics.

Very strange case, is the guy blind or does he expect the lorry to move away for him. Or did he develop tunnel vision from cycling so fast. Group also never warn him about hitting the lorry.

Aiyah, he was probably "in the zone" and on the drop bars or aerobars if he was riding a tri-bike. In those situations you tend to look down to reduce the strain on the neck and also to be more aero, with occasional glances up to check the conditions ahead.

He was probably the first rider in the group and if they are on tri-bikes they tend not to draft each other too close, unless they stupiak (tri bikes more dangerous to ride in peloton/group). So he go long the lowlee first then the others zham brake or siam lor. I think got one lady also fell down in this incident.

Like i said, it's not the first time this has happened at coastal and won't be the last time.

CONFIRM photoshopped.

Though I don't condone some cyclists behaviour, I can be sure to say that so far I haven't seen any dumbass cycling right in the middle of coastal road.

Anyway it's a half-arsed job. Not saying they anyhow place the cyclists but just look at the quality.

3rd Gear

how is that an artist impression?

a very good artist showing cycling utopia

he drawing is almost real.

You are right.

I really do not like to see road bikers, i've seen enough of road bike groups that leads me to think that they own the lane, they are not responsible at all and they think that they really have the right of way.

Is riding side by side or further out to the left of the road markings on the side of the ride a good defensive riding habit? I doubt so.

Like i say, i am a avid cyclist before and now a driver that occasionally cycle, cycling can jolly well be done on the pedestrian path and pcn.

If you can't take care of the pedestrian while on the pedestrian path, i doubt that you can handle the ride on the road.

And before i started driving, i thought riding wasn't too much of a danger, but my mindset changes after i started driving.

Cycling on the road was so much more dangerous than i thought it would be, and i been doing it almost daily during 2009-2011.

It had definitely something to do with the speed, don't deny it, even for driving, you react better when the speed is slower.

i use to go for speed on my mountain bike, down a long stretch of that same slope daily at above 40km/h and often thought the what if....

but for sake of speed, i choose to ignore it....Thanks the various guardians of good faith, i am unscattered so far and i've stop risking my life for the chase of speed.

Fair enough, you are entitled to your own opinions.

But to label road bike cyclists as speed demons are akin to labelling drivers of performance cars as reckless drivers who have no regards for the speed limits.

Like you, i am a driver as well. However, that does not mean that i can use that as an excuse to pass a judgement that all road cyclists are dangerous idiots in their quest for more speed.

I still stand by my opinion that speed, or rather, the type of bicycles is the not the main crux for this problem, but rather its the complacency of both drivers and riders. But of course to those road bike cyclists who choose to cycle on peak hours, they knew the risks and should blame no one if they got involved in an accident.

Fair enough, you are entitled to your own opinions.

But to label road bike cyclists as speed demons are akin to labelling drivers of performance cars as reckless drivers who have no regards for the speed limits.

Like you, i am a driver as well. However, that does not mean that i can use that as an excuse to pass a judgement that all road cyclists are dangerous idiots in their quest for more speed.

I still stand by my opinion that speed, or rather, the type of bicycles is the not the main crux for this problem, but rather its the complacency of both drivers and riders. But of course to those road bike cyclists who choose to cycle on peak hours, they knew the risks and should blame no one if they got involved in an accident.

"Many people do not understand that cycling is not just a sport, it is not just a transport, it is a way of life."

Bicycle is part of the solution of our transport system.

"Many people do not understand that cycling is not just a sport, it is not just a transport, it is a way of life."

Bicycle is part of the solution of our transport system.

BE. CONSISTENT.

If you want to argue for the men in tights right to cycle along coastal road despite the presence of PCN (it is a hobby and they need to train riding fast), you will realized that the motive for these people cycling is certainly not "alternative transportation". Pls dun try to win an argument for the sake of it.

If transportation is indeed the only point of cyclist, in that case would the cyclist community be able to live with a ban on cycling on roads where there is a parallel PCN connector? If not, you are just reinforcing the image that the cyclist community is a loud demanding one who wants everything but gives nothing.

The fact is the cyclist community is quick to defend and allocate blame when an accident happens. We now know that the cyclist crashed into a stationary vehicle, and I have yet seen a post from the usual defenders of cyclist post a note about their kind's need to be responsible.

A qn. If u are a neutral, what do u think is your public image?

On the roads, it's not uncommon to have

cars hit cars...

cars hit motorcycles...

cars hit trees...

cars hit railings...

cars flip over....

and cyclists thought they will be safe?

