Vulcann 6th Gear June 22, 2012 Share June 22, 2012 Let me see... Convenience near home? - checked Private hospital? - checked Location of hospital in city? - checked Sunday? - checked With all the above, Ms Lim ought to know what was the deal. Not that I agree to the charges but let's face it, medical treatment here is never in the cheap category. Just last week when I brought my little gal for the same cough & throat consultation at my HDB estate's family clinic on a weekday afternoon already set me back almost 4 red notes. From ST Forum: http://www.straitstimes.com/STForum/Online...ory_813591.html $123 bill for cough and throat consultation Published on Jun 22, 2012 LAST month, I visited the Raffles Hospital Outpatient Clinic to treat a cough and sore throat because it was closest to home, and open on Sundays. Prior to making the visit, I checked and received confirmation that it was an outpatient clinic, and not an accident and emergency department. As such, I assumed that the billing would fall within the norms. But I was shocked by the $123.70 bill for a five-minute consultation with the doctor. I quickly e-mailed the hospital for a clarification. A month later and to date, I have not received a reply. Why are patients at an outpatient clinic charged fees that one would only expect for accident and emergency services? Agnes Lim (Ms) ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
macrosszero Turbocharged June 22, 2012 Share June 22, 2012 Go to Chatterbox and expect $2.50 chicken rice? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic June 22, 2012 Share June 22, 2012 Firstly raffles hospital is a private hospital, and the person went to see doctor on a sunday, so paying $123 should be reasonable lo. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator June 22, 2012 Share June 22, 2012 fark.,..for cough and throat need see DR??? jus take panadol, let hte body fight bacteria...settle nia walau...no wonder Drs so rich Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SimonTan 2nd Gear June 22, 2012 Share June 22, 2012 It's like buying a insurance. The patient bought a peace insurance by visiting the doctor. The doctor gave the assurance that the illness is nothing to worry about. And if it turn out false, the patient can sue. So the high cost is also actually for the doctor to pay for his own medical malpractice insurance to covers against wrong diagnostic! Vicious circle. If the parents want to feel reassured tha the illness is not life threatening, then thats the price to pay. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic June 22, 2012 Share June 22, 2012 fark.,..for cough and throat need see DR??? jus take panadol, let hte body fight bacteria...settle nia walau...no wonder Drs so rich She wants class mar.... Private Hospital whoa.... Any parmacy for a bottle of 'Robitussin' cough syrup would easily cost less then $10/- .... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vulcann 6th Gear June 22, 2012 Author Share June 22, 2012 Go to Chatterbox and expect $2.50 chicken rice? Though I consider myself a harsh critic of the powers that be, sometimes also BTH whiners amongst us... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Edwardthy 1st Gear June 22, 2012 Share June 22, 2012 want to act atas must be able to fit the cap. dun act atas then kpkb when see the bills. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vulcann 6th Gear June 22, 2012 Author Share June 22, 2012 fark.,..for cough and throat need see DR??? jus take panadol, let hte body fight bacteria...settle nia walau...no wonder Drs so rich Maybe scared Monday cannot go market make a killing mah so must see Dr lo. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cllee 2nd Gear June 22, 2012 Share June 22, 2012 Nvr try to assume anything next time. Always open your mouth to ask. MAy be this is the first time she went to see doctor on Sunday Let me see... Convenience near home? - checked Private hospital? - checked Location of hospital in city? - checked Sunday? - checked With all the above, Ms Lim ought to know what was the deal. Not that I agree to the charges but let's face it, medical treatment here is never in the cheap category. Just last week when I brought my little gal for the same cough & throat consultation at my HDB estate's family clinic on a weekday afternoon already set me back almost 4 red notes. From ST Forum: http://www.straitstimes.com/STForum/Online...ory_813591.html $123 bill for cough and throat consultation Published on Jun 22, 2012 ........ As such, I assumed that the billing would fall within the norms. But I was shocked by the $123.70 bill for a five-minute consultation with the doctor. I quickly e-mailed the hospital for a clarification. A month later and to date, I have not received a reply. ........ Agnes Lim (Ms) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic June 22, 2012 Share June 22, 2012 Even for visitations at neighbourhood clinic during outside office hours, the charges can come up easily to $60. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tarzan666 2nd Gear June 22, 2012 Share June 22, 2012 I bring my children to heartland paediatrician oso rarely see 2 digit bills. Always 3 digits even for common flu or cough. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xanavi 4th Gear June 22, 2012 Share June 22, 2012 Firstly raffles hospital is a private hospital, and the person went to see doctor on a sunday, so paying $123 should be reasonable lo. Why should it be reasonable? The drugs more effective? Docs guarantee illness go away immediately? If they can cure any sickness more effectively than other docs, then charging a premium can still be accepted. But that is no the case wor. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scb11980 1st Gear June 22, 2012 Share June 22, 2012 fark.,..for cough and throat need see DR??? jus take panadol, let hte body fight bacteria...settle nia walau...no wonder Drs so rich can agree more kiasi and kiasu so what to do pay and pay cough and cold are money earners for the medical profession especially it is now the flu season Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scb11980 1st Gear June 22, 2012 Share June 22, 2012 I bring my children to heartland paediatrician oso rarely see 2 digit bills. Always 3 digits even for common flu or cough. that is why it is heartland and not town Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wyfitms Twincharged June 22, 2012 Share June 22, 2012 I bring my children to heartland paediatrician oso rarely see 2 digit bills. Always 3 digits even for common flu or cough. yeah, everytime my kid coughs, i'll sweat ahahha.. Wife will insist that we see a particular doc who likes tp prescribe a particular cough medication that cost over $300 So expensive because it can clear the cough within days, instead of a week like the conventional cough syrup. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vulcann 6th Gear June 22, 2012 Author Share June 22, 2012 yeah, everytime my kid coughs, i'll sweat ahahha.. Wife will insist that we see a particular doc who likes tp prescribe a particular cough medication that cost over $300 So expensive because it can clear the cough within days, instead of a week like the conventional cough syrup. Bo bian with our precious, nothing is spared. Just yesterday dinner, we went to a hawker centre and my gal ate her fav western food costing $7.50 while her old man ordered a humble plate of $2.50 char kway teow... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vulcann 6th Gear June 22, 2012 Author Share June 22, 2012 I bring my children to heartland paediatrician oso rarely see 2 digit bills. Always 3 digits even for common flu or cough. Bro you still bring yours to PD? How old are they now? Actually can start to see GP now if older, more affordable... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...