Vulcann 6th Gear June 17, 2012 Share June 17, 2012 Food for thought... From ST Forum: http://www.straitstimes.com/STForum/Online...ory_812042.html Cleanliness standards down, says visitor Published on Jun 18, 2012 COMPARED to our first visit to Singapore in 2005, my wife and I find that the country's cleanliness standards have declined now. In 2005, I had seen only an occasional cigarette butt, an empty beer or juice can or a plastic bag on the pavement or in the park. This year, to my great consternation, I see parks and pavements littered with them, making me wonder if the city-state has taken a holiday from its cleanliness drive. The other night, I took a long and leisurely walk along Orchard Road. What greeted me on the pavements was not something I had bargained for. There were cigarette butts all over the pavements. So were empty beer and soft drink cans, and plastic bags with remains of food inside and outside them. There was no dearth of waste bins on the pavements. This shows that those who are in charge of keeping the city clean have been doing their job by making available enough bins all along the pavements. There were also signs imploring people to 'bin' the waste. However, the public - residents and visitors alike - look woefully uncooperative. Also, many public toilets are dirty and not up to the standards of hygiene Singapore once boasted. So one gains the disturbing impression that the city-state has relaxed its rules and regulations governing its hygiene standards. A city that was once thought to be the epitome of hygiene is now regrettably complacent. If the garden city wants to get back its lost reputation as a clean city, it has to strictly deal with the erring public and lethargic contractors and cleaners. This is what I feel as a visitor. C.V. Sukumaran ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Timbuktu Clutched June 18, 2012 Share June 18, 2012 (edited) Totally agree. My wife and I had commented about this observation, when we go for walks (Holland area has a lot of house re-construction works going on). Especially eye sore are the half-eaten food in styrofoam packs with the bright colored polyethylene bags strewn by grass verges and road sides ... not to mention the usual drink cans, plastic bags and cigarette butts. Lately, you also see similar trash strewn along the Orchard Road malls too. After early morning rains, you see all sorts of newspaper, card boards strewn on the AYE toward Tuas. Why? I have seen it first-hand. FWs on board lorries use theses to shelter themselves from the rain ... only to let them go after the rain stops! KNN! Edited June 18, 2012 by Timbuktu Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Evillusion Supersonic June 18, 2012 Share June 18, 2012 dont expect too much! the one messing up are the foreigners and the one suppose to clean up are now mostly fts/fws. Not saying that Singaporean oso dont create the mess but its only the minority amongst us. The majority of us only mess the place when we are overseas! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator June 18, 2012 Share June 18, 2012 dont expect too much! the one messing up are the foreigners and the one suppose to clean up are now mostly fts/fws. Not saying that Singaporean oso dont create the mess but its only the minority amongst us. The majority of us only mess the place when we are overseas! you lucky u monkey....in zoo u litter ppl pick after u Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Assaxefour 1st Gear June 18, 2012 Share June 18, 2012 does he mean the foreign trash or the actual rubbish? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic June 18, 2012 Share June 18, 2012 dont expect too much! the one messing up are the foreigners and the one suppose to clean up are now mostly fts/fws. Not saying that Singaporean oso dont create the mess but its only the minority amongst us. The majority of us only mess the place when we are overseas! Agree, after all this is not their homeland. Even in Tokyo, the level of cleanliness (can see rubbish and cups strewn over the streets) is below my expectation although it's comparatively much better than Singapore. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SimonTan 2nd Gear June 18, 2012 Share June 18, 2012 It's good the tourist are writing in. Because the tourism board will more likely listen to tourist more than whining citizens. Maybe will need to go overseas to advertise n hire more road sweepers? But I still think Singapore is cleaner than Paris. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pchmj Clutched June 18, 2012 Share June 18, 2012 Apart from rubbish, I observe more spits on the floor. Quite obvious MOST of these spits are contributed by a certain group of people. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear June 18, 2012 Share June 18, 2012 Apart from rubbish, I observe more spits on the floor. Quite obvious MOST of these spits are contributed by a certain group of people. Imported spits Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear June 18, 2012 Share June 18, 2012 It's good the tourist are writing in. Because the tourism board will more likely listen to tourist more than whining citizens. Maybe will need to go overseas to advertise n hire more road sweepers? But I still think Singapore is cleaner than Paris. We have enough anti-litter rules, but big lack of enforcement. When rules are not enforced, people will treat them as a joke? These imported culprits have no respect for rules in their own country. Now they tested-water here and found the authorities here dont bother them, so they are just happily spoiling the no-litter culture we took so many years to cultivate. There are clearly two parties to spoil the clean environment we used to have:- the litterers, and the enforcers who are not acting against it. :angry: Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jpcc Clutched June 18, 2012 Share June 18, 2012 (edited) Personally, I think it is not only the FTs or new immigrants irresponsible littering. I do think some of the younger