Sabian Turbocharged June 20, 2012 Share June 20, 2012 The moment they said the justification for paying themselves multi-million dollar salary is to prevent corruption, all respects are lost immediately. prevent corruption? I tot it was so that they have some shred of confidence to rub shoulders with CEOs? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Timbuktu Clutched June 20, 2012 Share June 20, 2012 the war hasn't even started. WP only has 6 seats in parliament. what war are you talking about? they have only got 6.8% of the total vote what war have they lost? There is no war that they could ever win ... now, or in the future. Cos there is little chance of them increasing to >6.8%. Mere words - fireworks and wayang kulit, but non-action thus far ... >1 year past oredi wor! By 2016, the 6.8% will likely drop back again. We will see. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Timbuktu Clutched June 20, 2012 Share June 20, 2012 doesn't matter if they are better now or not what matters is that they grow. a journey of a thousand miles begins with a single step. their 6 seats in parliament is a single step reserve your judgement for who is better when WP or another party has 40 seats in parliament until then do your part and help groom a back up plan But they have to show us a sign ... cos so far very unimpressive motley lot they've got. We/I expect more than that from the opposition. For example, a person like "glass houses" don't cut butter for me. Sure they can stir the emotional partisan crowd. Mouth only good, but that's all. I grew up with such people as a kid in the heartlands. I know such kinds true and through. For now, I'd do my part to groom a succession plan for the incumbent instead. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Timbuktu Clutched June 20, 2012 Share June 20, 2012 for all those who think singapore is unfallable do read this line again even the titanic sank. i've mentioned singapore's advantage of being not corrupt, read the recent scandles involving high ranking officials if we don't groom an alternate party soon enough, we will lose our competitive advantage and there won't be a back up plan for us our ruling party don't even know how much reserves they have, that is like telling people that you don't know how much money you have in your bank! Civil service officials is .not equal. the govt. Pls don't mix the two up. Corrupt high ranking officials can be WP supporters. How cum you so sure of their political alignments? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Timbuktu Clutched June 20, 2012 Share June 20, 2012 Agree. Voting for a majority opposition may turn to be national suicide, especially when we don't even know what they are incapable of. The silent majority will still insist on the tried and tested. You have not answer my question... how old are you? and who are you to judge that the current generation of PAP is not as good as before? Look at what happen to Taiwan. Do you know the price of changing the ruling party? Talk is always cheap, always easy. If you ever work in Customer Service line, you will know that 1 demanding customer alone could drive you crazy, not to mention handling needs and wants from millions of people... Every singaporean have the right to vote for their fav party. However, those who vote must think carefully. Are we ready to bear the consequences? Or simply kpkb over the virtual world again when things went wrong? Pls dont get me wrong, Im not trying to pursuade anyone to vote PAP in the coming election, but before you draw the cross into the box, ask yourself, do you have anything to loss? For me, my decision is clear. I want the current situations to stay and I dont want to see drastic changes, moving too fast? I cant catch up, too slow, I cant wait... Currunt phase its just nice for me.... I dont want my HDB price to drop tremendiously, neither I want to see my purchasing power reduce when I go oversea. At the moment, I dont see how any other party could do better than PAP. But of course, for those who think that the opositions could do better and bring another miracle to Singapore for the next 40 yrs, the choice is yours. As usual, I hope Im not offending any anti PAP bro/sis here... Im nuetral party and I only speak for myself... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Timbuktu Clutched June 20, 2012 Share June 20, 2012 Ruling party needs true checks and balances provided by alternative parties. No matter how good a party has been, there's no guarantee things wont change for the worst when there's no checks and balances. The saying "absolute power corrupts" holds true. Better not give a blank cheque to any ruler. Recent events show things are not exactly right. That idea may work, provided that we have an opposition party that is good enough. But unfortunately, I do not see any obvious ones (even individuals) surfacing. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigershark1976 Turbocharged June 20, 2012 Share June 20, 2012 Ruling party needs true checks and balances provided by alternative parties. No matter how good a party has been, there's no guarantee things wont change for the worst when there's no checks and balances. The saying "absolute power corrupts" holds true. Better not give a blank cheque to any ruler. Recent events show things are not exactly right. yup, balance check... thats what most wanted.... but not ultimate change overnight.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigerwoods Turbocharged June 21, 2012 Share June 21, 2012 Things can hardly move in democracies? Oh really, then what about authoritarian regimes? Between the Full democracies (Green countries) and Authoritarian Regimes (Red Countries): 1. Which countries do most immigrants make their top destinations for work, study and life? Answer: Full democracies (Green countries) 2. Which countries are the most and more wealthy in material terms (GDP per capita)? Answer: Full democracies (Green countries) 3. Which countries have a higher quality of life as measured by the UN? Answer: Full democracies (Green countries) 4. Which countries are responsible for the creation and production of things, both tangible and intangible, one uses daily in the pursuit of his happiness and comfortable living? Answer: Full democracies (Green countries) Question: So where did you get your evidence that democracies "cannot move"? Answer: Probably from other persons like you, who do not use reason to verify facts and evidence. Unfortunately, many people are like you who take repetition as the truth and evidence. He say SG is a sampan only if SG got full democracy, the island will sink from the weight of infighting... