Doomsday!! Scary scenario for Singapore if PAP is voted out?

AhJason

There is money to be made shorting the Singapore dollar too. As money traders juice up their LED screens for a new work day, the USD:SGD rates shock observers. Net-savvy Singaporeans who purchase stuff online do a double take when they see exchange rates quoted by Paypal. This is the result of a global currency trading system that finds itself in terra incognito after GE 2016. The election result triggers a wave of uncertainty and a flight to safety. The Sing dollar, backed by nothing but a promise of stability as a safe haven in Southeast Asia, waits to see if the island nation's new political masters can convince the international community that it is business as usual. In the meantime, the watchword for currency traders is "sell"

is this really a bad thing?

we have known for years that china is printing money to lend to developing and developed nations.

the us government has called for the chinese to halt the devaluation of the yuan for years and has responded by QE since '09 (if i'm not wrong)

if the US and china are printing money to devalue (inflate) their currencies, why are we trying do deflate ours?

Edited by Expertz

Housewife no income leh. HDB is only affordable in a dual income household.

What's the use of $2 wanton mee when my HDB loan is 300K but flat value only 200K. Pay until blood coughed up still cannot clear the loan.

Then I think you have over leveraged... Blame who for this predicament?

Most Sporeans are in this sh1th0le because someone would rather increase national reserves at your expense.

Most that advocate more opposition & weakening of PAP must be frogs in the well. Just take a good look around most countries that have 'democracy'- they're so weaken with fighting with each other till things can hardly move. Real 'opposition' are for countries that are immensely huge - why? Cos those big countries can afford to

Be messy fm every individual voice & POV but Sgp can't cos we're like a sampan & if anybody starts jumping up & down, we'll capsize.

Just look at China nowadays, am sure in retrospect- it's good that the Chinesr Govenment shot those protesting students cos China would not be what she is today & would most likely implode on itself if those students ideas were allowed to succeed.

Huh?? Out of the Millions of people, there is none that can lead Singapore? so upon being recurited into P@P den suddenly the person can lead Singapore? Srly. Who are they kidding. [rolleyes]

This is great observation.

Have Worker Party deliver anything that they promised in the last election?

Cannot always say that because of their size, they can't do much.

Eat not enough, no strength to work. Eat full, why still need to work.

Most that advocate more opposition & weakening of PAP must be frogs in the well. Just take a good look around most countries that have 'democracy'- they're so weaken with fighting with each other till things can hardly move. Real 'opposition' are for countries that are immensely huge - why? Cos those big countries can afford to

Be messy fm every individual voice & POV but Sgp can't cos we're like a sampan & if anybody starts jumping up & down, we'll capsize.

Just look at China nowadays, am sure in retrospect- it's good that the Chinesr Govenment shot those protesting students cos China would not be what she is today & would most likely implode on itself if those students ideas were allowed to succeed.

You say Singapore is a sampan?

Its nothing to do with size. There are nations as small as SG n are a thriving democracy. Absolute power corrupts and hence an alternative party is needed, not to make a mess of things, but to counter the govt when its not doing right. Anyway, since u quoted bad democracy examples, i suppose u rather live in North Korea where theres zero democracy.

Edited by Felipe

As such, my humble pluck from sky prediction is as follows:

TCB: 40%

TT: 35%

TJS: 20%

TKL: 5%

On the eve of the PE2011, I made the above prediction. The outcome was wrong, but the vote attribution was pretty close, especially for TT and TKL, despite not having any opinion poll data to work on.

Tony Tan Keng Yam 35.20%

Tan Cheng Bock 34.85%

Tan Jee Say 25.04%

Tan Kin Lian 4.91%

What I am trying to say is that there is no such thing as a freak election.

Election outcomes are quite predictable.

If ever PAP gets comprehensively kicked out, it is because the people of Singapore are sick and tired of them, not because a few fickle minded voters crossed the wrong box for fun.

I made a rough eyeball of GE2011, and even if PAP were to give away 10% of the votes in every single district competed, they will still win 47 seats in the parliament.

47 out of 87 seats is a landslide majority by most developed world standards.