generations have a lack in social responsibility. (Not all , but some) I have noticed two young ladies (around 15-17) throwing away their plastic bag after eating their snacks in heartlander area. I gauge from their accent / dress sense they are definitely locally bred Singaporeans. The next trash bin was another 30 - 50m away. Could be education (less mention of civic mindedness, be it family or formal education), could be daily exposure of mass media. (Mediacorp has too many variety shows that just show case the hedonistic consumption lifestyle, TV local soaps with police station, hospital , and some times court cases but little else to think over) The recent anti-littering info-mercial (?) for the past few years of two martial arts experts punishing the litterbugs are just bad taste marketing. Some food for thought on the inception. http://infopedia.nl.sg/articles/SIP_1160_2008-12-05.html Maybe a bit draconian previously, but the conceptualization, execution were simpler and more effective. But I do think the heartware (serving with a heart) must be there, be it the policy makers, the society, the peasants. Edited June 18, 2012 by Jpcc Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic June 18, 2012 Share June 18, 2012 1969: Keep Singapore Clean and Mosquito Free [laugh] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lovemyride 4th Gear June 18, 2012 Share June 18, 2012 Singaporeans litter by throwing the parking coupon tabs on the floor? Everytime when I park at a coupon parking lot, without fail when I open the door and look on the floor, you will see these parking coupon tabs. Worse still, the whole piece of expired coupon is thrown on the floor. Soon, our coupon rates will go up also because they need to hire more cleaners to clean the carparks. Not only need to clean the lift lobby, the lot itself also must clean. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Evillusion Supersonic June 18, 2012 Share June 18, 2012 dont expect too much! the one messing up are the foreigners and the one suppose to clean up are now mostly fts/fws. Not saying that Singaporean oso dont create the mess but its only the minority amongst us. The majority of us only mess the place when we are overseas! wei! me not monkey hor! We are from the Simian family but different hor...me orang utan! Thats life ma...i lose my freedom but gain by having man maid jaga n claean my enclosure...win some lose some! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Evillusion Supersonic June 18, 2012 Share June 18, 2012 Singaporeans litter by throwing the parking coupon tabs on the floor? Everytime when I park at a coupon parking lot, without fail when I open the door and look on the floor, you will see these parking coupon tabs. Worse still, the whole piece of expired coupon is thrown on the floor. Soon, our coupon rates will go up also because they need to hire more cleaners to clean the carparks. Not only need to clean the lift lobby, the lot itself also must clean. How can u say Singaporean! Got check his/her ic bo? There are many prs and ft driving and most of the prs talk like sgians, walk like sgians and smell like sgians! :angry: Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Davidklt 6th Gear June 18, 2012 Share June 18, 2012 I agree with you. Some Singaporeans think that if this island is filled with Singaporeans, it would be a perfect society. It is far too easy to push the blame all to FT. I have seen my fair share of spoilt irresponsible local kids littering places too. Singaporeans are gracious? Just look at how Singaporean families leave their food trays around and you get a sense of what I am talking about. Just the other day, I was at a foodcourt which was really packed. A couple asked to share the table which I immediately agreed. After I have finished my food, I picked up my own tray to return it so that the next person can immediately sit down without waiting for someone to clear the tray but the couple gave me that "why are you doing this" look? I ignore them of course. Another incident. I was at a shopping center where I witness a commotion at a bus stop. A group of 20+ people were trying to board a bus but could not. They were shouting at the people inside the bus to move to the bad. No one did. From outside, they all looked to me like locals. End up, the people outside the bus had to push themselves in a very rude way to get on board. This includes a young mother with a baby in hand. Gracious Singaporeans? Personally, I think it is not only the FTs or new immigrants irresponsible littering. I do think some of the younger generations have a lack in social responsibility. (Not all , but some) I have noticed two young ladies (around 15-17) throwing away their plastic bag after eating their snacks in heartlander area. I gauge from their accent / dress sense they are definitely locally bred Singaporeans. The next trash bin was another 30 - 50m away. Could be education (less mention of civic mindedness, be it family or formal education), could be daily exposure of mass media. (Mediacorp has too many variety shows that just show case the hedonistic consumption lifestyle, TV local soaps with police station, hospital , and some times court cases but little else to think over) The recent anti-littering info-mercial (?) for the past few years of two martial arts experts punishing the litterbugs are just bad taste marketing. Some food for thought on the inception. http://infopedia.nl.sg/articles/SIP_1160_2008-12-05.html Maybe a bit draconian previously, but the conceptualization, execution were simpler and more effective. But I do think the heartware (serving with a heart) must be there, be it the policy makers, the society, the peasants. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maroon5 5th Gear June 18, 2012 Share June 18, 2012 bo pian ma...ever since 911, dustbins are harder to find now Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hunter12 Neutral Newbie June 18, 2012 Share June 18, 2012 much appreciated -bump- ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...