Jamesc Hypersonic September 4, 2016 Share September 4, 2016 Why must use digital. Analogue still working right? ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kb27 Supersonic September 4, 2016 Share September 4, 2016 (edited) On 9/4/2016 at 8:20 AM, Jamesc said: Why must use digital. Analogue still working right? Digital video transmission occupies much less space in RF spectrum. Depending on bit rates, it can carry many HD TV channels occupied by 1 analog channel. Analog transmission can't even do HD. So really, there's no comparison. The big fat elephant has to go. Analog is dead. That's why starhub was so eager to switch everything to digital and reclaimed the analog space. Edited September 4, 2016 by Kb27 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic September 4, 2016 Share September 4, 2016 On 9/4/2016 at 8:35 AM, Kb27 said: Digital video transmission occupies much less space in RF spectrum. Depending on bit rates, it can carry many HD TV channels occupied by 1 analog channel. Analog transmission can't even do HD. So really, there's no comparison. The big fat elephant has to go. Analog is dead. That's why starhub was so eager to switch everything to digital and reclaimed the analog space. Analogue stopped working today already? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kb27 Supersonic September 4, 2016 Share September 4, 2016 (edited) On 9/4/2016 at 8:45 AM, Jamesc said: Analogue stopped working today already? Seemed to working still, although I haven't try to watch it. Now, it's only Kodi for me. Actually makes no difference to it, mediacrap tv just goes from SD to HD but still crap content. I'm not watching it. Quote http://www1.mediacorp.sg/digitaltv/faq.html The switchover to digital broadcasting has begun in December 2013. The existing analogue TV signals will continue to be broadcast alongside the digital TV signals until end-2017. Edited September 4, 2016 by Kb27 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rayleigh 6th Gear September 4, 2016 Share September 4, 2016 (edited) On 8/30/2016 at 12:04 PM, Bluepica said: Revived this old old thread with some questions Terminated my SH service, back to watching mediacorp channel...my tv is digital ready, I bought a so called digital antenna for it... No matter where I place the antenna, the signal will be interrupted when ppl walk pass. Cable not long enough to place outside the window, which a bit unsightly... For those old HDB that got the rooftop antenna point, can I use that instead? Haven't try... I am curious. Since your TV is digital ready and I am assuming you are referring to DVB-T2 and if your area is digital ready http://www1.mediacorp.sg/digitaltv/, why do you still need digital antenna? I am also terminating my MIO TV as it is the most under-utilized white elephant in my house. Edited September 4, 2016 by Rayleigh Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bluepica 4th Gear September 4, 2016 Share September 4, 2016 On 9/4/2016 at 9:30 AM, Rayleigh said: I am curious. Since your TV is digital ready and I am assuming you are referring to DVB-T2 and if your area is digital ready http://www1.mediacorp.sg/digitaltv/, why do you still need digital antenna? I am also terminating my MIO TV as it is the most under-utilized white elephant in my house.Still need antenna to receive the signal ma Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic September 4, 2016 Share September 4, 2016 I have stopped watching Mediacorp channels after CNA morning show change Anchor. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rayleigh 6th Gear September 4, 2016 Share September 4, 2016 (edited) On 9/4/2016 at 10:18 AM, Bluepica said: Still need antenna to receive the signal ma Oh my bad, I thot indoor antenna is not needed for digital signal. Which brand did you buy for the indoor antenna? Edited September 4, 2016 by Rayleigh Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kusje Supersonic September 4, 2016 Share September 4, 2016 On 9/4/2016 at 8:20 AM, Jamesc said: Why must use digital. Analogue still working right? You wait until you need to shit before you buy toilet paper? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic September 4, 2016 Share September 4, 2016 On 9/4/2016 at 10:32 AM, Rayleigh said: Oh my bad, I thot indoor antenna is not needed for digital signal. Which brand did you buy for the indoor antenna? qoo10 got. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic September 4, 2016 Share September 4, 2016 On 9/4/2016 at 12:15 PM, Kusje said: You wait until you need to shit before you buy toilet paper? If you equate watching TV with shitting then Yes. My TV is not digital ready. Its not even Full HD. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kusje Supersonic September 4, 2016 Share September 4, 2016 On 9/4/2016 at 12:24 PM, Lala81 said: qoo10 got. Can share the link of a good one? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic September 4, 2016 Share September 4, 2016 On 9/4/2016 at 12:34 PM, Kusje said: Can share the link of a good one? I've not bought any actually. Just read the reviews on the ones available on Qoo10. Not many options, only those 2. Seem to have good enough reviews. I was thinking of getting, but decided to wait until really pangsai liao then buy pangsai zhua Lol 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kb27 Supersonic September 4, 2016 Share September 4, 2016 On 9/4/2016 at 12:32 PM, Jamesc said: If you equate watching TV with shitting then Yes. My TV is not digital ready. Its not even Full HD. No need to have a full-blown digital tv. You can have a box which translates starhub dvb signal to hdmi, then connect to a tv with hdmi input. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Staff69 Hypersonic September 4, 2016 Share September 4, 2016 (edited) buy draco but it comes with a free made in china antenna which is cannot make it. you need to buy funke 5.1 antenna to complement it. this is a control item by mda. if not wrong margin is about 15 dollars very thin. ntuc lowest profit margin on electronic Edited September 4, 2016 by Staff69 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
A_korusawa 5th Gear September 4, 2016 Share September 4, 2016 On 9/4/2016 at 12:47 PM, Lala81 said: I've not bought any actually. Just read the reviews on the ones available on Qoo10. Not many options, only those 2. Seem to have good enough reviews. I was thinking of getting, but decided to wait until really pangsai liao then buy pangsai zhua Lol be careful i can imagine if its diarrhea and you run-out-of toilet paper out-of-stock? yucks!. . . . . yes, suggest all of you should get one to try it out the sensitivity in your area please dun be surprise if there's industrial or secluded blocks/reflects that reduce signals to your place drastically it does happens! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jellandross Supersonic September 5, 2016 Share September 5, 2016 (edited) Anyone know why we can't use the coax cable point at home to receive digital tv without a starhub box? Is it for technical reasons or another kelong attempt to allow starhub earn more money? After realizing the above, I went to buy a cheapo $20 paper antenna from qoo10 that didn't work well and had to go harvey norman to get a proper funke antenna. All these hassle so that we can receive local tv probably once or twice a year, mostly national day parade and other festive programmes. Edited September 5, 2016 by Jellandross Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic September 5, 2016 Share September 5, 2016 On 9/5/2016 at 4:20 AM, Jellandross said: Anyone know why we can't use the coax cable point at home to receive digital tv without a starhub box? Is it for technical reasons or another kelong attempt to allow starhub earn more money? After realizing the above, I went to buy a cheapo $20 paper antenna from qoo10 that didn't work well and had to go harvey norman to get a proper funke antenna. All these hassle so that we can receive local tv probably once or twice a year, mostly national day parade and other festive programmes. After i cancel starhub, i am not watching any local channel. Do online streaming for whatever i want to watch. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...