Stiff Ring - Good to have?

Subutai

Actually after watching the youtube link provided earlier, I backside itchy and went to install the spacers. Anyway the distributor cum workshop is near my office. I was conviced coz although I'm not in the car related industry I know that a fitting bolt makes a lot of difference in machinery. I also checked with other car forum which ppl feedback that installing the rear is not a good idea if you have rear passengers. They will feel uncomfortable as it has become kinda stiff.

Anyway I went ahead to install the front. Wow, to me it made a heck of a difference in handling especially when I push my car around bends. The bodyroll was reduced. The steering became sharp & slightly heavier, there were good feedbacks from the steering wheel. No good thing is I had to redo my car's front wheel alignment. After that was done the car felt even better to drive. Like the video from youtube the springy effect is also gone.

Ppl might feel it's a tad ex but if the workshop do not have a lift to lift up the car to do the installation they won't be able to do it lying down. There are also shielding plastics to protect the subframe which they have to remove to get to the 4 main bolts. The place I went to is ok although they kept trying to sell me the rear sets of spacers. The mechanic tighten the bolts back by hand using a hand torque wrench instead of the gun torque wrench. The strength evenly distributed among the 4 bolts.

My humble opinion. Stick with stock suspension, and if you really want to improve your handling/ride, save up for a coilover.

Undercarraige braces/strut bars will also enhance the drive, but a good set of coilover should suffice for everyday driving.

Stiff ring ? Sounds more like a marketing gimmick and if it does indeed work, I am unsure about the safety aspect.

I totally agree with you.

Get better quality dampers would suffice.

This stiff ring is a big joke... To me at least. Btw I can get a full set for my car for RM180. But I rather not.

This product is to me is like some turbo fan thingy after the open pod filter s--t.

Yes I understand a stiffer chassis equals better steering response. But the effects look extremely minimal so much i do not believe you can feel it on a daily drive.

But then again... The mind is a powerful thing.

And for this kind of money, much better spent elsewhere.

I am with you. I don't buy that idea.

My humble opinion. Stick with stock suspension, and if you really want to improve your handling/ride, save up for a coilover.

Undercarraige braces/strut bars will also enhance the drive, but a good set of coilover should suffice for everyday driving.

Stiff ring ? Sounds more like a marketing gimmick and if it does indeed work, I am unsure about the safety aspect.

Well, I installed stiff ring for the front and rear, last month in MY. There is actually a noticable difference especially in the steering feedback. Heavier and Sharper. Going over humps the car feels 'less bouncy'. The car also feels more rigid. Well prior to installing I was looking to improve my cars' handling which I feel is not precise enough. I don't quite like the feel of the electronic steering on my ride. I am on aftermarket coilovers btw. After one week, of installation feels like its normal. Maybe I am used to this 'new setup'. Would like to get my undercarriage checked on my next servicing. I am not advocating the product but mod only if u have the extra moolah. For me its money well spend considering it cost slightly more than SGD$200 only for the whole car.

You r on after mkt coils and u still installed a stiff ring ?

Why dun u adjust the damping / stiffness of the coils to balance the ride instead ?

Think if you apply putty or neoprene gasket, you can achieve the same effect.

The only question about the aluminum 'stiff' ring is how long it can last.

You r on after mkt coils and u still installed a stiff ring ?

Why dun u adjust the damping / stiffness of the coils to balance the ride instead ?

Aftermarket coils helps in the suspension set up but not on the steering handling. I would like my ride not to be too harsh, just want to strike a balance between comfort and stiffness. If I were to set the coilover setting to very stiff, I would get a very bumpy ride. I get a much better strike between comfort and handling after getting the stiff ring installed. Now I am more confident in tackling corners at high speed cos the ride is more planted and stable. BTW, my ride is a very heavy sedan weighing in almost 1.5 tonne. Even my friend who is driving the same make of my car feels the difference when sitting on my ride.

Think if you apply putty or neoprene gasket, you can achieve the same effect.

The only question about the aluminum 'stiff' ring is how long it can last.

That's a very good question. I would like to get it checked maybe in the next 6 month to see how is it doing down there. [laugh]

my fren got this stiff ring installed on his car. The car become stable (but not stiff), can really feel the car being stabilized when u go thru the hump

For info, i also installed this thingy for almost a year liao. Initially can feel the difference in handling (stiffer) and when going through humps. Maybe I got used to it since then. I also think its overpriced.

I think its good to have if you have spare cash to spend, but then again, the car will still move if you don't.

Oh that kind of stiff ring!

I thot you meant the other kind,

didn't do anything for me but the wife

loves it.

yalor

i also thot is lar sarp thread [:(][laugh][laugh]

[laugh] To each its own bah.... If they feel its good then it's good lor...

Actually I was gonna install F1 style side mirrors... The installer said no problem he will custome make the side cover for me etc.... But also told me I am wasting my money and won't be able to see s--t when I reverse... And it might vibrate, the relection is different from stock... Etc...

[blush] Then realized quite kookoo... Lol

Well, I installed stiff ring for the front and rear, last month in MY. There is actually a noticable difference especially in the steering feedback. Heavier and Sharper. Going over humps the car feels 'less bouncy'. The car also feels more rigid. Well prior to installing I was looking to improve my cars' handling which I feel is not precise enough. I don't quite like the feel of the electronic steering on my ride. I am on aftermarket coilovers btw. After one week, of installation feels like its normal. Maybe I am used to this 'new setup'. Would like to get my undercarriage checked on my next servicing. I am not advocating the product but mod only if u have the extra moolah. For me its money well spend considering it cost slightly more than SGD$200 only for the whole car.

:blink: Sorry but errr... How can stiffer chassis make the car less bouncy.

Then again maybe this installation has different effects of the different condition of the bolts on the chassis of the car.

I drive a 7 year old ride. I remember when it was about five years old, there was once when my car was jacked up for an oil change, and I tightened every nut n bolt in sight... And instantly I felt my ride was 'tighter'... And damn song...

In the mind or not I don't know. But I felt good.... ^_^

:blink: Sorry but errr... How can stiffer chassis make the car less bouncy.

Then again maybe this installation has different effects of the different condition of the bolts on the chassis of the car.

I drive a 7 year old ride. I remember when it was about five years old, there was once when my car was jacked up for an oil change, and I tightened every nut n bolt in sight... And instantly I felt my ride was 'tighter'... And damn song...

In the mind or not I don't know. But I felt good.... ^_^

It probably saved you some money for nice dinner or beer.