Even a small country constantly under threat like Israel, has for the longest time had coalition governments.

We have lived in fear for a long time.

It is time we should summon some courage, throw away the crutch that is PAP and learn to stand on our own legs.

And I say this as a proud resident of Aljunied GRC.

Edited by Jim

give db a chance.

read his piece at least three times.

there may be a different interpretation/reaction after each read.

without them in parly you think got so many changes in existing policies and controlled of floodgates of FTs

Miw are showing us just that before GE2011... Eat full why still need to work hard. Now they are working harder..

there exists NO reason to believe that what singapore achieved is a miracle. a government which is capable and not corrupted will be able to achieve the same, if not better results.

we have prospered only because we are the only nation around the region which isn't prone to corruption.

the competing countries around us have corruption entrenched within their societies that inefficiency is a result.

a shipping order can be done within hours if the right amount is paid, but via due legal process will take weeks or even months.

what we have achieved is a matter of circumstance and taking advantage of the context we are competing in. there is no miracle involved, just good governance.

Expertz... may I know how old are you??? from the way to write, I believe you are from the group of younger generation that Im refering to? You mentioned that Singapore is the only nation around the region isn't prone to corruption??? If you are refering now, or even 40 yrs ago, yes, I must agree to you. But earlier than that??? you might want to ask your grandparent what is happening during their era...

You see, thats the reason why I mentioned, the younger generation doesnt know how to appreciate and take things for granted.... you think its easy to have a good government??? You think its easy to turn a country from corruption to what we have today?? Yeah, of course, its easy to talk, but how many country could achieve that during such a short period of time other than Singapore and HK?

Edited by Tigershark1976

Its nothing to do with size. There are nations as small as SG n are a thriving democracy. Absolute power corrupts and hence an alternative party is needed, not to make a mess of things, but to counter the govt when its not doing right.

The majority 60.1% don't want alternative party what.

without them in parly you think got so many changes in existing policies and controlled of floodgates of FTs

Miw are showing us just that before GE2011... Eat full why still need to work hard. Now they are working harder..

Changes made not due to WP lah. Don't bluff here.

Expertz... may I know how old are you??? from the way to write, I believe you are from the group of younger generation that Im refering to? You mentioned that Singapore is the only nation around the region isn't prone to corruption??? If you are refering now, or even 40 yrs ago, yes, I must agree to you. But earlier than that??? you might want to ask your grandparent what is happening during their era...

You see, thats the reason why I mentioned, the younger generation doesnt know how to appreciate and take things for granted.... you think its easy to have a good government??? You think its easy to turn a country from corruption to what we have today?? Yeah, of course, its easy to talk, but how many country could achieve that during such a short period of time other than Singapore and HK?

Yes agree. +1.

We have a good government, compared to many countries.

Need to be thankful for what we have achieved.

i think this is a case of pot calling the kettle black

USA is the model for democracy in the world. they have 2 major parties that take turns in office after every few elections

are they as you've mentioned, weakened with fighting until things can hardly move?

contrast to a single leader country - N.Korea where kim jong ii rules everything

they are the ones who have hardly moved all this while!

also are you sure china is progressing?

they are called the sleeping dragon for a reason, they've been sleeping for the past 20 years.

china has always been the world's biggest economy yet they are not a financial powerhouse. the stock indexes are more concerned with the HSI, nikkel or the TWSE rather than the shanghai stock exchange

they've only very recently started to gain prominence but not because of financial markets, but because of the eurozone troubles and china's hyper inflation policies mean china is in a good position to buy up eurozone debt.

but they are not the strongest of the BRICS, the country that people are really looking at is south africa and not china

Really tired of hearing all these Doomsday theory.

In this world, nobody is really that indispensable. If it is, then it is really very dangerous.

When old man graduates one day, the Earth will still be able to rotate, right?

Edited by Albeniz

how much do you think 3 or 4 seats can do in a parliament of 87 seats?

WP wouldn't be able to do anything with 30 or 40 seats!

parliament isn't a shouting competition where the party that shouts the loudest wins. what do you expect from them when PAP are the ruling majority by a great margin?