Expertz 1st Gear June 22, 2012 Share June 22, 2012 But they have to show us a sign ... cos so far very unimpressive motley lot they've got. We/I expect more than that from the opposition. For example, a person like "glass houses" don't cut butter for me. Sure they can stir the emotional partisan crowd. Mouth only good, but that's all. I grew up with such people as a kid in the heartlands. I know such kinds true and through. For now, I'd do my part to groom a succession plan for the incumbent instead. then tell us how do you think opposition parties should groom themselves into parliament? obviously they can't form the singaporean government so do you expect them to gain experience by forming a government in a foreign country first? what sign do you want to see? opposition parties are not government officials, they don't get a salary holding speeches or rallies for you to watch yet they have families to support too. so lets have faith that grooming lousy opposition now means having better opposition in the future is better than sticking to a single plan and single strategy. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Expertz 1st Gear June 22, 2012 Share June 22, 2012 So will a lot of people especially the upper middle class and higher. What's left will be the les miserables under an 'alternative govt' rule. Good luck to all. With no vested wealth creation, economy will probably nose-dive, scaring the hell out of new, potential investors. It's a viscious circle 100% baseless opinion again so let me contribute my own 100% baseless opinion when 2016 comes and if people vote for PAP, an asteroid will hit earth and everybody will die and it will be the dawn of a new age where robots take over the world comparing the 2 likely scenarios, i strongly recommend that we continue the existence of humanity an vote for opposition we might be forced to leave singapore but at least we won't be completely wiped out and replaced by robots Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Oblong 3rd Gear June 22, 2012 Share June 22, 2012 Repression, Sir is a habit that grows. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Expertz 1st Gear June 22, 2012 Share June 22, 2012 not really apple to apple comparision cause penang is only a state.. so machiam like our Ajunied GRC and Hougang. PAP always say singapore is unique. of course singapore is unique! just like how USA, china, india, russia, indonesia, malaysia and every other country in the world is unique the only countries that are not so unique are probably north and south sudan which just split 1 year ago so which country should we use as a comparison? which example can we use to back up the claim that if there are more opposition parties in singapore, there will be massive unrest? if you discount every other example given to you as not a 1 to 1 comparison then you are going to discount every possible example or explanation even if you are comparing your subject against itself at a different point in history you will not accept a sg now vs sg in 2000s because now we have globalization and sg now vs 90s or 80s will be too far away to be used! so which country can we compare singapore against that is a 1 to 1 apple to apple comparision? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Expertz 1st Gear June 22, 2012 Share June 22, 2012 Haiz.... whenn you see things.... see deeper.... if property crash, u still have money to own 2 or 3 property?? as i've highlighted, property crash = lower prices on EVERYTHING you might not have 2 or 3 properties but you can have 2 or 3 chicken rice the next time you eat outside lower land prices = lower rent so how is that not a good thing? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Timbuktu Clutched June 22, 2012 Share June 22, 2012 what sign do you want to see? opposition parties are not government officials, they don't get a salary holding speeches or rallies for you to watch yet they have families to support too. when in parliament, argue a case responsibly, intelligently and sensibly. Do your research thoroughly, not on incorrect, or incomplete data or information. So far, I see and read only big emo, but anti-climaxing when cornered with half truths. To be a world class opposition, they well need to perform much better. Since we the tax-paying citizens are their 'employers', paying them the $15K or so per month to perform their duties as an oppo MP, I have a say in their appraisal/ranking. On a scale of 1-10, the current motley crew scores only a 1 ... at best 2, on my scale. They have to do better than that. Much better. At least I'd rate some previous oppo MPs higher ... like JBJ, or CST (in his youth) Look at 'glass houses' in parliament, he can only throw stones and then sit down Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Expertz 1st Gear June 22, 2012 Share June 22, 2012 the other question is that.. if you own 2 or 3 pptys, but cannot rent out (no FT), no income but got instalment, and value dun appreciate (pay interest but no capital nor rental yield).. even if own 10 ppty, also no use if what you say is true then there will be no sane person in this world who owns more than a single car a house serves a purpose that is different from an investment or a bond unlike an investment or a bond, you can stay in a house Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Expertz 1st Gear June 22, 2012 Share June 22, 2012 (edited) when in parliament, argue a case responsibly, intelligently and sensibly. Do your research thoroughly, not on incorrect, or incomplete data or information. So far, I see and read only big emo, but anti-climaxing when cornered with half truths. so which case was argued in parliament that you rated a 1 on? to be best of my knowledge there was never a seating in parliament of late where a case was argued upon. kindly state your facts properly and don't cover yourself with half truths or on incorrect, or incomplete data