Elfenstar 3rd Gear May 12, 2013 Share May 12, 2013 Bicycle sporting is picking up because it one of the most fashionable dress sports. Every sport cyclist is over dress in this hot climate, even the out of shape ones. You'll be surprised. The lycra stuff is damn cooling. Still not a fan of how it looks though (and definitely do not like even seeing the lycra tummy combo). Shall stick to my bright dri-fit tops and canvas cargo pants. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elfenstar 3rd Gear May 12, 2013 Share May 12, 2013 You bathe with radx nia Won't be surprised. Bro 20G got big neh neh Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lethalstrike Turbocharged May 12, 2013 Share May 12, 2013 (edited) I know who and what you're talking about. The question is, are these pro looking cyclists a majority of all cyclists or just a visible minority? Certain govt departments, should know full well the routes used by these cyclists, and their habits, yet I have seen nothing consistently done by them other than giving fines to cyclists who are on pavements. It becomes an issue whenever an activity had reached enough critical mass to attract the bad sheeps. And it does not help that spandex-clad cyclists on road bikes are a very visible lot on their colourful attire and expensive bicycles. Thus, we have the situation now in which the drivers will have the tendency to associate the whole lot of them as nuisances on the roads. Both the cycling and driving community are no angels, more often than not, putting the blame on one another whenever an accident happened. Rather than taking a long hard look at themselves (both drivers & cyclists) to examine if their actions and impatience are really causing trouble to other road users, fingers pointing are much easier judging from the comments. Truth to be told, respect goes both ways. However, applauding the death of a cyclist with remarks such as another nuisance off the roads etc. is really too much. Thus, i had spell out my views in my posts earlier to explain that drivers are not angels either, even though i knew that some forumers with an axe to grind against cyclists will be speaking out vociferously against my views. Probably, cycling on pavements are much easier to catch and enforce lah. Edited May 12, 2013 by Lethalstrike Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elfenstar 3rd Gear May 12, 2013 Share May 12, 2013 u r right. many posers. those who cycle on foldable and on PCN also wear full gears...I mean WTF? ok lor maybe u like the dress sense but to me, I dress in singlet and padded tights that's all. I don't even want to wear the helmet since im not on road also. btw, I was told the bike clothing is not hot to wear .. dunno how true. You should always wear your helmet though. There are quite a lot more hazards you could hit your head on while on a pavement or pcn than on the road. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elfenstar 3rd Gear May 12, 2013 Share May 12, 2013 Wow, thanks for that, I didn't know that it will be considered as hitting a pedestrian, do you know anyone that has experienced this? If this is true, then the law here is pretty F up. Having a cam still protects you from accusations that it was because of your negligence that caused the collision. So if I want to claim damages from the cyclist I have to go to civil court right? Having a cam doesn't necessarily help. Like pedestrians suddenly crossing the road etc, you're supposed to keep a lookout and expect the worst. So even if they're doing something wrong, you're still liable. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hotamp 3rd Gear May 12, 2013 Share May 12, 2013 cant see anything wrong w d trees anyway who cares if pix r real or not. truth is every wkend morning lots of pro looking cyclists beat red lights all over d island. I join some of these grps sometimes n alot roll thru red lights, sometimes close to hitting d ah peks n ah sos crossing the green mans... also i wont mentioned a certain race but as a driver myself, they r d most common ive seen to cycle in d middle of d road to avoid slow busses or extreme right lane way ahead of a road right turn. Nothing wrong w that but i dont wish to see them complaining if they get hit +1...actually it is true, be it that the photos are PS or not...the sad truth is that there as assh*oles out there who likes to do stupid stunts on the road endangering themselves and other road users alike....there are bound to be black sheeps everywhere be it pedestrians, drivers, riders, cyclists ...cannot support one group or biased against the others, all i can say is as road users we just do our part to keep ourselves safe , obey traffic rules, cyclist wear helmet, have more patience etc etc etc...if everyone does his/her part, generally the whole road environment would be safer loh....an eye for an eye mentality will only leads to a lose lose situation....cyclist will up lorry faster. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elfenstar 3rd Gear May 12, 2013 Share May 12, 2013 It becomes an issue whenever an activity had reached enough critical mass to attract the bad sheeps. And it does not help that spandex-clad cyclists on road bikes are a very visible lot on their colourful attire and expensive bicycles. Thus, we have the situation now in which the drivers will have the tendency to associate the whole lot of them as nuisances on the roads. Both the cycling and driving community are no angels, more often than not, putting the blame on one another whenever an accident happened. Rather than taking a long hard look at themselves (both drivers & cyclists) to examine if their actions and impatience are really causing trouble to other road users, fingers pointing are much easier judging from the comments. Truth to be told, respect goes both ways. However, applauding the death of a cyclist with remarks such as another nuisance off the roads etc. is really too much. Thus, i had spell out my views in my posts earlier to explain that drivers are not angels either, even though i knew that some forumers with an axe to grind against cyclists will be speaking out vociferously against my views. Probably, cycling on pavements are much easier to catch and enforce lah. Yup was reading backwards and saw your discussion with bro happily. Do disagree on catching pavement cyclists being easier. It can't be that hard to plant yourself at a junction where red lights are often beat, or following behind a bunch of peloton wannabe's for a short while and "education" them if they do anything wrong. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kusje Supersonic May 12, 2013 Share May 12, 2013 I couldn't imagine the logistics involved. It would be nearly impossible to enforce and regulate. What so difficult? Make it a law. Anytime TP finds someone riding an unlicensed bike, treat it like any other unlicensed car/motorbike drivers. This extra cost can easily be offset by a 60-100$ yearly licensing fee. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
