Xefera 6th Gear January 8, 2013 Share January 8, 2013 that can be a workable solution but rightly pointed out by you, still a possible loophole to wind back. E.g. car clocks over 20,000km mileage between road tax renewal (annual), so that is still a sizable figure. since this is a dirty trick car dealers employed, the solution should target them dead in their tracks. important is proof can be collected and presented in a legal suit. Showcase a few caught red-handed in the media, and the rest will obediently fall in line. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rayleigh 6th Gear January 8, 2013 Share January 8, 2013 Bought 2nd hand in 2010, checked with AD and mileage was 65k over and now 2 years later mileage still low cos seldom drive. then why did you buy? might as well save the money and take cab instead. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged January 8, 2013 Share January 8, 2013 that can be a workable solution but rightly pointed out by you, still a possible loophole to wind back. E.g. car clocks over 20,000km mileage between road tax renewal (annual), so that is still a sizable figure. since this is a dirty trick car dealers employed, the solution should target them dead in their tracks. important is proof can be collected and presented in a legal suit. Showcase a few caught red-handed in the media, and the rest will obediently fall in line. Yes, between renewals can still wind back - BUT - in proportion to how much now, would it make a difference. Further, if the average has been 30k a year, then suddenly only do 5k in a year, suspicious right? And also, winding back 80k or 100k is worth it - to wind back only 10k, is the risk worth the return? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Limpeh23 2nd Gear January 8, 2013 Share January 8, 2013 I spoke to my 2nd hand dealer fren and he told me odometer tampering is an open secret among their industry, just that some tamper more extreme than others. They are only a bit more concerned about AD cars because they mostly have servicing records that can possibly be traced. So i think if the mileage is too good to be true, its best to send the car for a thorough check before purchasing if possible or just forget it and go for another one. Even then, I think ultimately, it is still down to how lucky or unlucky u are. Unless the govt starts clamping down on this. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Branteo Clutched January 8, 2013 Share January 8, 2013 ... I settled for a mazda cx 7 which I found on the sg carmart website. I went to see the car and liked it [in terms of appearance] and they were also prepared to trade in my car at a reasonable cost. Off course it is difficult to judge a cars actual condition unless it is driven for a few days. The odometer showed around 75,000 k, which I thought was not bad for a Feb 2007 model. .... After reading the above post, and also because of the fact that I felt something is wrong somewhere, I decided to call up the agent to check on the past service records for this car. I was shocked to learn from the agent that the car was last serviced on 6th august 2012 by the owner and the odometer reading at that point of time was 2,09,410 !!!!!!!!!!!!! Mileage seems exceedingly high leh! Mine's also a Feb 07 vehicle - hitting 100K Km in few days time. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged January 8, 2013 Share January 8, 2013 Mileage seems exceedingly high leh! Mine's also a Feb 07 vehicle - hitting 100K Km in few days time. Mine's July 2006, and it just went through 233,000 today. and in the last two years it slow down a lot, in the first year I clock 51k, year two was 47k...... One of my ex-boss used to travel to KL once a week....that's already 52,000 km per year without any running around in Singapore. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yrvsport 2nd Gear January 8, 2013 Share January 8, 2013 no need to worry much as long the car in good condition is ok liao..anyway i got so many cases like that but the end still drive with no issue...50k some more.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Deckbuild 6th Gear January 8, 2013 Share January 8, 2013 (edited) Of course not useless - if you had to record mileage during road tax renewal, under pain of making a false statement, it would make a huge difference to how much, if any, a car could be wound back. I mention usless is because if the bugger have the intention to sell it right from the start, he can always keep on tampering the Odometer yearly before the road tax renewal. It's all about integrity... I woundn't mind buying a car with high mileage, but low mileage I will siam. Edit Take back my word usless, it will at least greatly reduce, but still down to individual integrity. Edited January 8, 2013 by Deckbuild Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Greenhorn999 Neutral Newbie January 9, 2013 Share January 9, 2013 With a central DB, buyers have an avenue to check on mileage. In our case, though it is a KAH/AD car, we were not able to check the mileage as dealer claimed that owner rarely use the car and decide not to service with AD. In fact we paid a premium for the low mileage and car seems fine when we tested drive. The aircon starts to give way, brake pads need to be replaced, etc after a few weeks of driving, STA report did not reveal any of these symptoms. After taking