Unemployment rate for over-30s creeps up

Hephaestus

Aiyo, you though you are the only one who is good in the interview ah?! Lol.

Haha no lah, I thought I was the only one that cannot perform on the job.

When I read here about people paying full cash and only

looking to buy bungalows and which Porsche to get, 

"Macan no good, get the Cayenne" I thought all these

people must be sibeh tok kong damn good at their jobs.

But maybe reality and online is a bit different. I don't

expect these people to get retrenched and if they do

I hope they take a rest and enjoy living in the bungalow

and driving the Cayenne and not compete with me for

the low end jobs. 

As reported, those between 40 to 50 are in the most dangerous position to be 're structured'.

You know what? It has never been being able to perform or not but AGE is the problem.

you're just in the wrong threads.

So many people participating in the b&b car threads, Vezel, Sienta etc etc  [laugh]

When I read here about people paying full cash and only

looking to buy bungalows and which Porsche to get, 

"Macan no good, get the Cayenne" I thought all these

people must be sibeh tok kong damn good at their jobs.

But maybe reality and online is a bit different. I don't

expect these people to get retrenched and if they do

I hope they take a rest and enjoy living in the bungalow

and driving the Cayenne and not compete with me for

the low end jobs. 

You know what? It has never been being able to perform or not but AGE is the problem.

I thought those companies were lying to me.

They told me it wasn't age but cost.

Now I know the truth.

This was exactly what happened to me.

The company doesn't retrench you, but gives you an impossible business target to achieve.

And year in year out, I couldn't achieve the target anymore.

I figured, it's better to die standing on your feet than to live kneeling on your knees.

I found another job and left.

Sometimes it couod be a blessing in disguise. If you worknfor such an organisation, you do not know when they will drop you like a hot potato. Leaving them and putting your effort in another organisation can be more fruitful. You should thanks them for waking you up.

you're just in the wrong threads.

So many people participating in the b&b car threads, Vezel, Sienta etc etc  [laugh]

Aiyah no wonder lah.

I never go to the Vezel, Sienta thread cos too high end for me.

I been going to the Attrage thread.

Edited by Jamesc

Aiyah no wonder lah.

I never go to the Vezel, Sienta thread cos too high end for me.

I been going to the Attrage thread.

lol that one is the genuine B&B car thread. Cannot find in CCK.

Sometimes it couod be a blessing in disguise. If you worknfor such an organisation, you do not know when they will drop you like a hot potato. Leaving them and putting your effort in another organisation can be more fruitful. You should thanks them for waking you up.

Yes I am "grateful" to the nonsense they did to me; otherwise I would probably have stayed on and rode into the sunset.

The most optimum period to stay in a job is 5 years, maximum is 10 years ("expiry") for those age 30 and above. Your value starts to drop after 5th year in the company and depreciates every year. If by 10th year, you're still with the same company and tio chopped, your market value is rotten rates.

Please do not stay longer than your welcome period, no matter how likeable you're with your boss/employer.

Employers today are not looking for grasshoppers, neither are they looking for "cho ku ku bian zheng hu" kind of employees.

You need to demonstrate that you are marketable, employable by changing employers every 5 years.

Edited by Kangadrool

I thought those companies were lying to me.

They told me it wasn't age but cost.

Now I know the truth.

How I know? Very simple.

Some people in their 40s and 50s ask for low pay but companies still prefer younger but more expensive candidates.

This came from a recruiter friend.

Assuming that we will surely get chopped between 40 to 50 yrs old, then what back up plans do you have to keep money rolling in ? Take up jobs that locals don't want ?

i changed my mind on being an uber driver given all the bad reputation on their driving ability

think i'll go become a bus driver

i changed my mind on being an uber driver given all the bad reputation on their driving ability

think i'll go become a bus driver

Bus driver seems promising. You can choose from 4 bus companies le?! Lol.

very promising...i would prefer UK MNC.

Maybe have chance to be sent overseas for training

How I know? Very simple.

Some people in their 40s and 50s ask for low pay but companies still prefer younger but more expensive candidates.

This came from a recruiter friend.

You just cannot win can you.

When I was younger they wanted older and more experience candidates.

Now that I am older and more experience they want younger and more

expensive candidates.

very promising...i would prefer UK MNC.

Maybe have chance to be sent overseas for training

Among the 4 bus companies, never work in sbs transit cause think they have the worst drivers and bus. Lol.