inlinesix Hypersonic June 18, 2012 Share June 18, 2012 On 6/18/2012 at 12:13 AM, KARTer said: Classic cars appreciate in values. Only True collector will knows the value. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sp4wn Turbocharged June 18, 2012 Share June 18, 2012 at least most of your examples, the owner has family ... one of the guys i met during the course of my work lives in sentosa (alone .. bachelor) no family whatsoever, he is in his 40s ... had 2 super cars, 2 SUVs, 1 sedan, 1 convertible. sometimes he lets his staff drive the cars (except for the super cars) .. some more stay in a huge bungalow with 1 domestic helper .. thats it >< but i guess .. if i have no family or wife to spend on, ill also buy a lot of nice cars ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear June 18, 2012 Share June 18, 2012 On 6/18/2012 at 2:33 AM, MrolexB said: One question here ... even though all cars under one same owner, the insurance premium is still tag to the different cars right? Example. Mr A owned a car for long, his NCD is 50%. When he bought a 2nd car, the insurance of the 2nd car will start from 0% NCD right? and so forth ... Having said that ... know of one family who hubby drives a E300 (coy car), wife a S280 (old model), eldest kid (working) a E230 (W211), 2nd kid (working) a B170. Youngest kid still schooling overseas, but when return, I bet another MB in the stable ! his car almost like a mini MB showroom ... and all cars under hubby name ... It makes sense to use COE cars (which needed only 3rd party insurance, cheaper premium) for new license drivers to accumulate their NCB for the first few years. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Calvin79 2nd Gear June 18, 2012 Share June 18, 2012 On 6/17/2012 at 1:38 PM, Fastfive1 said: Some families are big so they have more cars especially if they're rich. Possible scenario listed below 2 family sedans, one for mum, one for dad. Possibly because they work at different locations and different hours. A third car for their young kid who has just gotten a license to drive. At the same time this young kid of theirs may study really far from where he/she lives so the car is a convenient way to get around. If they have 2-3 kids only a few years apart, then these kids may each have a car to drive if their house is big enough to fit all of them. I know of someone like that who lives in serangoon gardens. Ya know of someone around that area too... Father has 2 car s... One ferrari is when he goes entertaining... one BMW is for business use... Mother drives one for shopping and Mahjong... 3 daughters each driving one car each... and one son who is getting license soon... guess for the rich, cars are never an issue... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Eyke Supercharged June 18, 2012 Share June 18, 2012 (edited) so that when one car is in the shop, still got the other one(s) to drive. especially applicable to owners of unreliable cars, eg. VWs w/ 7sp DSG smaller car (assuming cars not similar sized) oso good for crowded places like geylang. or simply, didn't want to let go of old car even after new car came... Edited June 18, 2012 by Eyke Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic June 18, 2012 Share June 18, 2012 On 6/18/2012 at 2:58 AM, Calvin79 said: Ya know of someone around that area too... Father has 2 car s... One ferrari is when he goes entertaining... one BMW is for business use... Mother drives one for shopping and Mahjong... 3 daughters each driving one car each... and one son who is getting license soon... guess for the rich, cars are never an issue... You are right, for rich people convenient is more important than money. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TameDriver Twincharged June 18, 2012 Share June 18, 2012 Came across families that stick to one make of cars only. This family is true Merc loyalist indeed! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thaiyotakamli Supersonic June 18, 2012 Share June 18, 2012 On 6/18/2012 at 12:13 AM, KARTer said: Classic cars appreciate in values. But higher maintenance, road tax and pay more coe, plus waste time, the appreciation of value doesnt have great impact Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic June 18, 2012 Share June 18, 2012 On 6/18/2012 at 6:03 AM, Thaiyotakamli said: But higher maintenance, road tax and pay more coe, plus waste time, the appreciation of value doesnt have great impact Lower mileage car does not incurred a lot of maintenance cost. McLaren F1 cost US$1m upwards if u can find any seller willing to sell u. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic June 18, 2012 Share June 18, 2012 On 6/18/2012 at 4:07 AM, TameDriver said: Came across families that stick to one make of cars only. This family is true Merc loyalist indeed! Maybe got loyalty programme and special discount if buy from same brand over decades?! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sayang Neutral Newbie June 18, 2012 Share June 18, 2012 On 6/17/2012 at 2:50 PM, 13177 said: Agreed, it is common to find one household to own more than 1 car. Esp if husband and wife are working and cannot share one car to work, so having 2 cars is a norm. But if one person owns more than 1 car, then i think very wasteful. my 2 cents WHy wasteful? My fren's dad own all 9 jaguars, he lives in a huge house and have a tennis court and swimming pool in his own backyard. If he is rich enough to own so many, why the waste? Not as though he turns on the engine for all his cars at the same time and pollute the air , not driving them. Just waste $$, but he has plenty of $$ to burn.. My neighbour has 2 cars Hub and wife, childless, with a dog and 1 maid. Drives S350, and SLK compressor. Hub is businessman, Wife, stay at home, play with dog, shopping with dog. Is this wasteful? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic June 18, 2012 Share June 18, 2012 It's depends on how you see it. If you feel that if the person is super rich and too much money to throw, and even threw away lots of money still have lots of lots money, then by all means that he buy 9 cars or even 90 cars, as long as he is happy. But afterall i still find wasteful as in idling all the cars by parking more than using. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kiadaw 6th Gear June 18, 2012 Share June 18, 2012 MY family used to to 3 cars, living in HDB. Only my mum do not have a car. She can't drive even though she had licence. I am not rich, bought the car with my own salary. But I cannot tahan family that buy car of exact same model, say two 5-series of same model year. Some did not even change the color! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic June 18, 2012 Share June 18, 2012 On 6/18/2012 at 7:55 AM, Kiadaw said: MY family used to to 3 cars, living in HDB. Only my mum do not have a car. She can't drive even though she had licence. I am not rich, bought the car with my own salary. But I cannot tahan family that buy car of exact same model, say two 5-series of same model year. Some did not even change the color! These people could got some good deals as buy one get one free?! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zanter 3rd Gear June 18, 2012 Share June 18, 2012 Different type of car have different feeling? If everyday same feeling will get boring?:P Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thaiyotakamli Supersonic June 18, 2012 Share June 18, 2012 On 6/18/2012 at 6:13 AM, Davidtch said: Lower mileage car does not incurred a lot of maintenance cost. McLaren F1 cost US$1m upwards if u can find any seller willing to sell u. different, Mclaren cost much when they bought it at first place, moreover its a rare car but if u buy some normal car like E class and keep it for years, there wont be any buyer willing to pay a million Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thaiyotakamli Supersonic June 18, 2012 Share June 18, 2012 On 6/18/2012 at 7:55 AM, Kiadaw said: MY family used to to 3 cars, living in HDB. Only my mum do not have a car. She can't drive even though she had licence. I am not rich, bought the car with my own salary. But I cannot tahan family that buy car of exact same model, say two 5-series of same model year. Some did not even change the color! next time see dont tahan again, just scold them for being stupid ahahah Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic June 18, 2012 Share June 18, 2012 On 6/18/2012 at 10:00 AM, Thaiyotakamli said: different, Mclaren cost much when they bought it at first place, moreover its a rare car but if u buy some normal car like E class and keep it for years, there wont be any buyer willing to pay a million How about E31 850? Classic car can be rare car. It can also be Merc W108 hor. Moreover, these rare car can be exported as these are collectors' item. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...