or information. also don't you think that since you have a say in ranking govt officials, don't you think that you could be helping us save more than just 15k? let us start with, why not appraise MBT and his comments that HDB flats have not shrunk in size over the years? or how about LTA's constant reversal on COE policy? why not rate our transport minister instead? how many stars do you give him? 8/10 for easing road congestion? oh, how about 30 yr housing loans becoming the norm? would you give a good rating for that? but you choose to rate 1/10 for a minister who has yet to do anything? how about miss TPL? whats her rating then? she too has done nothing after all Edited June 22, 2012 by Expertz Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Timbuktu Clutched June 22, 2012 Share June 22, 2012 i strongly recommend that we continue the existence of humanity an vote for opposition These tantrum lobbying for more oppo in the govt is getting very tired and making no headway in all this hullabaloo. Let the silent majority speak (again) in 2016. Then we'll know what the people of Singapore really want. All these words ... no use one! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Oblong 3rd Gear June 22, 2012 Share June 22, 2012 Since we the tax-paying citizens are their 'employers', paying them the $15K or so per month to perform their duties as an oppo MP, I have a say in their appraisal/ranking. On a scale of 1-10, the current motley crew scores only a 1 ... at best 2, on my scale. 1) The top five newcomers are HSK, CCS, TCJ, LawW, SimA Care to rate them? 2) Any new incumbent MPs that catch your eye? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Timbuktu Clutched June 22, 2012 Share June 22, 2012 so which case was argued in parliament that you rated a 1 on? to be best of my knowledge there was never a seating in parliament of late where a case was argued upon. kindly state your facts properly and don't cover yourself with half truths or on incorrect, or incomplete data or information. On everything that they have argued over the last one year. Made no headway leh. Often times, half truths or incompleteness get killed along the way. Definitely a vote of no confidence from many. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic June 22, 2012 Share June 22, 2012 So is TPL worth the $180K she got for the past one year? What has she done or said in parliament? Someone please tell me. I only remembered LKY walking off when she gave her speech. I give her a 0. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Timbuktu Clutched June 22, 2012 Share June 22, 2012 1) The top five newcomers are HSK, CCS, TCJ, LawW, SimA Care to rate them? 2) Any new incumbent MPs that catch your eye? What do you think? My ratings on oppo MPs only lah deh! Next question please ... p.s. I am no supporter of PxP. So you can whack them all you want, I got no feeling one. I only just anti oppo And pro Singapore! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Expertz 1st Gear June 22, 2012 Share June 22, 2012 On everything that they have argued over the last one year. Made no headway leh. Often times, half truths or incompleteness get killed along the way. Definitely a vote of no confidence from many. don't divert the topic. tell us which parliament argument did you rate 1 star upon whether they made any headway or not does not matter. i've already said there is NOTHING WP CAN DO with 6.8% of the seats WP can promise you to make you a millionaire but they will not be able to pass the bill thru parliament so they can do NOTHING but tell you what they wish to do if they have 68% of the seats, not 6.8% but come back to the topic tell us which parliament argument did you rate 1 star upon Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Timbuktu Clutched June 22, 2012 Share June 22, 2012 So is TPL worth the $180K she got for the past one year? What has she done or said in parliament? Someone please tell me. I only remembered LKY walking off when she gave her speech. I give her a 0. She do, or she don't do, she get zero oso, I do not care hor Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Expertz 1st Gear June 22, 2012 Share June 22, 2012 What do you think? My ratings on oppo MPs only lah deh! Next question please ... p.s. I am no supporter of PxP. So you can whack them all you want, I got no feeling one. I only just anti oppo And pro Singapore! you rate opposition MPs who have the power to do nothing? why not you go and rate your neighbourhood rubbish cleaner? afterall he has the same ability to influence national decisions as your friendly opposition MPs who have only 6.8% of the total vote Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Timbuktu Clutched June 22, 2012 Share June 22, 2012 don't divert the topic. tell us which parliament argument did you rate 1 star upon whether they made any headway or not does not matter. i've already said there is NOTHING WP CAN DO with 6.8% of the seats WP can promise you to make you a millionaire but they will not be able to pass the bill thru parliament so they can do NOTHING but tell you what they wish to do if they have 68% of the seats, not 6.8% but come back to the topic tell us which parliament argument did you rate 1 star upon No diversion. Every topic argued by oppo thus far, I give a score of a miserable 1. They have to perform better to impress me lah kodot. After all we are their employers, aren't we? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Timbuktu Clutched June 22, 2012 Share June 22, 2012 you rate opposition MPs who have the power to do nothing? why not you go and rate your neighbourhood rubbish cleaner? afterall he has the same ability to influence national decisions as your friendly opposition MPs who have only 6.8% of the total vote That is why no use to have oppo minority in parliament one! Cho hee only. Toothless tigers ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...