20G 1st Gear May 12, 2013 Share May 12, 2013 As with any other road users. We have the bad ones, we have the good ones. just the other day, was at the red light waiting. Did my usual looking ard for any chio bu drivers and a cyclist with full spandex suit on a road bike caught my attention. He was on my left (i was in the middle) patiently waiting for the lights as well. Wat caught my attention was, he was behind a yellow box while waiting. I almost wanted to wind down my window and give him a thumbs up but he looks gay in those tight fitting spandex apparel and im not risking it. But then, This fella really has my respect. The usual suspects wld hv juz cycle thru the traffic in full speed. Likewise, no sympathy for those traffic light beaters to end up in a heap of wasted metal shd mishap happen. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1fast1 Supersonic May 12, 2013 Share May 12, 2013 (edited) I'm surprised you didn't see what was written in 7(2) Did you know, motorcyclists here are actually not allowed to lane split, but just like cyclists are allowed to ride abreast of each other in a lane? No overtaking in the same lane by a third motorcyclist is allowed though. Fair enough, but the way they phrased it is ambiguous. Doesn't a cycle qualify as "another vehicle"? But, yes, taking point 2 into account, they are allowed to ride 2 abreast, but not 3 or more abreast. The lane markings are immaterial, by the way - even if the third bike is in another lane, it's guilty of an offence. Unless it's just fleeting, as in an overtaking manoeuvre. Edited May 12, 2013 by Turboflat4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic May 12, 2013 Share May 12, 2013 What so difficult? Make it a law. Anytime TP finds someone riding an unlicensed bike, treat it like any other unlicensed car/motorbike drivers. This extra cost can easily be offset by a 60-100$ yearly licensing fee. There are a lot (x10) of illegal electric bicycle. How come nvr see any TP stop & confiscate it? I wonder wonder wonder wonder. p.s. Juz go Geylang is enough liao. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Speeddemon Neutral Newbie May 13, 2013 Share May 13, 2013 now become she-man How in the world does a she-man look like? :blink: Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Speeddemon Neutral Newbie May 13, 2013 Share May 13, 2013 2 Sunday's ago there is ocbc cycle event and is a big scale event a lot of cyclist. Probably a lot just completed cycling and was to cycle home from F1 pit. Doesn't matter whether there was an event or not. They shouldn't have been cycling on the boardwalk. Thats classified as a pavement no? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elfenstar 3rd Gear May 15, 2013 Share May 15, 2013 Fair enough, but the way they phrased it is ambiguous. Doesn't a cycle qualify as "another vehicle"? But, yes, taking point 2 into account, they are allowed to ride 2 abreast, but not 3 or more abreast. The lane markings are immaterial, by the way - even if the third bike is in another lane, it's guilty of an offence. Unless it's just fleeting, as in an overtaking manoeuvre. Well all these questions have been asked and answered by TP/LTA already. Cyclists can cycle two abreast on any road with more than one lane in that direction. A third can overtake the two. The exception is if they're using bus lanes during bus lane hours. However, then there's no riding abreast. Overtaking is also not allowed in this case unless the rider goes into the lane next to the bus lane. Cyclists are not supposed to be in any other lane bar the left unless they're overtaking, forming up to make a right/u turn, using the lane next to the bus lane during bus lane hours, or are going straight when the left lane is for left turns only. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1fast1 Supersonic May 15, 2013 Share May 15, 2013 Well all these questions have been asked and answered by TP/LTA already. Cyclists can cycle two abreast on any road with more than one lane in that direction. A third can overtake the two. The exception is if they're using bus lanes during bus lane hours. However, then there's no riding abreast. Overtaking is also not allowed in this case unless the rider goes into the lane next to the bus lane. Cyclists are not supposed to be in any other lane bar the left unless they're overtaking, forming up to make a right/u turn, using the lane next to the bus lane during bus lane hours, or are going straight when the left lane is for left turns only. If all cyclists rode like this, I think you'd find complaint threads will become non-existent. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elfenstar 3rd Gear May 15, 2013 Share May 15, 2013 What so difficult? Make it a law. Anytime TP finds someone riding an unlicensed bike, treat it like any other unlicensed car/motorbike drivers. This extra cost can easily be offset by a 60-100$ yearly licensing fee. It was, and was abolished a long time ago as it was too onerous a task. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elfenstar 3rd Gear May 15, 2013 Share May 15, 2013 If all cyclists rode like this, I think you'd find complaint threads will become non-existent. Good and bad ones everywhere regardless of bicycle, bus, taxi, van, lorry, m/cyclist, etc. Don't look at me for many real examples of good motorists in sg. I think the mindsets and skills of majority are crap (though I believe most think the world about themselves). Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic May 15, 2013 Share May 15, 2013 The psychology of why cyclists enrage car drivers ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...