back the car, they are now advertising it at a premium price again, with the same claim on low mileage. Just hope no one falls for it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wormvirus 1st Gear January 9, 2013 Share January 9, 2013 owners should also tamper odo & make it attractive then sell to used dealers then declare actual odo to new buyer (win win for consumers) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear January 9, 2013 Share January 9, 2013 Want to share my experience on this. We got a 3 year plus old Honda car in Aug 2012 and the dealer assured that the low mileage of 57K was real and even throw in 1 year warranty. We later got proof that the mileage was 120K in Jan and confronted him. He finally agreed to take back the car after lessing off a few K off the original purchase price, and grumbled that he was a victim and would have problem disposing the car. Immediately after transferring ownership, the car was posted on SGCar, at a much higher price(than my original price) and the much lower mileage. The authority should set up a database to record the odo reading when cars are sent in for annual inspection to prevent odo tampering. In our case, we were fortunate to find paper evidence, and though we suffer a few K loss in the process. By the way, we did call agent to check but there was no record of servicing since 2008. Reason by dealer - the car was rarely driven, hence owner went outside to service. U think our gharmen care uf u get conned. As long as ty dun get conned. Or ty track n monitor odo mileage n charge u an admin fee fr it. Ty only consider doing if ty can make money out if it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear January 9, 2013 Share January 9, 2013 I think the main jeez here is culpability. If there is a legal document that ties the parties involve to abide to, doubt mainly will be willing to play tricks. I agree that a database hosted by LTA may be too troublesome to check at times. But a signed off document and maybe a photo of the car mileage will serve as concrete proof. This is also a good way to rid the industry of wolfs who are out to pray on weak buyers. Let the industry do a self clean up by enacting stronger laws and self-regulate by itself. I am sure this is not too much work for the few thousands (easily) profit for each car sold. Dealer dun want this form. Seller cudnt care less. All he interested is how much $ he gets fr his car. Dealer just say u wan us to prepare form i pay u $500 less. Immediately seller say no need lah. Hee. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear January 9, 2013 Share January 9, 2013 Mileage seems exceedingly high leh! Mine's also a Feb 07 vehicle - hitting 100K Km in few days time. Mine seldom use already 140k km. Feb 2006 car. Still considered as not high. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear January 9, 2013 Share January 9, 2013 Mine's July 2006, and it just went through 233,000 today. and in the last two years it slow down a lot, in the first year I clock 51k, year two was 47k...... One of my ex-boss used to travel to KL once a week....that's already 52,000 km per year without any running around in Singapore. Yr car taxi ah? I never tot ang mo can work as taxi driver here. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Meanmachine Supercharged January 9, 2013 Share January 9, 2013 Some of my fren tweaked their high mileage car to 130K from 180K . I asked him why so, saying he like the freedom of knowing lower mileage feels good, but he follow manual to change part/ timing belt as and when necessary. In short, he shot himself in d foot and he can lick his own wound too. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Luckcent 4th Gear January 11, 2013 Share January 11, 2013 then why did you buy? might as well save the money and take cab instead. haha....need the car for convenience. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mllcg 3rd Gear January 11, 2013 Share January 11, 2013 self pwn. http://www.sgcarmart.com/used_cars/info.ph...504&DL=2214 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
FocusWagon 1st Gear January 18, 2013 Share January 18, 2013 Want to share my experience on this. We got a 3 year plus old Honda car in Aug 2012 and the dealer assured that the low mileage of 57K was real and even throw in 1 year warranty. We later got proof that the mileage was 120K in Jan and confronted him. He finally agreed to take back the car after lessing off a few K off the original purchase price, and grumbled that he was a victim and would have problem disposing the car. Immediately after transferring ownership, the car was posted on SGCar, at a much higher price(than my original price) and the much lower mileage. The authority should set up a database to record the odo reading when cars are sent in for annual inspection to prevent odo tampering. In our case, we were fortunate to find paper evidence, and though we suffer a few K loss in the process. By the way, we did call agent to check but there was no record of servicing since 2008. Reason by dealer - the car was rarely driven, hence owner went outside to service. for me, whatever the agent say also no use. i will check for real service records. dun have, no talk. if still wan to buy, means b prepared sure tampered with. it is a GIVEN in sgp market. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...