I'm all for safer roads for cyclists but I think it's a bit difficult here where its always congested, and when the roads are not congested, you get speedsters and drunk drivers.

Perhaps that's why we are building park connectors, but I think cyclists still prefer to cycle on actual roads.

Edited by Nicholas

The fact is the cyclist community is quick to defend and allocate blame when an accident happens. We now know that the cyclist crashed into a stationary vehicle, and I have yet seen a post from the usual defenders of cyclist post a note about their kind's need to be responsible.

they never blame the lorry driver for anyhow park already sibeh lucky liao [:p]

BE. CONSISTENT.

If you want to argue for the men in tights right to cycle along coastal road despite the presence of PCN (it is a hobby and they need to train riding fast), you will realized that the motive for these people cycling is certainly not "alternative transportation". Pls dun try to win an argument for the sake of it.

If transportation is indeed the only point of cyclist, in that case would the cyclist community be able to live with a ban on cycling on roads where there is a parallel PCN connector? If not, you are just reinforcing the image that the cyclist community is a loud demanding one who wants everything but gives nothing.

Read this!!

A qn. If u are a neutral, what do u think is your public image?

What is the moral high ground to condemn a DEAD cyclist?

By the way, i love to drive on that stretch of road at night ROOF DOWN. I hate to cycle on that stretch of road because it is known as DEMORALISING ROAD.

Read this!!

I read that. So?

With due respect, smoking Cocaine is a way of life for druggies. See where you are heading with that line of argument?

What is the moral high ground to condemn a DEAD cyclist?

Just because a person is dead does not make suddenly make his actions prior to death right.

I was not asking for condemnation, but I was expecting to see some soul searching within your community on regards for your own safety or at least acknowledgement that sometimes, just sometimes, it could be the cyclist who could be in the wrong.

Hitler, Kim Jong Il, Ma Chi are dead. That makes all the bad they have done in life ok?

By the way, i love to drive on that stretch of road at night ROOF DOWN. I hate to cycle on that stretch of road because it is known as DEMORALISING ROAD.

Go ahead and cycle. It is legally within right for you guys to go there and tempt fate. Just make sure you look out for stationary vehicles while u guys demand for spaces and respect.

2 hands = clap. 1 hand and a whole lot of bitching asking the other party to swing their arms = noise. You guys can demand that Drivers swing their hands the whole day but you have gotta to do your part to get claps.

Typical response of the cyclist champion. Deflect and divert... Make noise but no stand

Edited by Scoots

A group of cyclists I was riding with on Sunday morning were involved in an incident with a car. There were 4 of us, all had flashing front/rear lights, cycling as a group and keeping the speed up (~35-40km/h) to minimise delays to cars. We were adhering to the traffic rules (stop at lights etc). But yet, we had a car run into the rear 2 guys. Driver admitted complete fault, his impatience caused the accident. Fortunately the 2 guys got away with minor injuries, but the impact caused the drivers windscreen to be smashed and his bonnet to be badly dented. But the guy hit because he didn't want to slow down for 2 seconds to turn left and turn with plenty of clearance behind us, but misjudged his speed instead.

Both groups of road users do need to improve though. However the car user needs to understand a little bit of patience goes a long way. This motorist didn't want to wait a couple of seconds. Instead he has ended up with car damage, 1 bike was written off, plus hospital bills too, and who knows what the police could charge him with, and his insurance renewal will be a lot bigger too. Losing 2 seconds would have been a lot cheaper.

I read that. So?

With due respect, smoking Cocaine is a way of life for druggies. See where you are heading with that line of argument?

Which part of the post u don't understand??

Just because a person is dead does not make suddenly make his actions prior to death right.

I was not asking for condemnation, but I was expecting to see some soul searching within your community on regards for your own safety or at least acknowledgement that sometimes, just sometimes, it could be the cyclist who could be in the wrong.

Do we have the complete facts other than he bang a stationery lorry?

By the way, did driving community do soul searching for road hogging??

Go ahead and cycle. It is legally within right for you guys to go there and tempt fate. Just make sure you look out for stationary vehicles while u guys demand for spaces and respect.

2 hands = clap. 1 hand and a whole lot of bitching asking the other party to swing their arms = noise. You guys can demand that Drivers swing their hands the whole day but you have gotta to do your part to get claps.

Thanks for the reminder.

Typical response of the cyclist champion. Deflect and divert... Make noise but no stand

Thanks.

I have been waiting for you since i started posting. Welcome back.

My invitation to you still stands despite numerous rejections.