ST Forum: $123 Bill For Cough And Throat Consultation

Vulcann

if miss lim did not receive an itemised invoice, then yes she has every right to write in, even to SMC if she likes.

otherwise, which part of the invoice does she not understand?

Let me see...

Convenience near home? - checked

Private hospital? - checked

Location of hospital in city? - checked

Sunday? - checked

With all the above, Ms Lim ought to know what was the deal.

Not that I agree to the charges but let's face it, medical treatment here is never in the cheap category.

Just last week when I brought my little gal for the same cough & throat consultation at my HDB estate's family clinic on a weekday afternoon already set me back almost 4 red notes.

From ST Forum:

http://www.straitstimes.com/STForum/Online...ory_813591.html

$123 bill for cough and throat consultation

Published on Jun 22, 2012

LAST month, I visited the Raffles Hospital Outpatient Clinic to treat a cough and sore throat because it was closest to home, and open on Sundays. Prior to making the visit, I checked and received confirmation that it was an outpatient clinic, and not an accident and emergency department.

As such, I assumed that the billing would fall within the norms. But I was shocked by the $123.70 bill for a five-minute consultation with the doctor. I quickly e-mailed the hospital for a clarification. A month later and to date, I have not received a reply.

Why are patients at an outpatient clinic charged fees that one would only expect for accident and emergency services?

Agnes Lim (Ms)

I don't understand what is her problem, go raffles, must expect this type of price what :ph34r: and FYI, if it is AnE for Raffles will be more than that

Why should it be reasonable?

The drugs more effective? Docs guarantee illness go away immediately?

If they can cure any sickness more effectively than other docs, then charging a premium can still be accepted. But that is no the case wor.

Reasonable because its a Sunday.

Docs and healthcare workers are have family life too. If you want them to tend to you on a Sunday, I'm afraid you have to pay a premium.

Like what others have mentioned, they cant promised that illness will go away immediately, but they can assure you that its not a condition that is life-threatening or require urgent intervention.

fark.,..for cough and throat need see DR??? jus take panadol, let hte body fight bacteria...settle nia

walau...no wonder Drs so rich

second you there, my friend

2 & 4 yr old...bo pian..wife want, also see the same PD since birth...

dun get me started on the waiting time..at least 2 hours..madness..

Like go hospital A&E..

Why should it be reasonable?

The drugs more effective? Docs guarantee illness go away immediately?

If they can cure any sickness more effectively than other docs, then charging a premium can still be accepted. But that is no the case wor.

Consider reasonable like i said it is a private hospital. You cannot expect the fees to be $60-70, even nowadays those heartlander GP clinic, for normal flu, cough or fever, already need to pay about $40.

second you there, my friend

in the last 9 yrs now, i have yet to consult a Dr for these minor issues. Self medicate lah....

agnes lim doesn't know raffles hospital only for the rich and richest?

no no...it is expat GP :ph34r:

the expat in my company all liek to go there for small illness :ph34r:

fark.,..for cough and throat need see DR??? jus take panadol, let hte body fight bacteria...settle nia

I drink F&N Sarsi or Root Beer to cure my cough.

If sore throat I gurgle my colgate + add water... [bigcry]

No money to see doctor.

I drink F&N Sarsi or Root Beer to cure my cough.

If sore throat I gurgle my colgate + add water... [bigcry]

No money to see doctor.

yours is deep throat so u deserve it...no amount of coke, etc...can... [laugh][laugh][laugh]

See Doc is to get MC. But not for $123. My company co-pay is $5...

same lor, i never needed an MC for last 9 yrs......

I hate those co-pay $5 clincs.

If I go in and pay by myself, the medicine is for 2 weeks.

If I go in and co-pay $5, the medicine is for 3 days.

Is this cheating ?

takes a damn suaku person to write this kinda bo liao comprain.

pte hospital + sunday. what does she expect? want cheep cheep, wait till mon go to polyclinic and queue 5 hrs lor.

actualli, raffles not considered very expensive for pte liao. go to mt.E or gleneagles, confirm she pengsan.

wah what you eat ? what you drink ? what you swallow ?

plenty of exercise...u have sexercise, indoors not good. try outdoor sex u might be healthier [laugh][laugh][laugh]