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigerwoods Turbocharged June 21, 2012 Share June 21, 2012 You have not answer my question... how old are you? and who are you to judge that the current generation of PAP is not as good as before? Look at what happen to Taiwan. Do you know the price of changing the ruling party? Talk is always cheap, always easy. If you ever work in Customer Service line, you will know that 1 demanding customer alone could drive you crazy, not to mention handling needs and wants from millions of people... Every singaporean have the right to vote for their fav party. However, those who vote must think carefully. Are we ready to bear the consequences? Or simply kpkb over the virtual world again when things went wrong? Pls dont get me wrong, Im not trying to pursuade anyone to vote PAP in the coming election, but before you draw the cross into the box, ask yourself, do you have anything to loss? For me, my decision is clear. I want the current situations to stay and I dont want to see drastic changes, moving too fast? I cant catch up, too slow, I cant wait... Currunt phase its just nice for me.... I dont want my HDB price to drop tremendiously, neither I want to see my purchasing power reduce when I go oversea. At the moment, I dont see how any other party could do better than PAP. But of course, for those who think that the opositions could do better and bring another miracle to Singapore for the next 40 yrs, the choice is yours. As usual, I hope Im not offending any anti PAP bro/sis here... Im nuetral party and I only speak for myself... the usual me myself and I... same as Tim... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hondacub777 6th Gear June 21, 2012 Share June 21, 2012 the usual me myself and I... same as Tim... So u vote for the whole of Singaporeans? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hephaestus Clutched June 21, 2012 Share June 21, 2012 fwah opposition so united... must be somebody's wet dream of a threat Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sosaria Twincharged June 21, 2012 Share June 21, 2012 Well, a good example - no need to look so far - is our northern neighbour. They had an "upset" with oppo taking over several state govts and making a lot of headway in their last election. Their country did not collapse. Neither was there any huge unrest. Everything was mainly business as usual. Only changes were greater liberalisation and freedom, and in those state govts that changed hands, "skeletons" were dug up and exposed. But in short, there was no great instability. In fact, the opposite happened. Having given a chance for their oppo to lead in some states... after some time, their people are now growing disillusioned and losing patience, coming to the conclusion that politicians are mostly all the same! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigerwoods Turbocharged June 21, 2012 Share June 21, 2012 Well, a good example - no need to look so far - is our northern neighbour. They had an "upset" with oppo taking over several state govts and making a lot of headway in their last election. Their country did not collapse. Neither was there any huge unrest. Everything was mainly business as usual. Only changes were greater liberalisation and freedom, and in those state govts that changed hands, "skeletons" were dug up and exposed. But in short, there was no great instability. In fact, the opposite happened. Having given a chance for their oppo to lead in some states... after some time, their people are now growing disillusioned and losing patience, coming to the conclusion that politicians are mostly all the same! The Penang one is good according to me penangian friends Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sabian Turbocharged June 21, 2012 Share June 21, 2012 Just look at Penang lah. They can survive and we can't? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear June 21, 2012 Share June 21, 2012 That idea may work, provided that we have an opposition party that is good enough. But unfortunately, I do not see any obvious ones (even individuals) surfacing. Some current alternative MPs are better than some from pxp. Never deprive a person/organization the opportunities to develope and grow. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear June 21, 2012 Share June 21, 2012 The Penang one is good according to me penangian friends Yes, an obvious positive example which is unfortunately/conveniently ignored by some supporters of "pxp-is-foolproof"!!? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigerwoods Turbocharged June 21, 2012 Share June 21, 2012 So u vote for the whole of Singaporeans? the vote to me is never for me but for the country. the vote can never be monetised, threatened, fearmongered, which the current party so readily dispense... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jpcc Clutched June 21, 2012 Share June 21, 2012 Regarding debt, 1. External debt: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_count...y_external_debt Our country is very prudent on this. Very good for window dressing. 2. Public debt: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_sover..._by_public_debt Expertz is refering to this table. 118.2 (% of GDP - Stats from CIA) 100.79 (% of GDP - Stats from IMF) ----- Btw, there is another HK article (written 2011) that is relevant. http://myhome.cari.com.my/space.php?uid=17...og&id=41164 The two sections, { 一個人話事, 何以為繼?} are thoughts to ponder over. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...